We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives slightly spoiled...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Laurels Bed and Breakfast

The Laurels Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Laurels Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Laurels Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No 1 The Laurels Cardiff Road | St Fagans, Cardiff CF5 6EB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Positives slightly spoiled...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Many outstanding qualities - nice house with lovely breakfast setting. Superb breakfast with high quality produce and eggs from own hens. Comfortable and well-appointed rooms. Very good pub nearby for evening meals. Lovely setting in a chocolate box village.

The things that spoiled it - £70 fee asked for single occupancy of en-suite room. This despite website claiming that a single roo was available, also discovering on Trip Advisor that there is a smaller non-en-suite room. For this fee I would have hoped that the wc brush would be in a holder that kept the bristles clear of mositure, not in a holder where you lift if out of a pool of murky and particle-filled water, The wc rim also did not appear to have been cleaned prior to exchange of guests. Oh - and a discreet sign would be handy at the front entrance saying that the main entrance is to the rear - to avoid carrying stuff in then out again.

Room Tip: Possibly one with the window slightly away from the hens....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anscomby, Owner at The Laurels Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments which have been noted, are taken very seriously and various corrective actions have been taken.
We regret that on this occasion we seem to have fallen below the standards we set ourselves.

We hope that on your next visit to Cardiff you will be pleasantly surprised

The Laurels St Fagans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We travelled to Cardiff for a show and looked for a place to stay that wasn't on one of Cardiff's main roads that are full of B and B's. The Laurels had been mentioned by a Cardiff connection as being very nice and in a great location, only about ten minutes straight down the road into Cardiff. Our room was lovely: spacious (a double and a single bed, plus a sofa and a TV, but with loads of floor space) and really quiet, and our private bathroom was the height of luxury. The owner, Julie, was helpful and friendly. She even keeps hens, so the breakfast was a plus. The Welsh Folk Museum is just around the corner, and we had a decent Sunday lunch in the local pub The Plymouth Arms. Would recommend the place absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

This accommodation is strangely recommended with a 4 star rating – indicating an excellent standard throughout. The better points of this guest house are that I received a pleasant greeting, is a nice clean house and in a village with an excellent pub nearby serving quality meals and good beer selection.
The downsides are innumerable. The entrance is difficult to find, unsigned from the road. The room was unbelievable. At the price, I expected an en-suite. In all of my living memory – over 50 years – I cannot remember a room without at least a wash basin but this was a first. Mind, where was the space to put one? The double room is an impossible size for two people, without space for a chair or luggage space. The bathroom was reasonably close; this is fortunate since how do you fill a kettle otherwise? I also spent time admiring the conspicuous use of extension leads. The TV was analogue and because of its size it was impossible to sit at the end of the bed to watch.
Fortunately, the pub is close by to while the evening until the morning. If you are someone who likes to sit in your room at night then this place is a problem.
The breakfast was reasonable but the full breakfast came without a sausage!
I am still puzzling how the rating was achieved since most facilities are well below the most modest of expectations. So beware of Cymru Wales ratings. One night is enough. Certainly, the local hotel may be a few pounds more expensive but with incredible value for money by comparison.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anscomby, Owner at The Laurels Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and your positive comments.

The twin room is indeed small and on this occasion was made available due the family connections with other guests and the family event you were attending.
It is usually only offered to family members/children who are travelling with those occupying the larger en suite family room

The room has been redecorated and now has a flat screen TV.

Hopefully on your next visit we may be able to offer the double ensuite shower room or the family en suite with private luxury bathroom.

With best wishes from The Laurels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We arrived at The Laurels B & B at 4.00pm to find a hostile welcome, wo be tide if you arrive before 5.00pm, you will be turned away and told to return between 5.00 - 7.00pm.

Upon return, we received a little warmer welcome and showed to our room, a double en-suite which we requested. On the surface the room is beautiful, but take a closer look, cob webs above the toilet, mildew in the shower between the tiles and the toilet not cleaned from previous guests.

Tea/coffee making facilities in room, but only full fat UHT milk available - YUK

There was sufficient towels for one day, but when we returned the following day at 10.30pm, the used towels were still on the bathroom floor and no replacements, so as you can imagine we borrowed clean towels from the general bathroom.

Breakfast, well what can I say.
Firstly offered cerearl with full fat milk, no semi-skimmed available, I'm sorry but who drinks full fat milk these days apart from children!! When asked for semi-skimmed I was told that she would try to get some for the next morning. Other problem, couldn't have a cup of tea because of only being served full fat milk.

A full english breakfast consits of bacon, egg, tomatos, beans, sausage hash browns and fried bread. What we were actually served was 2 pieces of very fatty bacon, 3 tiny sausages, half of a tomato and a fried egg - very poor

Good side - location very good and excellent pub around the corner The Plymouth Arms and very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross-on-wye, england
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We were going to an event at the Millenium Stadium and had looked for a place to stay in Cardiff, but they were all fully booked. So we found The Laurels and, my goodness, were we glad. It was in such a quiet, peaceful location and only 10mins from the city. All the other places we had tried turned out to be on a very busy main road! We were freezing cold when we arrived at The Laurels and Julie was waiting to give us a really warm greeting. The room was large, very comfortable and toasty warm - we were very grateful
In the morning we both enjoyed the luxurious bathroom and went on our way after a lovely breakfast. We didn't have far to go as we were visiting the open air Museum in the village of St Fagans which we thoroughly enjoyed. We managed to pack in a visit to Cardiff Bay as well which was a marvellous experience - the Assembly building and the Millenium Centre are both stunning new buildings.
The Laurels is a great place to stay if you want to be close to everything but away from the noise and traffic of Cardiff City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Laurels Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Bed and Breakfast

Address: No 1 The Laurels Cardiff Road | St Fagans, Cardiff CF5 6EB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laurels Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laurels is a traditional bed and breakfast located in the heart of St Fagans village. Graded 4 stars by VisitWales the Laurels is 10 minutes drive from the city centre and adjacent to the St Fagans Museum. Rooms are well decorated and equipped with tea making facilities and flat screen TV. Catering for the tourist and those working there is free Wi-Fi and parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Laurels Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laurels Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laurels Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.