We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be bettered at the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf to your Saves list
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Could not be bettered at the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. My room was beautifully located, spacious and clean. I slept well every night. Unless you are looking for luxury add-ons, I cannot see how a Travelodge such as this can be bettered. The hotel is close to the Millennium Centre and the bustling activity of Cardiff Bay, but is not itself affected by noise from that area.

Room Tip: The higher the better, if you want to avoid what little noise there is. The front gives onto a minor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    167
    37
    9
    12
See reviews for
102
198
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

stayed last sunday night room great staff great location spot on minutes from the bays bars and resturants also free parking didnt go into the city centre but its only a mile or so away will be returning and i only paid £17 for the night

Room Tip: top floor front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice Travelodge stayed here a couple of years ago and was ok clean bed for the night so booked again. We stayed in June 2013 and the hotel had been refurbished since our last visit and to a good standard, bed was very comfortable liked the new wet room as opposed to bath worked out well as my mum has not long had a knee op so was a lot easier for her to wash. we stayed when the cricket was on and the hotel was quite full so there obviously will be some noise but nothing too much, we had a room by the road with the window open overnight and was quite a lot of noise early in the morning but with the window closed was fine, had a good nights sleep. Free parking was fab polite staff did not have food but menu looked like it had a decent choice, but there are many places to eat within walking distance so that wasn't a problem. Booked well in advance so got a saver rate, if all you want is a clean room and bed for the night cant fault it would recommend and would stay again. Whenever we go anywhere in the UK just for a night or two we always book with Travelodge, out of all the hotels we have stayed in this is the best of them all. Cheap and cheerful

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the road if you don't like noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashcott, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Refurbished and looking really good. very central, free parking and friendly staff.Free parking! Stayed for two nights all you need for a quick trip. Did not use restaurant as out and about all day.Walking distance to lots of pubs , restaurants, walks and Cardiff Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Quick 1 night stay in cardiff, so booked this hotel for £42 last minute which is fantastic value. Car parking was plentyfull and free, check-in was quick, room was basic but just what we needed as we litterally planned to spend the two days around Cardiff and spend the evening at Mermaid Quay.

Knowing how basic the TV channels where going to be, we took our laptop with tv cables, to use our sky player to watch a film, but soon realised there was no wifi available?. My husband went down to reception to ask about this, stating that whis was advertised on there website, the receptionist agreed and explained that this is the wrong information and should not be advertised on the website and the manager could be called, which led us to believe that we wheren't the first guests to question the advertised free wifi!, but if my husband did want want wifi it was £10 for a day.

Beds where very comfy, pillows ideal, bathroom small and basic but lovely shower, was so glad to see no bath as my husband usully spends 2 hours reading in the bath, BUT after a days shopping I would of loved a nice relaxing bath.

Would deinately use again for a quick break away, at last it looks like Travelodge seems to be improving there overall quality but they still have a way to go to be as good as there other competitors!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been refurbished recently and there are new king size comfortable beds. The bathroom was clean and tidy . For the price booked in advance the value for money was fabulous . Did not use restaurant as Quality places in Cardiff Bay nearby. Well done . Also the staff on reception smiled. It makes all the difference . OK the stag party on Friday night came in at 3.30am but my wife mentioned earlier in the day that they need to calm down And they tried their best . Fortunately we has an early night .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great hotel, very clean and tidy, room was very small though, nowhere to put your clothes, just a few hangers that were inside the unit on the wall, no hairdryer.

Bit of a rip off with the early check in charge, we arrived at just gone 2pm and were told that because it was before 2.30pm there was a £10.00 charge, as it never said on my paperwork what time check in was we presumed it was 2pm just like premier inn, so be warned you get the cheap room but then get charged for being early.

Restaurant very small, breakfast was very nice the next morning.

There was quite a lot of thick dust in the bedroom (on tops of pictures and headboards, and skirtings) there was also couple of maintenance issues in the bathroom which we told reception about.

Think would stick to premier inn in future though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf

Address: Atlantic Wharf Leisure Park, Cardiff CF10 4JY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.