We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf to your Saves list
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a one night stay at a hotel located in Cardiff's wharf area. The bed was comfy but a very basic room and souless like most Travelodges. We found it really difficult to access with a single small entrance via a larger carpark that served an entertainment complex. Carparking and internet were both costly if used A good breakfast was supplied. The transport into the city was infrequent so a long walk was needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    145
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
86
162
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked an overnight stay at the Travelodge in Cardiff Bay for the annual Food Festival. My husband and I have stayed in a few Travelodge Hotels but this one is by far the best. The Staff are brilliant, nothing too much trouble for them.
We will certainly return as the room we had was spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and beautiful large pillows - my husband requested extra pillows as he is asthmatic and has to sleep virtually upright. These were supplied straight away. I also loved the large fluffy towels, but the one little niggle was there was just a small bottle of shower gel provided, no soap.

As pensioners we also appreciated the fact that it was only a short walk to the Bay area where the festival was being held.

Room Tip: Higher floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you are attending an event at the Millennium Stadium at Cardiff and don't want to be in the hustle & bustle of the city, then this place is for you. It is about 15/20 mins walk along a flat and straight road to the stadium and the city shops. Alternatively you can catch one of the frequent buses for a price of about £1.20 each way. Cardiff Bay is also very close with it's bars and restaurants and theatre and when I was there it was 'partying'. This was excellent and no trouble at all.

Whilst the hotel has it's own small café/bar there are numerous bars and restaurants within a very short walk. Parking is easy, by using a ticket verified by the hotel reception and driving there is also easy as it is about 8 miles from the M4, and please TRUST the directions given on the website.

This is not a luxury hotel and the room is basic. One comfortable double bed, a plastic chair, a small formica table and a large mirror. The shower room is cosy (!).
and liquid soap is provided in a very small phial. I did find that slightly strange and a bit mean of Travelodge. A wall mounted tv has a limited number of channels.

'Booking In' is from 3pm and I arrived at 2.30pm. However, if I had wished to go directly to my room this would have incurred an extra charge, again slightly mean as the room had been paid for 6 months in advance, but..... rules is rules !.
One thing was very noticeable, whilst the staff were polite, but not overly friendly, the hotel was exceptionally clean and tidy. I left very early in the morning and the night porter was cleaning the floor in Reception.

My test is always, would I go there again and the answer is yes, but unless you get a good deal (and it is out of season), it can be expensive.

Room Tip: If you wish to sleep with the window open, please don't have a room overlooking the hotel entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My second stay at the Cardiff Atlantic Wharf having stayed there in November 2013.I cant recommend this hotel highly enough.The staff are very friendly ,polite and courteous .I asked for a high floor and also in view of the heat in July 2014 a fan also .Both requests complied with professionally.I cant comment on the food or bar as i use the hotel as a base to goto the local attactions like cardiff bay waterfront and the dr who experience but i am sure they would be excellent.Room was clean tidy,comfortable double bed ,flatscreen tv and somewhere to hang my clothes.En suite type bathroom also clean.Nice powerfull shower also .Quiet when i stayed in July on a thursday night.I love this hotel and if you are looking for reasonable priced hassle free stay in clean accomodation it cant be bettered .

Room Tip: Ask for a fan in summertime as can be stuffy at night even with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

As huge doctor who fans, I had planned a trip to Cardiff to be on location where it was filmed. I knew the hotel was close to the train station and Cardiff Bay, but when we got there, I was amazed it was all within minutes of the hotel.

The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, and very easy to chat to. They offered great knowledge of both Cardiff bay area and Cardiff city centre.

We chose to pay extra to have breakfast, and there was a great choice of food, including cereals and cooked breakfasts (sausages, bacon, eggs, beans etc.)

The room was basic, but well suited for a good nights sleep. Although a small fridge and a little more storage space for clothes would up my rating to 5/5.

Overall, a fab stay in an excellent hotel and location!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Clean basic room in good location - just a short walk to Cardiff Bay Area where you can find restaurants and view. There is parking in front of the hotel sharing with casino and small shopping mall/cineplex next to the hotel.

About 10 mins drive to city centre.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a "re furbished" travelodge. Quite large by normal standards -4 floors. As you would expect, it's basic but functional lodging. Room isn't massive, but adequate. Point to note - just a shower cubicle, and no bath. Didn't bother me, but it might some. Don't know if this applied to all rooms tho. Only observation I would make of the room is that there is very little storage/ hanging space. There's just a small shelf with a bar to hang clothes on in the corner, and a small desk to sit at. A wall unit with a few more shelves, would be so much better, and not expensive to fit. No clothes on the floor then!
That's the thing with travelodge. They seem to go out of their way to make it look soooo cheap! Simple things would make such a massive improvement. A hard plastic chair in the room. A padded or leatherette chair for instance wouldn't be a bad thing?
Still - that's a generalisation. This hotel is actually quite good. Clean and modern. Friendly staff. Free parking. Even a bar, and breakfast room.
I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.