We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish in downtown Cardiff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff to your Saves list
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Approach | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Stylish in downtown Cardiff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

- Modern and stylish
- Very good use of the space: the rooms are small but well-designed
- Excellent breakfast in nice dining room
- Very central location next to the train station, downtown Cardiff
- Very good hotel in Cardiff
- Definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    201
    80
    29
    17
See reviews for
38
151
75
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daejeon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I stayed at Sleeperz for 2 nights at the end of December in a compact double room. As other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are small, but they do make good use of the space with lots of little tricks to save space. For instance, the bathroom has a sliding glass door and the safe is built into the base of the bed.

The hotel certainly looks nicer than your standard budget chain hotel. The floor in my room was a mix of wood laminate and slate. The bathroom is a wet room - ie the floor gets wet when you take a shower. This doesn't really bother me, but the slate floor in the bathroom was very chilly on my feet! I can imagine a slate floor would be nice at the height of summer, but not so much in December! The only other complaint I have is that there was nowhere in the bathroom to hang towels, even though the bathrooms are small, a towel rail could be easily squeezed in.

The room was spotlessly clean and despite being very close to the railway station, I couldn't hear a sound from outside and had 2 great night's sleep! Overall, I had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Location of the hotel is great and there is a ncp car park over the road where we left our car overnight. The hotel was also really quiet and we did not hear the noise from outside on the street.
The room itself is small but has all you need. The shower room/bathroom leaves you with very little privacy as there is a frosted glass door that slides rather than shuts so noises can be a problem!
Our room was particularly cold and the heating seemed to switch itself off after a little while.

I would recommend this hotel for couples as a great basis for going out in cardiff. i would not recommend it for groups going out and getting ready at the hotel as space is limited in the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Stayed at Sleeperz for one night this month. Lovely hotel (although we were given a disabled room which pleased me...NOT!).

Very clean and modern hotel. Lovely aircon to heat/cool the room. Not very happy with the sliding frosted glass bathroom door though, does absolutely nothing for privacy! Loved the wetroom style shower though, very nice.

Bed comfy, in fact the best night's sleep I have had in a hotel this year. Would have been happier with an opening window as the room was small and felt quite claustrophobic.

I'd definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

A real gem so close to the station - but the state of the art windows mean you aren't aware of this.
Strongly recommend this to anyone needintg somewhere to stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

I stayed at the Sleeperz Hotel in Cardiff in early December 2009. I booked my room, a compact double via the Sleeperz Hotel website for £55.

When I arrived I was greeted in the modern and swish reception by a rather charming and pleasant receptionist. We discussed the weather and Cardiff and it was nice change from other hotels that they were actually friendly! I requested a high floor on booking, and dutifully was given a room on the highest floor of the hotel.

The room was really great, a modern design masterpiece. I've read people complain about the room sizes on TripAdvisor but at the end of the day you can clearly see in the photographs that they are not massive! The hotel makes far better use of its smaller spaces than other hotels make of far larger rooms. The bathroom was wonderful, plenty of hot water, and all the amenities you would expect, hand soap, body wash etcetera. There were even two sets of towels which is an extremely rare occurance in cheaper hotels when travelling alone. The room was also spotlessly clean, one of the cleanest hotels rooms I have ever stayed in.

Overall, a fantastic hotel with friendly staff. The hotel provides and experience which greatly outshines the modest price tag! Well done Sleeperz! I hope you open more hotels around the UK!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

My daughter and i went to cardiff to see Eddie Izzard for one night and this hotel had everything we could possibly need. It was spotlessly clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was compact, as described, but we were only staying for the one night. So convenient too, right next to the town and the station, and a short bus ride from cardiff bay. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff

Address: Station Approach | Saunders Road, Cardiff CF10 1RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern lifestyle hotel built with great design in mind. Centrally located in the heart of Cardiff next to the main rail station. Wooden floors, tiled wet rooms and tactile leather finishes make Sleeperz Hotels appeal to both leisure and business travellers. A restaurant/breakfast area overlooks the central square; our lounge bar area has a wood burning fire and beautiful leather sofas. Rates include FREE WiFi and national UK calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Sleeperz Hotel
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.