We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Space in the City - Century Wharf

Save Saved
You added A Space in the City - Century Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Space in the City - Century Wharf
Dumballs Road, Cardiff CF10 5NG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was the third time I've stayed in Century Wharf on business over the last 12 months, and I'm very happy to give a five star review as all three stays, each in different apartment blocks within the complex, have been excellent.

I was met upon arrival and driven to my parking space - bags taken up to my apartment, and two parcels I had sent with materials for work were already waiting in the apartment for me, and I was shown which network to use for WiFi and given the password. That's what I call great service!

As ever the apartment was huge, bigger than my 1 bed flat in London, and equipped with widescreen TV, iPod dock etc... I just regret not having much time to spend in it!

One consequence is that the rooms do take time to heat up (I was there 31 Jan - 3 Feb, a very cold time of year!) - any clothes you leave lying on the floor will warm up nicely though thanks to the underfloor heating!

Kitchen was well equipped, a teapot or strainer would be a nice addition (I only say this as I bought loose leaf tea from Sainsbury's by mistake...)

One tip, if you are hiring a car, Sixt are nearby and offer pick-up and drop-off for free, subject to availability. Otherwise, there is a bus service to town or you can walk it in about 15 mins or take a 4 min train.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    53
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
60
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This was our first time in an apartment but because we booked last minute, most suitable hotels were full. We arrived on a Friday evening & picking up the welcome pack (& key) from Chiquitos restaurant was straightforward. Our problems started on arrival at the huge Century Wharf complex. In the emails we'd received upon booking, we'd read 'In the unlikely event of someone having parked in your personal space, please follow the instructions in the guidebook in the apartment....' So we had to leave the car in another space, worried that it might be clamped or towed away as we had been warned, whilst we went to find the instructions. What should have been an exciting moment - arriving at the apartment & exploring - was spoilt by having to phone various numbers, leave various messages on answer machines until finally we spoke to someone who told us to leave the car in a Visitor space. So we went out again & started driving around looking for a Visitors' space. These are in random places throughout the complex - you can identify them with a white V painted on the ground, which we didn't know & isn't visible if someone is parked there. All the Visitor spaces were full so we phoned back & were given the name of a company we could call to have the car which was in our space towed away! (That shouldn't that have been our job) In the meantime no solution what to do with our car for the night! The woman we spoke to wasn't able to tell us which other spaces belonged to Space in the City, so we could park in one that wasn't being used. She just told us not to take someone else's space as it could belong to a private resident. (In fact, I thought Space in the City was like an Aparthotel, whereas most apartments are privately owned & Space in the City's are spread around. By this time we'd identified a problem with the heating - it was very cold yet the heating instruction manual didn't seem to make sense.....it referred to a different system to the one in our apartment! So another call & after leaving a message on an answer machine someone got back to us, but he wasn't based in Cardiff & wasn't familiar with the complex & all he could do was read to us from the same manual we had!! In the end he told us to give it time.....! We eventually felt the heaing beginning to work at 3 a.m. (we'd turned it on at 8.30) & it was, in fact, underfloor heating (the manual referred to wall-mounted panels!) which took so long to be felt through the carpets! Anyway the next day we were pleased to see our parking space was free but when we came back at 11p.m. a different car was parked in it! There was no point in phoning again, so we did some detective work and found a space that belonged to the apartment next door to us, so we parked there & put a note under their door explaining & that we'd take it in the morning. Not an ideal scenario on a Saturday night on a weekend away after a nice meal out....! All in all, staying there was very stressful, which is not the idea behind a weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspaceinthecity, Guest Relations Manager at A Space in the City - Century Wharf, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
We are very disappointed that our guests experience of A Space in the City was tainted by a third party issue. We do not operate an Aparthotel, and let all our guests know that our apartments are within residential blocks. The car park is strictly operated by a third party company who clamp and tow cars which are parked in the incorrect places. Our check in letter, which is included in the key pack (not apartment) clearly says to park in a visitor space and call the car park management company if a car is parked in your space. It is regretful that our out of hours service could not help on this occasion. We will continue to investigate the call recordings from this date to find out why our on duty manager was not called out to assist the guests. In regards to the heating in the apartment, we believe that there was a power cut earlier in the day which reset the heating timers. We have since reprogrammed these settings – and put a more extensive manual into this apartment. We would like to apologies to our guests for the regrettable inconvenience they encountered during their stay. As a result of these issues we now offer a personal check in to all guests (late call out charge applies after 6pm). We have contacted the guest directly to discuss this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

A fantastic weekend away with friends. A space in the city were very helpful with an early check in. We stayed in a bronze 2.5 bedroom apartment with an extra bed added for 6. It was very spacious, clean and a wonderful place to stay. We did use Taxi's to get in and out of Cardiff, but that mainly due to the weather, if drier we would have walked, about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

5 of us stayed in a Bronze award 5 person apartment in August. We booked it because there were Rugby games in Cardiff and could not get a hotel anywhere and could not be guaranteed that all five of us would be on the same floor in a hotel block. This was a fantastic find and cost us £70 each for a 2 night stay in total.

Century Wharf is a modern gated community where owners let out their apartments through various letting agencies. We used "A Space in the City" but there are others. It is a residential area and therefore noise must be kept to a minimum. There is a consierge office on site and we were met and shown around out apartment by a member of staff from "A Space in the City". Other than that, we were totally left alone for the whole duration.

There was a leisure area containing gym, swimming pool and jacuzzi etc but we didn't go and see it.

Our particular apartment was very large, clean and bright. It had a very spacious lounge, enormous kitchen/diner, two good sized doubles and single bedroom and large bathroom with separate shower.

All mod cons were provided including TV, CD, dishwasher, washing machine etc. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and all the bedding and towels were hotel standard.

The location was perfect. A very short stroll to all the pubs and restaurants in the centre of Cardiff Bay including taxi ranks. A taxi to Cardiff Castle area cost £4.60 and we paid approx £9.00 to come back after midnight. I must also say that every taxi driver we used (about 8 in total) were the most friendliest and helpful I have ever come across - well done Cardiff.

I can honestly say, we were all amazed at what we had rented considering we were all going to try and get into one family room in a hotel and pay £500.00 for this. The spacious apartment alowed us all to have our own space, bedrooms and plug sockets! Some of us could go to bed early and leave others chatting in the kitchen without being heard.

We will never book a hotel room in Cardiff again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

this could be so much better. I wasn't mad keen on the location as quite noisy but not far from the city so that was ok. Paid for balcony but this didn't happen and refund still not given. No toiletries, mould in bathroom, broken tumble drier and so loads of wet washing. staff indifferent. Such a shame as with a little care and staff training this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspaceinthecity, Manager at A Space in the City - Century Wharf, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
The guest was advised that many of our Silver Award apartments have balcony’s but are not guaranteed. The guest was offered a Gold Award apartment at an extra cost if they wanted a guaranteed balcony - this was declined.

After check in the guest called the office to advise that there were no toiletries, our guest services co-ordinator popped over to the apartment with some supplies which the guest was thankful for.

At no point did the guest mention any mould in the bath - we did not find any mould in the bathroom upon departure. It is correct that the tumble dryer in the apartment is not working - this is the first report we have had and have now called a contractor out to fix this issue.

Upon the first telephone complaint I personally asked the guest what would be the perfect resolution; whether it be an apartment move, part refund, or something else. The guest kept repeating that she, "wanted this to be taken seriously", which I certainly was.

The guest was rude and abrupt throughout, despite continuous efforts to calm her down and resolve all issues.

It is with regret that this guest did not enjoy their stay with A Space in the City. A part refund has been issued to the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We' ve stayed in CW before and once again we were not disappointed. The apartment we stayed in was immaculate and the kitchen had every thing one would expect and want. We had a gorgeous terrace overlooking the river and as it was the sunniest week, we eat outside. The children loved the pool and the proximity to Techniquest, even better.

Our future stays will definitely be in CW.

Only snag, which I advised the agents upon our return, was for the bedroom curtains to be thicker.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We chose a two bedroom apartment as there were four of us and we thought it might be nice to have the living space instead of just staying in a hotel. The location was great, right in Cardiff Bay, which is either a very short taxi ride or 20-30 minute walk into Cardiff city centre. We'd taken things like washing up liquid, kitchen roll, tea bags - but needn't have bothered! We were pleasantly surprised with what was supplied, a real home from home. Furnishings and fittings were of a high quality inc freeview, TV and DVD in the lounge. The only tiny issue for me, as a light sleeper, is that I would have preferred a heavier curtain/blind as the light came in in the morning - but it certainly wouldn't stop me going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Space in the City - Century Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Space in the City - Century Wharf

Address: Dumballs Road, Cardiff CF10 5NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century Wharf offers more in almost every area. With over 14 acres of landscaped grounds surrounding 700 luxury apartments, choice and style combine to produce one of Cardiff's most sought after accommodation addresses. As a Bay destination, this development provides close access to the bustling entertainment area of Mermaid Quay, while being set alongside the peaceful river Taff, one of the cleanest rivers in Britain. Would you like to go for a swim, or train in the Gymnasium during your stay? Then take a stroll across to the Centurion Leisure Suite, Century Wharfs' own fitness centre. 15 meter pool, sauna, showers, powered exercise machines, weights, break-out room, it's all there. And it's all free to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your A Space in the City - Century Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Space In The City - Century Wharf Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Space in the City - Century Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.