We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Techniquest

Techniquest
Stuart Street, Cardiff, Cardiff CF10 5BW, Wales
02920 475475
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #15 of 59 Attractions in Cardiff
Type: Science Museums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive, hands-on exhibits make this science museum the perfect destination for families.
City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

An interactive science museum aimed at children. Loads of exhibits explaining principles of science in a way which is fun and easy to understand such as air pressure, electricity, music and the human body. My favourite is the miniature canal/river with boats and fountains. Waterproof smocks are provided for children so they can really enjoy playing with the water.
Once a month during term-time is toddler day where the friendly and informative staff also provide activities such as play-do, paper-craft, singing and story time. Parents are also given vouchers for drinks.
There is a cafe but it is also very close to the numerous restaurant of Cardiff Bay.
There are nappy-changing facilities and room for leaving buggies. Very good value and lots to do.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    123
    34
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Had been told by many people that this place is fun for adults too.... Couldnt be more wrong. If you dont have small children dont go because it is a waste of money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for primary school aged children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic day out. We only decided to go because it was raining and we were surprised how good it was.

There were loads of science exhibits which were both entertaining and informative. The Colourful Chemistry show was fantastic, if chemistry had been this much fun when I was at school I might have had a completely different career.

Excellent value for money, and even facilities for you to sit and eat your own lunch which is always a bonus.

Also easy to find with a bus stop right outside.

My kids absolutely loved it. Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An afternoon at the Science museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you have 2-3 hours to spare then consider a trip to Techniquest, the hands on science museum in Cardiff, we loved it and so did the kids! We added the stars planetarium talk to the afternoon for an extra £1.80 each and this was also worthwhile. Exhibitions are all good and well explained and it is a great way to get kids interested in science

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Needs something new”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Dissapointed with techniquest because it doesn't seem to have changed much over the years. I have brought my kids a few times hoping for change, but it's all the same and we are in and out within an hour. Quite expensive too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Techniquest also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Techniquest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Techniquest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.