We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Cardiff to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Cardiff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Visit was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The staff are the best we have had in the UK.
Thet were very good with my family my children have special needs they were great with them.

We have returned year after year as it is best place in Cardiff

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    168
    156
    75
    56
See reviews for
99
149
15
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

a lovely hotel very clean real friendly staff all with smiles on their faces bar one on the desk when I arrived she let the rest down she was very rude to me for no reason the rest of the staff were lovely we had a lovely room very smart couldn't ask for more will definatly go again

Room Tip: try getting a room at the back less noise as taxies comeing and going but there again I did have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Having stayed at a number of Village hotels, my expectations were high (in particular, Swansea & St David's both excellent hotels).
Reception staff upon arrival, extremely friendly and accommodating.
Had to battle through a horde of people smoking directly outside main entrance when I returned from City (not got it in for smokers! It's just a little unpleasant and doesn't look particularly good for the hotel, in my opinion).
Party night totally scuppers any chance of sleep! Incredibly noisy (I am a heavy sleeper too!), with the bass reverberating.
I hate complaining, but when I rang reception to ask when the event would be finishing, I was informed "at 1am" as though I was being an inconvenience! A lukewarm "sorry" was issued but seemingly no further action or gesture of goodwill is available to staff.
Bathroom well appointed but a little tired, grout very discoloured and underside of shower screen looked like a bacterial warfare cultivation.
Stained sheets and marks on the sofa, battery cover missing on tv remote and soundproofing between rooms is practically non existent! (Either a T-Rex was peeing in the toilet of next room or I have developed surveillance level hearing?!).
I await a, much shorter than planned, nights sleep and the breakfast buffet with anticipation and hope that it goes some way to rectifying the lukewarm stay thus far.
....and yes, I am writing this before I have left because the party jd is keeping me awake!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Attended for a day conference so my review doesn't comment on the room, bar or restaurant only lobby, Starbucks concession and conference facilities and food as well as staff encountered.

First impression driving into car park: this will be a nightmare getting out of later, wasn't wrong.

Reception: dingy dark and dismal decor and despite the Christmas trees not much festive atmosphere. Cant see it could ever have any either in a dark battleship grey area like this, carpet dismal also and looked grubby but that may have just been poor lighting, even ceiling grey albeit lighter than the walls, just. Smiling and friendly lady behind the desk told me where the conference room was. No tv monitor or board to indicate events taking place or location and no signage saying what or where any doors lead to that I could see. Even the man sign on the gents toilet door was the size of a postage stamp literally so god help if you have a visual impairment. The Starbucks was as Starbucks is, staff very good there.

Conference facility: the gothic grey walls, ceiling and grotty looking carpet theme continues so despite spot lights in ceiling it was difficult to read conference papers. The darkness did make it easy to see the projector screen however and the sound system was pretty good so could hear the lecturers well enough. The room size and layout was overall adequate.

Food & drink: like I Say no reflection on anything else as banqueting department food is often different for restaurant food. Average at best, gristly beef in either bourginon or stroganoff couldn't really tell but whatever it was the sauce was nice though. Sandwiches and wraps dry especially the beef ones, very dry and chewy with little flavour. Pizza slices weren't bad if a bit cold and the profiteroles with chocolate sauce were actually nice. At coffee in breaks selection of speciality teas present but strange no green tea despite several herbal varieties. Staff pleasant and efficient, very informal uniform with orangey polo shirts, looked more like handymen or binmen than waiters.

This is the first contact I have ever had with a De Vere hotel and unless an event I wanted to attend was held at one be it this or another in the chain I won't be trying to go back for either business or pleasure.

In conclusion all I can say is make of it what you will, this place seems to have aimed for design flair and ended up with dungeon. first impressions count though and this hotel has done nothing to make me want to return to it or use others in the De Vere village chain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed the night for the Lionel Ritchie tribute night. Receptionist was lovely & very helpful.
Room was decorated lovely, however considering the colour wS black there wasn't enough lights in the room to accommodate this.
Food was lovely, tribute act was just ok and no on long enough.
Must admit breakfast was poor & quite cold. Waitress cleared our table of coffee etc as we went up to get the food. Bit disappointed really.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was in Cardiff for the Wales-South Africa rugby match. Four of us were booked in for two nights. We arrived at 4pm on Friday afternoon and our rooms weren't ready. We sat in the bar until 5 and by then they were ready. The rooms were average, nothing spectacular. The buffet breakfast was good and reception staff were friendly.
We went for breakfast at ten on Sunday morning and when we returned back to the room at 10.40 our key had been cancelled. Check out is 11, disgraceful considering our rooms weren't ready until 5 on the Friday. And then we got locked out of the room twenty minutes before check out time.
The hotel did what it said on the tin but check in and out times annoyed us.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went away for the weekend for his birthday, we were pleasantly suprised by the Decor of the bar and the restuarant but other areas were quite worn and tired.

We upgraded to upper deck, which was abit of a rip off, nothing to spectacular however the bed was very comfy. I Also added an extra of bud and bar snacks for the man, one pot of olives and savoury snacks, not worth what I paid. There was no hot water so I had to have a cold shower, never nice.

The waitress in the restuarant was very helpful and polite. I had a burger which was OK at best, however the soup to start was amazing. Breakfast was nice.

Overall a pleasant stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Cardiff

Address: 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Urban Resort Cardiff has 118 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Urban Resort Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.