We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian, I have ever had!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juboraj Lakeside

Juboraj Lakeside
Lake Road West | Roath Park, Cardiff CF23 5PT, Wales
029 2048 2050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #572 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $16 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Description: The Juboraj Restaurant Group is one of the oldest, and almost certainly, one of the great Indian and Bangladeshi restaurants in Wales having won numerous awards.The Lakeside restaurant with its Raj-like splendor has been at the heart of Roath Park for over15 years. This purpose built restaurant, architect designed over two levels, caters for small intimate meals to large group parties with ease. Specialising in quality British produce, served fresh, and cooked to your individual needs using authentic Indian spices. Choose from Welsh beef, New Zealand lamb or outdoor bred chicken dishes. Add into the equation their legendary Onion Bhajis and renowned fresh naan breads and they promise you a meal to remember whether it be lunch with work colleagues or dinner with friends and family. Dinner in Cardiff can at times be a tad impersonal, but all Juboraj restaurants extend a warm welcome and offer a friendly, personal service. Wether you’re dining alone or with a party of up to 50 people you’ll be well taken care of.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best Indian, I have ever had!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

It's in a lovely setting. Food is amazing, a bit price though. Never a let down though. Some of the waiters look glum at times. A good place to eat!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    8
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Tiny inside and needs some refurbishing. Me with my partner went in the evening and waited for absolutely ages to get served :-/. The food was as normal as in any common takeaway nearby. Around 40 min before closing the waiters during serving started cleaning and sweaping the dusty floor!
I will never go again and if there are some people still going to it is maybe they want to feel posh, because of it's location...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not worth :-(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I visited the Juboraj with my partner who lives close after we had fancied going for a while, We were disappointed :-( We found the food to be overpriced for what You get and as we went quite late we hadnt even finished eating or meals when one member of staff started sweeping around us while we ate, which I myself having been a waitress, silver service waitress and bar maid is somethig you should NEVER do, always You wait until customers have finished eating before any cleaning. After thye started cleaning we just felt rushed and like we should eat as quick as possible even though it wasnt near closing time. The food took ages to come and when it did, It was just the same standard as any Indian we have ate on Albany Road or elsewhere, nothing special.Im only being honest but just think its overpriced and a big hype, its only popular I believe because of its posh location being on lakeside in Roath which is an affluent area, but personally I wish we went further down to Albany and bought a takeaway for a fraction of the price. Only go if You want to spend a lot and not get much and go early not to have staff cleaning around your feet .

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH WALES
1 review
“what a waste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

our first visit to the Juboraj tonight and definitely our last. We ordered our starters and waited 25 mins before the waiter brought the warming tray for our main course , they had obviously forgotten our starters , the onion bhajis when they came were pathetic and the tikka masalla was at best a thick tomato soup with chicken in it , absolutely awful.
whoever these people are who claim this is authentic Indian cooking must be deluded,
in short , what a waste of time and money
NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Went here on valentine's day this year.

The restaurant is very nicely laid out with around 50% of the seating next to the windows.

Service was great even though they were full.

Food was fantastic, full of flavour and you could tell it was all freshly prepared (rare in indian restaurants these days!)

Overall we couldn't fault the evening, pricing is average.. not cheap and not expensive.

Only problem is it doesn't have parking, not really an issue though we parked on the road about 200yds away.

Definitely one of the top Indian's we've visited in Cardiff!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juboraj Lakeside also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Juboraj Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juboraj Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.