We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only ones in the restaurant..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant

Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant
31 Mermaid Quay, | Cardiff Bay, Cardiff CF10 5BZ, Wales
029 2048 7477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #416 of 937 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set in a magnificent glass structure on the bustling Cardiff Bay, Bosphorus showcases modern Turkish cuisine and European seafood dishes. As well as simmering casseroles and a sultan's feast inspired by the Ottoman Empire, guests can enjoy succulent cuts from the grill. Enjoy uninterrupted views of the water and the neighbouring quay from the dining room, or relax out on the jetty-style al fresco terrace.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only ones in the restaurant..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Visited Bosphorus last year with my partner as we both love Turkish food very much! However it is not like traditional turkish food one bit! The evening went from bad to worse.
Firstly, we were the only people in the whole restaurant on a Friday night (the only good thing about that was we got to have a window seat to overlook the bay).
The food was not up to standard, came out cold and seemed it was out of a freezer. Also some of the staff were sat on the tables eating which I did not find very professional!
Would not recommend Bosphorus if you are looking for proper Turkish cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    97
    48
    39
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not as good as an ice cream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We chose this restaurant as it has a nice position on stilts overlooking Cardiff Bay. At the time of our family visit, Sunday afternoon, the restaurant was about two thirds full. We were greeted by a monosyllabic waiter and seated on a small table. The menu appears quite extensive and we all opted to order plates to share from the mezze selection. Service was slow. Some time after our initial orders the waiter re-appeared with the words "You order Calamari? No." We re-ordered and time passed. Eventually... the food arrived and I think its fair to say we were more than disappointed. A particular low was the Sardines, or sardine, that aside from being a technical breach of the trade descriptions act was slightly burned.

The final insult was that for the 15 plates of mezze that we had shared the restaurant had billed us for 5 orders of 3 mezze dishes (the most expensive permutation on the menu for ordering mezze). In fairness to the restaurant they did then agree to charge us at the most favourable rate, however, the food was still vastly overpriced for very poor quality.

Do you want to eat and enjoy a view of Cardiff Bay? Get an ice cream and take a walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good seafood by the sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were looking for a not-too-cheap restaurant to do nice seafood, and we lucked out at Bosphorus. I started with Sardines which were perfectly cooked and lovely, followed by seafood kebabs which were delicious. My girlfriend had the salmon fillet which was simply the best cooked salmon we've ever had, as well as some very tasty halloumi to start. Coupled with the restaurant's setting on its own peir and pleasant waiters made for the perfect evening!

The meal around £90 including service so wasn't cheap considering there was only 2 of us, but we had 3 courses, a bottle of wine and a liquer coffee each so given the quality I think it's well worth the money!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food in a fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The restaurant is on its own little pier with water all around, in which the lights of the bay twinkle romantically. The food is really good, and the service is friendly, efficient and attentive.
A great place to eat.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Post Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

After visiting the WMC to watch Wicked, we had booked a table at the Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant, Cardiff Bay, good job we did book, as it was very busy in there, I had the Mussels for starters 4 or 5 big mussels in a very tasty white wine sauce, We had the Kleftico for main course,
the Lamb was so tender and tasty, I wasn`t to keen on the herbs in the mash potato, but that was a personal thing, my wife loved it.
we have been to this restaurant a few times now, and always had a very good meal and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosphorus Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.