We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Good not amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie's Diner

Eddie's Diner
Mermaid Quay, Cardiff CF10 5BZ, Wales
029 20484020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #595 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Everything Good not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Went hear with the kids wanted something quite quick and unfussy as kids were already starving. Was exactly what we expected so no dissapointed

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    27
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon england
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Yuk trading on a theme but food awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We called in here after going to the Dr Who exhibit...... should of realized by the fact that there were spaces available and every where else was packed that it wouldn't of been good, but as it was my husbands birthday and he loves burgers!
The burgers were the most tasteless pieces of cardboard i think I have ever had, it was so bland my husband left his, which is unheard of, they just didn't taste of anything.
After we had left the food and were finishing our drinks they cleared the table next to us, they took the baskets that held the food, threw the contents away, which did include a thin paper liner, but then just stacked the baskets back on the counter ready to be used for the next customer, they were not cleaned or washed or anything, unless you call the waitress brushing out a few crumbs with her hand, how totally unhygienic. Will never be returning here

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice 50s diner , good atmosphere and decor , ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went here purely for the link to doctor who so we were very happy to be there , and the decor and 50s diner feel was also cool . If your going I would reccomend you go for the diner feel and not the food.
The food was ok burgers nice but not the best and cheesy chips nice too. Would go back for a quick snack maybe but there are nicer more reasonable places in the area to eat.
Service good , staff friendly and the place was clean .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Finally a 50s diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had to go all the way to Wales to get a 50s diner! I love 50s style diners, just for their fun atmosphere and usually good food. The food was decent here. The main things that won us over were the Root beer floats and chili cheese fries!

We each had a cheese burger, which was alright. Definitely not the best cheese burger. I enjoyed some chili cheese fries, since I hadn't had any in quite awhile!

The food is not exceptional but it is edible and fairly good. The atmosphere is quite fun, as they are playing American oldies, mostly. there is fun art work on the walls, along with various old antique style accessories. I would definitely go back and probably try the apple pie and maybe one of the hot dogs!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food is what you would expect, average price, average food, slightly more expensive than Burger King but same sort of thing with a bit more choice. Didn't use the loos so couldn't comment but if you do go, don't sit by the door because people forget to close it and it was bloody freezing today.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie's Diner also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Eddie's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddie's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.