We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova

Casanova
13 Quay Street, Cardiff CF10 1EA, Wales
02920344044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 937 Restaurants in Cardiff
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
CARDIFF, WALES
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited for lunch during early January and impressed with the value and quality of the set course.Two courses for £9.95, I had excellent black pudding to start and followed with confit duck on red peppers. Beautifully cooked, friendly, efficient service and highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    68
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great little Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm more used to the typical Italian restaurant where the walls are plastered with all manners of 'Italiana' just to make sure you know that you're in an Italian restaurant. With Casanova, however, when you walk in to this little classy eatery, you wouldn't think it was an Italian restaurant but, as a restaurant in Naples or Rome wouldn't need to prove it's Italian credentials, then neither does Casanova.

It's a classy little place with proper Italian staff who know how to serve, and the food is sublime, with your traditional Italian fayre as well as dishes that you may not be familiar with. I've seen a few other reviewers calling this place a gem, and I believe they've got it spot on, because if a gem is a small, rare and brilliant thing then yes, Casanova is a real gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville, Gabon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Actual, authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Unlike most Italian restaurants in Britain, which offer overpriced slops that would be laughed off the table in Italy, the Casanova is possibly the ONLY Italian restaurant I've been to in the UK that serves food LIKE THEY DO IN ITALY. The guys that run it have not sold out, have not catered to a mass market, and have maintained the quality, dedication and soul that makes real Italian food as spectacular as it is. This restaurant is a real gem in a wasteland of chain restaurants and burger bars. If you go to Cardiff, go to this restaurant. It is fantastic and the 2 guys that run it deserve success.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent. Little known but always full. Set lunch includes main course and choice of starter or sweet. All mains delicious, also desserts. The pear and blue cheese especially good. Nice wine. Excellent service, friendly, helpful, not rushed. Try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U K
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“My favourite Italian restaurant in Cardiff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our third visit
Very friendly welcome
We had not booked..silly mistake
A pint in the pub next door until our table was ready
I love the decor
I feel as if i am in Italy as soon as the door closes
No chain restaurant this
A short but varied menu
My wife and I do not eat meat but had no difficulty in choosing a delicious meal
Wine is fairly priced

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.