We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality tasty food, value for money, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tasca - Cardiff

La Tasca - Cardiff
Unit 6 | The Old Brewery Quarter, Cardiff CF10 1FG, Wales (City Centre)
+44 29 2023 0087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 1,003 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good quality tasty food, value for money, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice restaurant, relaxed atmosphere, and with a good variety of dishes. Staff was friendly and accommodating. We wanted to wait with drinks until others arrived and were offered jug of water while waiting. RIght balance of being friendly and not ott 'helpful'. The food was tasty & fresh and portions generous. Good value for money: a choice of (2) starters and 3 tapaz dishes from a good selection for £9.95 (on offer on Sundays and Wednesday I think). Will definitely come back to try some other dishes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    126
    49
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Friendly & Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Visited here before going to a concert in the Stadium. Cardiff was full & you will need to book if you want to eat here on an event day. Some people got quite shirty with staff when they were refused service as the restaurant was fully booked! Service was excellent. Food was good some tapas dishes better than others. Relaxed atmosphere - despite the busy day there was no pressure to rush you - would go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food & amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had just finished a Salsa Lesson in La Tasca and fancied some food afterwards. There were 3 of us eating so we wanted to get a few things to share. We had the Tabla Espanola which is a platter which included cured meats, cheese, bread and oils. We also ordered the oven-baked flatbread topped with peppers, onion and cheddar cheese (This is great dipped in balsamic vinegar). Then we each had our own dish to pick away at- Belly Pork, Chorizo and Homemade Beef Burgers. Everything was cooked to perfection! All the flavours complimented each other beautifully. We washed the meal down with a pitcher of sangria between the 3 of us. Overall a great meal and the staff are so friendly too!! For all of this we paid around £45 which I consider very good value for money. Will be coming back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidwelly
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First time we done tapas and after a nice long walk around the barrage it was a welcome treat so we ventured in and at first we did not know how to do this so we had a drink first, a bit dearer than I am used to but we are in a nice place , then we got down to ordering which with a bit of help we had six little bowls of nice tasting nibbles , went down a treat not to heavy , the price in the end not to bad as we had a tastecard which make the food 2-4-1 , the staff was helpful and the place nicely done out colourful would I say.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I visited La Tasca on 6th June 2013. It is one of a chain of restaurants serving Spanish Tapas at The Brewery area of Cardiff. Each of the dishes on offer is about four to five pounds and it is recommended to have around five, six dishes between two people.

The choice of food is quite varied. Also there are three set menus available for between fifteen an twenty four pounds. I was in a group of nine people and the quantity of food between us was more than enough. When the food arrived the dishes were lukewarm and it seemed to me that they had merely been heated rather than freshly prepared.

The choice of wines and beers is also very varied.

As for the staff, I found them all to be very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca - Cardiff also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to La Tasca - Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tasca - Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.