We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meridian Gate, Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Business class room very poor value - furniture shabby, poor facilities (no hairdryer for goodness sake!) and not terribly clean. Would rather have stayed in the Premier Inn actually. Whilst the views are undeniably good, the hotel needs to spend some money on updating and improving in-room facilities, rather than wasting it on Nespresso machines!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is obvious that you feel you did not receive the quality of stay you expected and that it deeply regrettable and concerning. We are very popular with business travellers who choose us for our location and quality of rooms but you have raised a number of issues that need to be looked at further. We do provide a number of facilities in our rooms and our Nespresso machines are very popular with our guests. I do though appreciate your feedback on improving these in-room facilities and I will discuss your review with my staff.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    524
    179
    46
    39
See reviews for
140
536
76
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here in June for one night. Room was very clean and well presented. Hotel itself in an excellent location and good facilities. The bar was a great area to relax in after a good evening out in the city. Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is great that you appreciated our location and the quality of your room. It is also great to see you enjoyed a relaxing drink in our bar.

Thank you for being happy to recommend us and I hope to see you again.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night and booked two rooms ,as a special treat, for two very good friends of ours. The hotel is in a perfect location, just a five minute walk away from the station and just across the road from Cardiff's numerous city attractions. We had ajacent rooms on the eleventh floor with superb views of the city and Cardiff Bay. The air conditioned facilities provided a much welcomed respite from the heatwave outside and the check in was welcoming and efficient. Both rooms were modern and clean with very large and comfortable beds, t.v, and fridge. The bathroom and shower facilities were also to a high standard.

On the down side, the two lifts were painfully slow and inadequate for a hotel of this size and the buffet breakfast was very disorganised, resulting in several guests having to hold on to plated cold food whilst awaiting the eggs, then the bacon, then having to queue again to replace the cold food with hot food when the eggs and bacon finally arrived. When we eventually did manage to receive a full hot breakfast however, it was of a high standard.

Overall the hotel has a lot to offer and we would not rule out a return visit but the service, especially at breakfast time, needs to be improved.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms afford excellent views of the city if you dont mind waiting a long time for the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and for detailing areas you believe can be improved. I am delighted you enjoyed our location and your room. It is also great that you mentioned our air conditioning system which is a must during these hot summer days and nights.

I fully appreciate your feedback on the speed of our lifts and the quality of service at breakfast. We are aware of these issues and we are making steps to improve these vital areas of our service.

I hope these temporary issues have not put you off staying with us again.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and could not fault this hotel the staff ...very friendly, situated in the heart of Cardiff perfect for shopping and nights out, we were here for a 30th birthday celabration we did not eat at the hotel but all round the hotel are plenty of bars and eateries a very reasonable prices reception also printed of our return flight tickets for us and we asked for buckets of ice to be sent to our rooms and this was no problem and arrived in minutes we had a tv iron and board and tea and coffee making facilities also all you could want or need in a hotel.

Room Tip: we were on the eleventh floor and had great views of Cardiff and a good sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. I am thrilled you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and I very much hope you are able to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here yesterday and have used before, excellant location for whatever you are doing in Cardiff but must congratulate JohnLee on his excellant customer service on booking us in yesterday reception was busy but everything handled quick and efficiently well done !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

On arrival, hotel car park full (as usual!) but directed to 'John Lewis' car park opposite:good move, as I was using car during day charges v.economic! As for the hotel: first night was in a room set up for disabled customers: we were advised at reception BUT low sink and 'wet room' did not suit two tall (over 6ft) customers not in wheelchairs! After discussions, relocated to seventeenth floor with standard bathroom, much more satisfactory! There seems to be a standard 'we can t guarantee room type' vibe at this hotel when busy: be warned! Otherwise staff helpful, both rooms very clean and well maintained, hotel well placed for central Cardiff shopping and events.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for appreciating our central location and the quality of our hotel. It is though disappointing that you were not initially provided with a room best suited to you but I am glad you were soon provided with a more appropriate room. It is concerning that you feel that we can’t guarantee a guests room type. We are passionate about providing a quality stay to all of our guests and that includes providing guests with the exact room they have requested.

I very much hope you stay with us again.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here with some clients and colleagues for 1 night. I arrived and the car park was nearly full. Very difficult to park. Reception was quick and painless. Went up to the room and and was surprised at how big it was. I was also surprised at the fittings. Not the standard I would have expected. Comfy bed and the bathroom was great but even so, I was slightly dissapointed. The service in the bar was not the best. Large groups of people but only 1 person serving.

Room Tip: Try Mercure Holland House at better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy the quality of stay you were expecting. You are correct to say we have a hotel car park which has limited spacing but should we be busy there are other safe parking options very close by such as the car park of John Lewis.

I am glad you appreciated your large, spacious room and the quality of the bed and bathroom facilities.

It is regrettable that you did not receive the usual quick service in our bar. I hope the short wait did not cause too much inconvenience. I understand you feel you did not receive the quality you expected from us but I would like to see you back at the hotel again soon so that we can show you we are a quality hotel that is passionate about top quality customer service.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate, Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.