We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awful place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Cardiff to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Cardiff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“What an awful place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We use corporate rooms in Cardiff on an ongoing basis. Used to use premier inn but on of my guys struck up a deal with the village which we used a few years ago but stopped due to. Price increases and the lack I a deal locally. However having struck a deal at 75 a night B and B we gave it another shot. What a disaster. In the first instance this place is a gym with a hotel attached you cannot mo for guys and gals in their trainers and gym bags! Secondly the bar a first looked ok then in the middle of having some drinks per dinner the bar staff turned up the sound on the TV's where we had to endure a running commentary on some crappy 4th division English football game. We could not hear each other if was so loud. Phased we then went to the Italian restaurant for dinner - what a bloody disaster - the service was woeful and I mean woeful. From the point of sitting down if was one hour before the starter arrived! Food was indifferent to as the least. Second course followed 20 minutes after starter was cleared - we paid the bill and left, to add insult to injury the merlot wine at almost £20 is poor quality and grossly overpriced. All in all absolutely dreadful experience. Suffice to say we will not be back and that has cost you probably 50 plus room bookings annually.

Room Tip: Can't think of one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Urban Resort Cardiff, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I'm sorry that the hotel was not to your liking, and that you have chosen not to return to us.

I have forwarded this review on to our Hotel Sales Manager so that she may discuss your feedback directly with the company booker.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    168
    156
    75
    56
See reviews for
99
149
15
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed overnight this past weekend after a De Vere special offer. I had stayed here 2 years ago for a hen weekend but didn't realise.

The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is that the floor in the corridors and bedrooms in the old part of the hotel are VERY creaky and noisy and the plastic strip at the bottom of the shower screen could do with being replaced. That is the extent of my negative remarks but it did not impact on our lovely stay.

From the minute we walked in you could see it was very busy but not too noisy. Check-in was faultless and the staff at the front desk friendly and informative. We were offered an upgrade for an additional £20 for the night but we weren't intending to watch movies so declined. I loved the fact that included in the upgrade you had "pinchable toiletries". That made me smile all day :)

The hotel has lots of long corridors and it can be a bit like a maze until you get your bearings. There is always a lift somewhere close by and in all fairness there are well appointed signs to get you back to reception or rooms.

With our offer of £29 bed & breakfast we had to dine in the restaurant for £29 per couple with the 3 course set menu. However we could choose off the normal menu at an additional charge. We stayed with the set menu as the choices were adequate and it was well worth it.

The starter we chose was different but tasty. The salmon was cooked to perfection. We had to pay additional for an order of vegetables but it was not extortionate. The chocolate cake was DIVINE and truly decadent. I had mine with crème fraiche and my husband had ice cream. The portion was small but it was so rich the size was enough. The couple next to us were given larger portions but they could not finish it as it is so rich. We chose a mid price bottle of wine at £20.95 and it was also quite good. Hats off to our waitress Eleanor who was the friendliest and most helpful waitress we have every encountered in all our years of travelling & dining. Nothing was too much trouble and she went the extra mile.

Breakfast was the normal buffet type with plenty of fruit, yoghurt, cereals and juices. The cooked breakfast had plenty of choice with the food to a high standard. I tend to find coffee in certain hotels bitter but it was not the case this time. The service was spot on too.

The bedroom was spacious and it had everything we required. Hairdryer, mirrors, t.v, bath with shower. The shower gel & shampoo were in a dispenser on the wall but I usually take my own anyway. The bed was large (2 doubles together I think) and comfortable. I found the pillows a little too firm for my liking but that is personal choice anyway. Plenty of wardrobe & drawer space. The only gripe I have in many hotels is that the low lighting is sometimes too low especially for us women who like to have decent light to put our makeup on. The room was nice and quiet except for the squeaky floor.

On this occasion we did not take advantage of the spa or pool as we had to leave after breakfast but we did use the gym. It opens at 8am on a Saturday and we got there just after 8 and it was busy. The equipment is modern and up to date. The gym is quite big for a hotel and has plenty of machines.

Check out was equally smooth and it was refreshing not to have to pay for parking.

With family an hour away from Cardiff we have now found an excuse to stop off before going to visit them. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to family & friends and will be staying there again in the not too distant future and taking advantage of the spa and pool next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Urban Resort Cardiff, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Pauline,

thank you for your recent review of DeVere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm absolutely delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and have to agree that the chocolate nemesis cake is fantastic!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and yes please do come and try our top quality leisure facilities!

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here last night for while away for work. I absolutely recommend this place. Here's why:
Friendly and very helpful check-in staff, couldn't do enough for you.
Leisure facilities - beyond believably good. I did a Sh'bam class (Tuesday 1730hrs) and the instructor was excellent. Really knew her routine down to every bar in the song. Also did the Swiss Ball class at 1900hrs and again the instructor was fabulous. Overall, the lesiure facilities make the place worth a stay on their own!
Room: very clean, modern, and bed was super comfy. Good styling, full length mirror, everything I needed.
Food: room service was prompt and the food was tasty and plentiful
Breakfast: only had time for a quick bowl of fruit and cereal, but again, no problems here either.

Cannot fault this place and actually look forward to having to stay here for business again. And that almost never happens!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Urban Resort Cardiff, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your recent review of De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the fitness classes we put on, and have shared your feedback with the instructors.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we had a great time, the staff was very helpful and kind, the room was clean, and the food was good. Was worth upgrading the room for only an extra £10 per night, the swimming pool was great too. we would defiantly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Urban Resort Cardiff, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Wendy,

thank you for your review of your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff

We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your weekend, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

For a short stay in Cardiff this hotel offers good value for money. The standard rooms are comparable to the ones you might find at a Premier inn or Holiday Inn express in that they are small but clean with reasonable beds and pillows. The bonus for staying at this hotel is free wi-fi and superb leisure facilities which are free to access and you will probably find that a perfectly adequate breakfast is thrown in. I note that many of the users or the swimming pool and gym were non-residents so when we stayed at the weekend facilities were fairly busy. The swimming pool is restricted to adults only until 9 am so you can go on and swim the lanes in peace. There is a nice Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Gym equipment is up to date. The minimum age for the gym is 16 years. There seem to be a lot of special deals that De Vere are offering so it may bw worthwhile exploring their website.

Room Tip: There seem to be a lot of special deals that The De Vere Village, Cardiff are offering so it may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Urban Resort Cardiff, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed all of the facilities within the hotel and particularly note your feedback about our Velocity Leisure Club.

You are correct in stating that we do provide a number of great offers to stay at the hotel and use the facilities within, so please continue to keep your eyes peeled for our next great offer!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We were in an upper deck room, which was nice, spacious & clean. The staff seemed friendly. Our only real issue was the room service food, which was terrible. We told the staff the following morning & they gave us a partial refund without a fuss, but the quality of the food was inexcusable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Urban Resort Cardiff, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and can only apologise that the Room Service food was not up to standard during your stay.

I have shared this feedback with Chef to ensure that steps are taken to resolve this issue going forward.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Simon Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We took a short break for wifes birthday, stayed at quite a few village hotels on our travels so should not have any problems there, as for the rooms all ok as you would expect the swimming pool,gym very good but changing rooms need work which i think they are doing soon.good location easy to cardiff centre by car,we used the train five mins down the the road from hotel and only £3.50 day return.the only fault we had was with the dinner on the second night which was my wifes birthday the meal was not exceptable, we had it sent back and a fresh meal returned which was only a little better, had chat with the duty manager (MARY) the next morning,and i have to say a big thankyou to her and all the staff that made sure that our next meal was tiptop. So thank you VILLAGE CARDIFF.shame about the weather.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_Cardiff, Manager at Village Urban Resort Cardiff, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at De Vere Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very pleased that we managed to rectify the failing you experienced on your first night with us.

you are quite correct that we are in the process of having our changing rooms fully refurbished, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience them.

kind regards

Simon Green
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Cardiff

Address: 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Urban Resort Cardiff has 118 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Urban Resort Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.