We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quiet apartments in large complex 15 min walk from town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Space in the City - Century Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A Space in the City - Century Wharf to your Saves list
A Space in the City - Century Wharf
Dumballs Road, Cardiff CF10 5NG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good quiet apartments in large complex 15 min walk from town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

we had a 1 bed with a balcony for 3 weeks. Excellent value and the service was good. The bathroom has an electric fan and the underfloor heating worked a treat. We will definitely go back again when we return to Cardiff.

It's 15 mins walk to the Cardiff shops and there is a No 11 bus every 30 mins. We arranged for Waitrose to deliver.

The security is excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    61
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
39
73
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The apartment was incredible... comfy, clean, modern and quiet. It was just simply perfect. We would definitely stay there again. It was secure and very safety conscious, this gated community was very quiet considering it is located in busy Cardiff Bay. It was perfect for sightseeing and for access to the Millennium Centre and local shops and restaurants. This site would suit families, business trips, couples on a get away or friends on a get together. Our apartment had all the appliances that we could need, dishwasher, washing machine as well as the usual. The leisure facilities available to us were a Gym and a Swimming Pool which we were unable to use as we had no time, but we will definitely check them out next time. The representative that showed us around was helpful and very pleasant. This all led to us having a fantastic few days... Thank you A Space in the City :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The flat itself was clean and spacious, and the lady who showed us in and around was friendly. Lots of extra amenities, such as washing up liquid and two dishwasher tablets (no washing machine ones though).

Car parking was easy to get in and out of and we used the swimming pool in the leisure centre easily.

Five minute walk from Mermaid Quay with lots of restaurants and a tesco express so we could cook in the flat. Centre of Cardiff was a ten-fifteen minute walk, which was no problem as the weather was beautiful, but there appeared to be buses 5 minutes away along with the train station.

Bedroom curtains were very thin so let in a lot of light.

We couldn't find any ventilation in the bathroom, and there was no window, so the room stayed steamy (or smelly) for a long time afterwards.

Generally though, a great apartment if you're looking for self catered and are travelling to Cardiff for food and shopping!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The apartment was very impressive - spacious and tasteful - it had everything that we could have wanted. We were in Sorrento house, which was very quiet. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. One comment - I used the booking.com postcode (CF10 5NZ) for the satnav. Bad idea since that address doesn't exist. It should be CT10 5NG. My fault for not using information from the Space in the City website.
We also used the leisure centre - again it was very quiet when we were there (Friday evening).
A very enjoyable stay all round.

Room Tip: I can recommend apartment 6, Sorrento house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently spent the weekend in Cardiff and had two nights at A Space in the City. The apartment was clean and tidy with all the things needed to enjoy a pleasant self-catering break. We used the leisure facilities, had a swim in the pool and used the sauna. Location was fine, overlooking the river, a fifteen min walk from Cardiff city centre and ten mins from Cardiff Bay bars and restaurants. Special mention has to go to the lovely and helpful girl who greeted us on arrival. We got a bit lost and she came to pick us up in the car which was very kind of her, then informed us that we'd been upgraded to a two-bedroom flat. All in all a recommended alternative to a hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My stay was pleasant for the 3 nights, I was greeted with a warm welcome from a very lovely young lady..and had been upgraded to a nice two bed apartment, which it self was very clean very comfortable but with all Ikea beds you have to watch your legs when getting into bed as you will bang yourself on the wood surround. Thicker mattress covers perhaps as I found the mattress uncomfortable.

I will have to say, absolutely no privacy from neighbours, all the balconies look onto each other, vertical blinds are a must in the bedrooms and lounge. Closing the curtains and sitting in the dark is not the solution..

Century Wharf is abit out of the way, a car is needed, Then it should not matter if your the type who likes to explore and will go out and about.

You will be offered parking and althoe there is meant to be parking for your guests up top there never is, availability as the locals nab the spaces and don't budge. A hefty fine of £100 will be issued to your guests if not parked in the visitors space as the wardens come around at 6am checking the cars.

Best to tell them to park outside the gated complex. My personal preference would be to not have concierge and gates to get to the apartments, but it may suit others. and to have better parking and not controlled parking or introduce parking permits rather than risk that money spinner fine..(Don't agree with it)

An average given not so much for the apartment as it was nice and blinds can be put up but for the gates and controlled parking, spoils it..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Our stay started on a Sunday so we picked up our keys from a nearby restaurant, the waiter seemed very dismissive which I thought was quite rude. The envelope had everything we needed to know including a map to our allocated parking space and our apartment. The hole complex was very secure. Was very happy with the apartment itself. There was a double bed, sofabed and dining table in the same room, this was not a problem for us but thought it would be worth a mention if you r wanting more privacy if there are more than two of you in your party. Can't fault them on the cleaning or the quality of the furnishings, also their attention to detail was great!!! Even the pillows had two hard and two soft for the fussy sleeper. We did have a balcony but this overlooked a busy road, but this was not a problem as the double glazing stopped alot of the noise. Only other criticism Was we were under the impression that we had full use of the facilities ie, the pool/ gym, but our key would not let us open the doors to these? All in all we had a great stay and would highly recommend these apartments!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A Space in the City - Century Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City - Century Wharf

Address: Dumballs Road, Cardiff CF10 5NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century Wharf offers more in almost every area. With over 14 acres of landscaped grounds surrounding 700 luxury apartments, choice and style combine to produce one of Cardiff's most sought after accommodation addresses. As a Bay destination, this development provides close access to the bustling entertainment area of Mermaid Quay, while being set alongside the peaceful river Taff, one of the cleanest rivers in Britain. Would you like to go for a swim, or train in the Gymnasium during your stay? Then take a stroll across to the Centurion Leisure Suite, Century Wharfs' own fitness centre. 15 meter pool, sauna, showers, powered exercise machines, weights, break-out room, it's all there. And it's all free to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your A Space in the City - Century Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City - Century Wharf Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Space in the City - Century Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.