We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Demiros with Grandchildren” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Demiro's

Demiro's
Unit 26, Mermaid Quay | Cardiff Bay, Cardiff CF10 5BZ, Wales
029 2049 1882
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch at Demiros with Grandchildren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We visit Demiros whenever we are at the Bay and have never been disappointed. Food always good, staff and entertainment excellent. We recently took visitors from Devon with us and they loved the whole experience - especially Shirley Classy who entertained us whilst we made the most of the lovely summer evening. Must also mention Dino Martino who over the years has always provided good entertainment and fun. Last Friday my husband and I took our two grandchildren, aged 7 and 4, for lunch and we were very surprised at the variety (and cost - under £6 for main course, drink and ice cream) on the Children's menu from Pasta to Pizza and Fish Fingers to Chicken Nuggets. The spaghetti bolognese Olivia, aged 4, ordered was a large portion and she thoroughly enjoyed it and James' chicken nuggets were the best ever. The waiters and manager were very attentive and helpful which all adds to the experience of a day out at the Bay. We will certainly be back for more!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Demiro's, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such kind comments. We strive to provide the very best dining experience in Cardiff Bay and we're so pleased to hear that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your lunch with us. We believe that our mini guests deserve equally as much variety and value as our adults diners - so it's a delight to hear that your grandchildren enjoyed their meals! We're also extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment from our singing stars, Shirley & Dino - who really go that extra mile to create a phenomenal atmosphere in the restaurant. Thank you once again for your sharing your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    95
    59
    72
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some Enchanted Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Discovered Demiro's whilst we were looking for somewhere to eat before we went to the Millennium centre-myself and three friends= to see West Side Story -it was a lovely summer evening and families with young children were all out enjoying the fairground rides and attractions .We didn't have long before our show started but we had time for starters and mains-our orders were taken very quickly even though it looked very busy inside the restaurant -we had opted to sit outside as it was such a lovely evening. The waiting staff were all very attentive and pleasant and our starters arrived very quickly-we all agreed that the food was great -for our mains ,we all had something different=lasagne and other pasta dishes and once again we all enjoyed our food =everything that we asked for was brought to our table -parmesan -black pepper -balsamic vinegar -jug of water all brought to us by a charming young Romanian waiter called Robert who was like a little firework fizzing from table to table in his quest to keep diners happy. I have read other reviews where people have said that they felt rushed but even though this was a busy Friday evening and the restaurant was full -at no time did we feel that we were being rushed -in fact we were asked if we wanted desserts or coffees but we ran out of time and had to leave -but we will definitely be back as that meal set the tone for the whole of the evening which was amazing

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Demiro's, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Demiro's. Our dedicated team strive to accommodate all requirements to provide the very best dining experience in Cardiff Bay and it's a delight to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your pre-theatre experience with us. We shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to Robert (we do adore the firework description!) and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great concept but food expensive and small portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The atmosphere was the highlight of this restaurant, singing waiters crooning over a packed restaurant. Food was however not great small portions, although Sangria was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Demiro's, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to share your review of Demiro's. Our dedicated team – both front and back of house - strive to accommodate all requirements to provide the very best dining experience in Cardiff Bay and it's a delight to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your experience with us. We are however surprised to hear that the food did not meet your expectations. We can assure you that all menu items are priced accruing to our ethos - which is to use the freshest, most seasonal and locally sourced produce) and we are generally renowned for our generous portion sizes - so please rest assured that this will be investigated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us however look forward to welcoming you back soon for more musical dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“CONVEYOR BELT FOOD..OK, BUT THAT'S IT, OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

When in the Bay I love Bay Brassiere but they weren't going to be open for another hour so thought I would try Demiro's. I was a lone diner but it was very busy and the actual restaurant was full so reluctantly I accepted a seat outside after they offered me one in the doorway. In fairness the service was quick and efficient, but probably too much so! Even though the large restaurant was absolutely full my starters of a laverbread and cockles tart topped with cheese was with me within minutes of ordering. It turned up with a couple of mixed salad leaves and the proverbial balsamic vinegar sauce - it was dry and uninspiring and to be honest very bland and could have been anything - obviously made well before and bunged in the microwave oven. Then the clay oven baked Duck in an orange sauce which came up exactly two minutes after I finished the starter - probably about a teaspoon of sauce poured over a very overdone and tough duck breast. Edible, tasteless and pretty tough as was overdone. Was still hungry so unusually I had a dessert but again a mass produced concoction not remotely resembling the very fine wording on the menu. Although the service was exceptionally quick with one person taking the orders and then another mysteriously bringing the food out and disappearing at no time did anyone ask if everything was ok - even when they cleared away. I have no idea if its the same in the main restaurant but guess it is.. its fine if you just want a mass produced quick meal - trouble is it is not advertised or marketed as that type of place, so I was more than disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthcawl
1 review
“The Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

What a wonderful fun packed experience at the amazing Demiros Cardiff. Staff are amazing VIP lounge fun fun fun Food excellent. Thoroughly recommend Demiros as the best night out ever .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky P, Public Relations Manager at Demiro's, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to share your review of Demiro's. The entire team strive to provide the very best (and unique) dining experience in Cardiff Bay and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening us so much! Thank you once again for your sharing your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Demiro's also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Demiro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demiro's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.