We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for the price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Sleep Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Big Sleep Hotel to your Saves list
The Big Sleep Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for the price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at this hostel a couple of nights ago, booked via the website for £29 per room including breakfast. The hotel is right on the edge of the city centre, just a few minutes walk from one of the main streets and 5 minutes walk from the central station. Although on the outside the building looks just like an old office block, once you get inside it is OK and the rooms are fine for the price. I had a double room on the 9th floor overlooking the city which made me feel like I was in New York, and it was a pretty big room. I looked over the railway tracks and could hear the trains going by but this didn't bother me and stopped at night after the trains stop running. The bed was comfortable, I had a TV with freeview so I could watch my favourite programmes and I had tea and coffee making facilities as with most hotels. As most have said the curtains leave a little to be desired looking like old carpets, but everything was clean enough and at this price are you really there for the curtains? I also had a decent sized bathroom with a long deep bath - since I don't have a bath at home this was like heaven, and it was perfectly clean with soap, shampoo/shower gel provided and I made the most of it.

Breakfast was in a simple room but there was plenty to choose from with eggs, toast, warm pastries, cereals and milk, as well as tea and coffee and fruit, so this was plenty for the price and it was nice to have a good breakfast before going out for the day. If you have to leave early because of flight or train then they will prepare you a breakfast to go which is a nice touch. The only thing I can say against the hotel is the lift, which seems old and in need of replacement (although they are working on this) as it creaks, makes noises and is generally a little bit scary! Still, makes for a good adventure. All in all I was very pleased with this hotel, for the price you can't really complain and especially not for the location. You're unlikely to find something much cheaper in the centre of Cardiff unless you go for a hostel sharing with others. Definitely worth a go if you're not looking for unabashed luxury.

Room Tip: Get one higher up for the view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    191
    252
    194
    255
See reviews for
84
344
72
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I looked at their website and it looked very smart, advertised themselves as sleek and stylish. The pictures of the rooms looked lovely. Imagine how disappointed i was to turn up to a room that hadn't been updated since the 70's. The carpet was in a need of a good clean as was the bathroom. The 'wardrobe' was a metal stand which had never seen a duster. On the plus side the staff were lovely and were extremely helpful. If you are going to the motorpoint arena, then the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reading the reviews on here I was expecting the worst during my stay! But I was pleasantly surprised! The reception staff were very polite and helpful! The room we stayed in was clean and tidy and although there was only one pillow the bed was comfy and I got a good nights sleep. I couldn't hear noise from any other rooms at all and wasnt disturbed. The lift did freak me out a little as it makes a lot of creak noises but I think that's purely because of the age of the lift! I would definitely stay here again, cheap, cheerful and great service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by what looked like an 80's style council block of flats. We were not able to check in until 3 o clock aswell which seemed quite late considering we had to be out for 10. The rooms are very basic, one bed, tv and bathroom with some very questionable curtains. Tea and coffee making facilities with one cup, in a room for two. The lift also seemed very unsafe and seemed to stop on random floors and take ages to get to where you wanted to be! Breakfast was adequate, it was what it said it would be. It was stated on "late rooms" that you got complimentary access to a health club nearby, but this wasnt the case. Having said all this, it was only £30 for the night and it was very central so can't really grumble as you get what you pay for. Although personally id say pay that ittle bit more and stop elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have never laughed so much in my life staying here. The room was so funny. A normal fan stuck to the wall called 'wall fan' that didn't even work but was a great cleaner as it collected tones of dust.

Had a fantastic view of the train station could see when our train was coming in. The sound of the horns woke us up every minute. I also recommend a paracetamol or two
Someone was being sick above us we heard everything poor soul.

Had a few left over chips from the people in there the night before under our bed, they were tasty although next time I recommend bringing salt for that extra flavour.

The TV was a nifty thing best part about the place. Free view made my day!!

But best of all what makes this Hotel famous is those fleecy teddy bear curtains that are made to measure! If it wernt for these I probably would never have stayed here I wanted to see what the fuss was about. They sure did keep me warm all night, wrapped up like a rug!

I hope to god this hotel does not get updated I will cry if I don't get to see those curtains again, if you want a cracking laugh check in to it seriously. Cheap as the chips under our bed and cant really go wrong. Nice bed with ONE PILLOW. Felt like I was on a incline most of the night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If your reading this one thing that will crack you up is the curtains ! Fluffy look like the cookie monster ! Its made mine & my friends memory ! Can't stop laughing about it ! However the room is average clean , fan didn't work or aircon . No windows ! Only stayed a night as went to see killswitch ,. Breakfast was pretty good ! Don't go off you'r lookin for a good night sleep as the walls are so thin ! Could hear people from miles away !! The staff are lovely & always there to help so don't hesitate to have a complain

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - orignally booking through booking.com this was cancelled, we had to re-book the same dates direct and ended up paying £25.00 more!
The rooms are extremely basic only one pillow each an a thin quilt, also the windows do not open which i did not like as the room smelt very damp and musty
On our first night we were woken at 5.30am by a screaming child in the next room - this continued for an hour. After complaining to reception they moved us to a different room,
We then went for breakfast which was just toast, cereal, croissants and fruit - we didnt bother the second day,

The positive things about this hotel are the location and the friendly staff - however if I were to visit Cardiff again I would not stay here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard and Stylish Twin Room at The Big Sleep Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Sleep Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.