We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Laurels Bed and Breakfast

The Laurels Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Laurels Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Laurels Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No 1 The Laurels Cardiff Road | St Fagans, Cardiff CF5 6EB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although I did not end up staying at the property, when I made a booking and then then had to cancel. I was happy with the response and service that I received and would recommend this property to the friends and family based on this fact, a fair and polite service

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Really nice traditional experience with well appointed bedroom and bathroom and excellent breakfasts. The only thing I would change is bigger towels tumble dried for softness. Don't try to diet at breakfast time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely - room was large, bed very comfortable, soft carpet, the bathroom was beautiful, really did feel home from home. The bathroom is separate from the bedroom but there is a curtain across the landing so it felt private. If you want a quiet stay lovely surroundings just 15 mins from central Cardiff then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Many outstanding qualities - nice house with lovely breakfast setting. Superb breakfast with high quality produce and eggs from own hens. Comfortable and well-appointed rooms. Very good pub nearby for evening meals. Lovely setting in a chocolate box village.

The things that spoiled it - £70 fee asked for single occupancy of en-suite room. This despite website claiming that a single roo was available, also discovering on Trip Advisor that there is a smaller non-en-suite room. For this fee I would have hoped that the wc brush would be in a holder that kept the bristles clear of mositure, not in a holder where you lift if out of a pool of murky and particle-filled water, The wc rim also did not appear to have been cleaned prior to exchange of guests. Oh - and a discreet sign would be handy at the front entrance saying that the main entrance is to the rear - to avoid carrying stuff in then out again.

Room Tip: Possibly one with the window slightly away from the hens....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anscomby, Owner at The Laurels Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments which have been noted, are taken very seriously and various corrective actions have been taken.
We regret that on this occasion we seem to have fallen below the standards we set ourselves.

We hope that on your next visit to Cardiff you will be pleasantly surprised

The Laurels St Fagans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We travelled to Cardiff for a show and looked for a place to stay that wasn't on one of Cardiff's main roads that are full of B and B's. The Laurels had been mentioned by a Cardiff connection as being very nice and in a great location, only about ten minutes straight down the road into Cardiff. Our room was lovely: spacious (a double and a single bed, plus a sofa and a TV, but with loads of floor space) and really quiet, and our private bathroom was the height of luxury. The owner, Julie, was helpful and friendly. She even keeps hens, so the breakfast was a plus. The Welsh Folk Museum is just around the corner, and we had a decent Sunday lunch in the local pub The Plymouth Arms. Would recommend the place absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

This accommodation is strangely recommended with a 4 star rating – indicating an excellent standard throughout. The better points of this guest house are that I received a pleasant greeting, is a nice clean house and in a village with an excellent pub nearby serving quality meals and good beer selection.
The downsides are innumerable. The entrance is difficult to find, unsigned from the road. The room was unbelievable. At the price, I expected an en-suite. In all of my living memory – over 50 years – I cannot remember a room without at least a wash basin but this was a first. Mind, where was the space to put one? The double room is an impossible size for two people, without space for a chair or luggage space. The bathroom was reasonably close; this is fortunate since how do you fill a kettle otherwise? I also spent time admiring the conspicuous use of extension leads. The TV was analogue and because of its size it was impossible to sit at the end of the bed to watch.
Fortunately, the pub is close by to while the evening until the morning. If you are someone who likes to sit in your room at night then this place is a problem.
The breakfast was reasonable but the full breakfast came without a sausage!
I am still puzzling how the rating was achieved since most facilities are well below the most modest of expectations. So beware of Cymru Wales ratings. One night is enough. Certainly, the local hotel may be a few pounds more expensive but with incredible value for money by comparison.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anscomby, Owner at The Laurels Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and your positive comments.

The twin room is indeed small and on this occasion was made available due the family connections with other guests and the family event you were attending.
It is usually only offered to family members/children who are travelling with those occupying the larger en suite family room

The room has been redecorated and now has a flat screen TV.

Hopefully on your next visit we may be able to offer the double ensuite shower room or the family en suite with private luxury bathroom.

With best wishes from The Laurels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We arrived at The Laurels B & B at 4.00pm to find a hostile welcome, wo be tide if you arrive before 5.00pm, you will be turned away and told to return between 5.00 - 7.00pm.

Upon return, we received a little warmer welcome and showed to our room, a double en-suite which we requested. On the surface the room is beautiful, but take a closer look, cob webs above the toilet, mildew in the shower between the tiles and the toilet not cleaned from previous guests.

Tea/coffee making facilities in room, but only full fat UHT milk available - YUK

There was sufficient towels for one day, but when we returned the following day at 10.30pm, the used towels were still on the bathroom floor and no replacements, so as you can imagine we borrowed clean towels from the general bathroom.

Breakfast, well what can I say.
Firstly offered cerearl with full fat milk, no semi-skimmed available, I'm sorry but who drinks full fat milk these days apart from children!! When asked for semi-skimmed I was told that she would try to get some for the next morning. Other problem, couldn't have a cup of tea because of only being served full fat milk.

A full english breakfast consits of bacon, egg, tomatos, beans, sausage hash browns and fried bread. What we were actually served was 2 pieces of very fatty bacon, 3 tiny sausages, half of a tomato and a fried egg - very poor

Good side - location very good and excellent pub around the corner The Plymouth Arms and very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Laurels Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Bed and Breakfast

Address: No 1 The Laurels Cardiff Road | St Fagans, Cardiff CF5 6EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laurels Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laurels is a traditional bed and breakfast located in the heart of St Fagans village. Graded 4 stars by VisitWales the Laurels is 10 minutes drive from the city centre and adjacent to the St Fagans Museum. Rooms are well decorated and equipped with tea making facilities and flat screen TV. Catering for the tourist and those working there is free Wi-Fi and parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Laurels Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laurels Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laurels Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.