We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meridian Gate, Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is everything you would expect from a four star hotel and more! The service is out of this world. There is nothing the staff won't do to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The cleaners service your room twice daily, as you get a turn down service in the evenings.
You must get the breakfast if you stay. The buffet had everything you could possibly want and the food was a very high standard.
The location couldn't be better. Directly in the centre of all the shops/bars/restaurants and with reasonably priced parking. What more could you want? Very good value, first class hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It is fantastic to hear you would recommend us and that the service you received was ‘out of this world’. We have wonderful staff here at the hotel and they care about our guests passionately to ensure a high level of satisfaction is achieved throughout their stay with us.

Thank you also for enjoying our Super Breakfast Buffet and the excellent selection available.
We are so lucky with our city centre location with our guests being able to enjoy being so close to many of Cardiff’s popular places to visit.

I hope you visit Cardiff again soon as we would be delighted to have you back staying with us.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    524
    179
    46
    39
See reviews for
140
536
76
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Needless to say the Radison chain maintains its sometimes quirky,,but well run, modern hotels. (my earlier comparison was with their hotel in Bucharest - and I looked forward to comparing it with this one - I was not disappointed).
My room was 301 on a corner that overlooked an intersection, and the start of the most modern downtown area. The suite had enormous picture windows, enhanced by double glazing. One could enjoy the panoramic views without any intrusion whatsoever of street noise.
The room in itself was most comfortable and smart with all necessary features available. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. A safe and iron/board were also provided.
The breakfast room was spacious and an excellent buffet was available. The staff worked pleasantly and efficiently around and with clients.
I would most certainly stay there again, and also be further encouraged to continue to try other Radison Blu chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You have shared great detail about your room which I appreciate greatly and I’m sure other TripAdvisor users will also. It is pleasing to see you enjoyed all areas of the hotel including the breakfast room which is a popular choice for our guests as they enjoy their morning Super Breakfast Buffet.

Your comment on staying with us again is great to hear and I’m sure our Radisson partner hotels would love to have you stay with them also.

Thank you for the great review.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is modern and very central to the central shopping district of Cardiff. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Free wi-fi. Bags were delivered quickly. Also within walking distance to the superb Cardiff Castle and Millennium Stadium.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It is wonderful that you have mentioned and appreciated our excellent city centre location. So many of our guests choose to stay with us because of this and enjoy the fact they are within walking distance of many of Cardiff’s visitor attractions, bar and restaurants. I’m also pleased you enjoyed the quality of service you received and the Free hotel Wi-Fi. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good hotel, often use this when on business in Cardiff - rooms are good spacious and modern with all that you need. Worth staying in over the Marriot - they have a same gym if you want to work out with a couple of machines. Bar area is good and staff attentive enough. breakfast nice - big buffet so you can eat lots or a little reasonable rates too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your spacious room and the modern design throughout the hotel. It is always great when a guest enjoys the many facilities at the hotel so I am pleased that you took time to appreciate our Gym and hotel Bar. We are also very proud of our Super Breakfast Buffet and the wide variety of choices available.

I am really happy with your comment on my attentive staff. They work so hard and take great pride in the quality of customer service. We would love to see you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

On our tour of Britain and Ireland by coach with 33 Australians, we 2 Brits descended on this hotel on 23rd June '13. It is the 16th hotel on our trip and is, without doubt, the best. Our room (509) is on the fifth floor and is to one side of the hotel with side views to the street.It is tastefully decorated in cream with a patterned blue carpet and maroon furniture. There is a couple of comfortable chairs and a modern glass topped desk. The room has a huge bed with a soft to firm mattress which gave the best nights sleep so far. The bathroom is done out with grey tiles and has a fitted shower over the bath with a glass splash screen. Toiletries with soap bars are provided.The breakfast was standard fare, hot and plentiful. Tea and coffee was provided in pots to the table. A very nice but short stay. As we were with a group I do not know the cost therefor VFM?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I am delighted you stayed with us as part of your coach tour around the UK and thank you for giving us a great review. You have shared great detail of your room and the hotel which I’m sure will help other TripAdvisor users. We feel we offer excellent value for money which is greatly appreciated by many of our guest especially with our city centre location.

I very much hope you will stay with us if you visit Cardiff again.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

fantastic Suite, quite room with a comfy bed and Pillows. Nice extra touches to the room coffee machine, fluffy towels . Modern deco. Very friendly staff through out the hotel. Good food especially the breakfast. Will not hesitate to book again. Location right opposite John lewis. Great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your top marks review. You make great points about the quality and comfort of your room and the many amenities included to make your stay an enjoyable one. It is also pleasing you enjoyed our food and especially our ever popular Super Breakfast Buffet which offers excellent choice to our guest.

I do hope you book with us again soon.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

stayed here 1 night bed and breakfast , plus upgrade to top floor suite .
the radisson is in a great location , no more than comfortable 20 min walk from anywhere in the center and about a 10 min walk from millennium stadium , restaurants and bars .
a very new building and 1 of the tallest in cardiff , so great views for higher floors , with rooms having floor to ceiling windows , ( i would in future ask for a corner room ) we have stayed in st davids and the hilton the only 2 other 5 star hotels in cardiff i believe , and this was by far the nicest ( coz of upgrade ) they are all much of a muchness , minimalist with white public ares and rooms .
thr room at the radisson was very smart comfortably furnished , although there was an issue with the sofa / fold away bed , it was either broken , or not reassembled correctly , causing a person to slowly slide off lol .i did mention this to reception , but nothing got done .
the partition with tv's either side fridge and shelving area , was cleverly put together , the room was plenty large enough for the 10 people we had back for drinks .
the bathroom was very large and we liked the shades of grey decor .
the staff seemed very efficient and professional , but not over friendly .
breakfat was perfectly fine good choice , no bananas sadly , but large enough choice .
there were some issues with cleanliness milk ring on table , wet side plates .
parking is step ish but £16 for 24 hours in a city i guess is about average .
WILL VISIT AGAIN , WILL RECOMMEND

Room Tip: as high as possible for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us including an upgrade to the top floor with the stunning view of Cardiff. Thank you for mentioning our great location close to the city centre and many of Cardiff’s popular places of interest. It is also great to see that we are the ‘nicest hotel’ you have stayed in Cardiff. That means a great deal to me and I will be sharing your compliment with my staff.
I am surprised to read your issue with the room sofa. I will investigate this further to insure this does not occur again. I am though pleased you enjoyed the size and option available with our Super Breakfast Buffet and I also appreciate all your other feedback and I will look to make immediate improvements to all of these areas.

I very much look forward to your next visit and thank you for being happy to recommend us.

Regards,
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate, Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.