We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a super place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maltsters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maltsters to your Saves list
Maltsters
42-44 Cardiff Road, Llandaff, Cardiff CF52DS, Wales (Llandaff)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a super place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Did not stay but had a great time with friends at the restaurant in November. It seemed to suit all types of customer from the beer drinker to those in family or friends' groups who were in party mode. Very friendly and helpful staff so keep it up please.
We have re-booked for our annual Xmas bash so will re-review after that. There are standard things you would expect on the menu but also some unusual treats such as guinea fowl which my friend ordered. The waitress brought the dish as the 1st to be served and asked in total innocence "Who is having the guinea pig?" I do not know if the kitchen staff were pulling her leg or she just got it wrong but her face when she realised went a bright shade of pink! We all laughed and enjoyed the innocence of youth trying to do her best. It could not help being a great atmosphere after that! Alan

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    20
    10
    13
    8
See reviews for
12
38
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed the night after a business trip nearby. Room not huge, but we were only there one night, but very comfortable and well equipt with a TV in the bathroom to watch from the bath! Don't have that at home. Dinner and breakfast first rate. Staff friendly and efficient. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Spent a fabulous 2 night stay..rooms were fantastic..meals were too. Lovely village ..friendly staff. Was in cardiff visiting our daughter whos in uni there,the malsters were very accomodating to our needs. The breakfast was outstanding and we also had our evening meal on the sunday..highly reccomend it was lush!!. We have already booked again for april..see you then xx

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here a few times over the last 18 months and have enjoyed every occasion. Please note that there are only 5 rooms.However, the room I stayed in was clean, comfortable, spacious and modern with Apple PC/TV entertainment and WiFi - not bad for £85. The other rooms I am told are equal as good. The pub itself serves fine ales and a good selection of meals. Breakfast is only served from 8 am onward but here again was of good quality and plenty. Look forward to staying here again when next in the area. Llandaff itself has plenty to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Perfection on a plate - 2 x roast dinners (chicken and pork), plus desserts (STP & apple pie) and it was all delicious. Will definitely be back. Service good, if not a little slow; but friendly and knowledgeable nonetheless.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Found this place via Google maps, there are 5 rooms to the back of the pub, there is also a large car park at the rear which is pay and display but the pub will give you a free pass.
The room although small was perfect, good quality fittings and fixtures with a good Apple entertainment system in the room, you also had a t.v at one end of the bath, cool !
Great shower quality towels, t coffee, iron and board in room.
The pub was nice, good real ale, great staff but my food was only ok. I ordered tenderloin of pork with plums and wine jus, mash beans and braised red cabbage. Everything bar the pork was lovely, very well put together and tasted good, but the Pork was cremated, making it very tough what a watse of a good cut of Pork.
That was the only down side.
Look forward to staying again when next in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight when we came to Cardiff for a wedding. It cost us £85 for bed and breakfast and then a tenner in taxis to get into the city centre.

The pictures on the website looked lovely and we weren't disappointed. Our room was small but it had everything we needed with a bit of extra special luxury. The bathroom suite was very modern with a double ended bath, rainfall shower, complimentary toiletries and a television!! I had a long soak with a glass of wine watching Come Dine with Me! The towels were white and fluffy (not cardboard).

The bed was King sized and comfortable with two pillows each. There was a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, spare blankets, pillows, tea, coffee and biscuits, air conditioning and an Apple Mac computer which doubled as the television. There were other things the Apple did but we didn't really explore these. There was a clothes hanging area rather than a wardrobe but this was adequate for an overnight stay!!

Breakfast was lovely. Cereal and porridge, toast, fruit juice. They also made a cooked breakfast to order. I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.

Staff were helpful and friendly we had a little trouble with our key card trying to get in after the wedding which could've been a nightmare at 3am but fortunately for us the staff were still in the bar and let us in.

There is a train station in Llandaff which I suppose we could've used to get into Cardiff instead of taxis. And while it did cost a tenner each way I think if the hotel had been in the City Centre it would've cost way more than £100 a night for the same specification.

All in all very lovely and I have already recommended it to a number of people

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maltsters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltsters

Address: 42-44 Cardiff Road, Llandaff, Cardiff CF52DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maltsters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltsters Hotel Cardiff
Maltsters Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maltsters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.