We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meridian Gate, Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We booked this hotel as a romantic weekend away, paid £134 for a business room for 1 night so we were expecting a quality hotel. On arrival, parked in the hotel car park which we were under the impression that it was complementry but found out they charge £15 for parking so before we had even got into our room the rate had pushed upto £149 per night. The hotel from outside looked the business and so did the reception area, very smart and polite staff. We were alocated a room on the top floor which we thought would be great to see over the city. On entering the room all I can say is that we were very disappointed. the room over looked a gravel carpark and railway track, but that cant be helped so this wasnt a problem, cant really say that it was the hotels fault whats built around it. The rooms dont look as plush as pictured on the website and for the age of the hotel the room was looking very tired, worn carpets stained throw on bed, scuffed walls etc. The bathroom did look nice though and had nice little touches. We dedcided to go to the hotels spa (one of the reasons we booked this hotel) cant comment on this as when we arrived at the spa we were told there was a hen party in there and to come back in the morning???? Which were thought was a bit poor. We had booked breakfast; on arrival at the restaurant in the morning there were no staff to be seen! This was at 9.45, there were quite a few people eating, after a while we decided to just find some where to sit, as we felt lemons just standing there, Staff did appear but didnt seem to have a clue what they were meant to be doing . The cooked breakfast was, well, not much there, nothing seemed to be replenished well and when it was, came out in drips and draps which meant you had bacon and beans then 5-10 mins later the sausages and mushrooms were brought out. honestly breakfast service was a joke, very poorly managed. This review does sound really bad but unfortunately this is what we experienced. I can only say that there are by far better hotels in Cardiff which you can stay in for £149 and under. If you do end up staying here just dont expect too much for your money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLZH, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
I am extremely disappointed to read your review of the hotel. The views from the top floor of the hotel do normally allow you to see a wide section of the bay or city centre and castle, so I am sorry if you did not manage to do so on this occasion. The Spa was very busy on the Saturday with guests enjoying treatments and the sauna and steam area, and to ensure guest comfort, we do not over crowd this area. I apologise if the alternative time was not convenient to you. Thank you for the feedback regarding breakfast. This is an unusual occurrence, but I assure you will be investigated immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    472
    158
    46
    38
See reviews for
128
470
70
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed here on a Saturday, the rooms are outstanding we stayed in a standard room, could not believe how spacious they were, great views of the city centre, comftable bed and very large bathroom, plasma TV, very clean and cosy, I would return to the hotel, great staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLZH, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
I was delighted to read your review of the hotel and to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Radisson Blu had only just open and we went to Cardiff quite quickly but managed to get a great deal and stayed here. Very close to train station, nice rooms, very smart, the staff didn't seem to over fussy but were ok when called upon. If you can get a discount to stay here, it's worth it, otherwise it seems like it's fairly pricey.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

we had a bad expirience!!
when we arrived the parking was full and had to find a near by overnight car park-wew were staying for 2 nights and cost us £30 in total so by the time we checked in we wernt happy !
the loby was nice but the rest let it down-no air in the place, room was disgusting decor clashing colours and the bathroom was one big wet room-dangerous and not comfortable!
room service was a joke they got the order wrong twice!
breakfast was an exra £10 each a day and wasnt verry nice !service was not good
the place was dirty and overall disapointing !not what you want for a romantic weekend!the worst hotel weve stayed in!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

As 4star hotels go this is by far the worst I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The staff are the most unfriendly, unwelcoming, unhelpfulI have ever come across, anywhere...not just in a hotel!!!! Upon arrival we asked what time the bar was open until, we were told another hour or so. after sorting our bags we headed straight to the bar where it took almost 30 minutes to get a drink, quiet hotel bar might I add. we managed to get one drink before asking where was good to go out in Cardiff on a Friday night, the girl pointed out the window saying 'out there, ask at reception'. having found somewhere ourselves and got back to the room, we found the massive bed to be 2 mattresses stuck together....nice touch!!! On the saturday we got a knock on the door about 10am (even though the do not disturb sign was on the door). After a lovely day travelling round the sights of Cardiff we went back to the bar to get a well deserved drink, after waiting 30 minutes watchng the 3 staff wonder and chat we left without buying any drinks. After another lovely night out in Cardiff we again were woken up on Sunday morning by a knock at the door, answering to a foriegn gentleman saying 'oh sorry'. Upon checking out the receptionist proceeded to add 2 nights parking to the bill. this I would not mind only nowhere is there any mention of parking fees or do they tell you when you check in that there would be a charge, I challenged it and easily enough the receptionist removed the charge from the bill.....PLEASE WATCH OUT FOR THIS IF YOU STAY HERE!!!

I also left my wash bag behind, quickly realising when I returned home. I had to give my credit card details on the sunday evening for them to post it first class recorded....I HAVE ONLY RECEIVED IT THURSDAY EVENING......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Booked a three night stay at this hotel after pouring through reviews of Cardiff City Centre Hotels. Travelled by train and hotel is an easy and level 5 minute walk from Cardiff Central Station. Check in was very efficient and within 5 minutes we were inside our room on the 14th Floor. The views while not spectacular are indeed interesting. Our room overlooked the railway station, a train spotters paradise. The room was as expected, clean and well furnished. The bathroom was excellent and spotlessly clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. The breakfast was adequate but could have benefited from being hotter. This was clearly not the staff's fault more equipment. Hot plates would have improved things drastically I am sure. That said service was ecxcellent and friendly. My only issue was with the free wi fi. This was very hit and miss (mainly miss). I did have access for a period on the Sunday night proving it was not my equipment at fault. The hotel is very well placed for all attractions, out of the front door of the hotel into the back door of John Lewis and a 20 minute stroll to Cardiff Bay. Suggest eat out at one of the many local restaurants, hotel restaurant lacking a little atmosphere. The hotel bar was used for a 'night cap' staff very friendly but prices a little high. In short an excellent stay in an excellent hotel in an excellent location; will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I picked the Radisson for two reasons - near to St David's Hall where my daughter was graduating from University and we had a great experience at the Stansted Radisson last year. The positives were clean rooms, friendly receptionist when we arrived tired and weary at midnight and as mentioned the location. There seemed to be a shortage of staff which resulted in mediocre service. My wife asked for a coffee in the bar one afternoon to be told there was a half hour wait as there were 4 ahead of her. The staff had to go downstairs to make coffee and then bring it back up to the bar seemed a ridiculous and time consuming way of doing things. At breakfast which was satisfactory - one waiter appeared to be doing everything and wasn't able to cope with everyone when it got busy despite his best efforts. The pillows were slightly weird shaped and I found not very comfortable although I appreciate this is a very personal view. For this occasion the hotel met our particular needs but we won't be rushing back anytime soon

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate, Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.