We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky beers and big selections of pizzas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zero Degrees

Zero Degrees
27 Westgate Street, Cardiff CF10 1DD, Wales (City Centre)
029 2022 9494
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: Golgate
Transit: Cardiff, Westgate St (1) (NW-bound)
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky beers and big selections of pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you want something a bit different here is the place to go. Great tasting and unusual beers and really tasty home made pizzas. Decor is kind of an industrial theme but I liked it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    82
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful beer, service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The highlight of a trip to Cardiff with rugby involved (across road from Millennium stadium and Cardiff's Arms Park). They brew their own beer, which is excellent (Xmas brew was 8.7%!!!!, only served in halves) and plenty of variety. 4 pm - 7 pm Monday to Friday is happy hour, with much cheaper beer and it certainly made me happy. Menu is Italian based and they have a proper pizza oven - again plenty of choice. A great night out (twice!). Our second night was with a group of 16 and they catered us and a larger stag party of 'Where's Wally's' - (hilarious), without breaking sweat. Staff are excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ynys Mon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Loved the micro brewery, great prices and good beer. Good informal atmosphere and across the road from the national stadium.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“What a super deal- good service tasty food amazing beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We 1st tried zero degrees in its Bristol site 3 years ago and often use both Bristol or Cardiff if v going to a show.
We love the 4 'stable' beers , I always have The Black Lager , my wife adores The Pale Ale , before 7.30 its £2.50 a pint one of the best deals for a microbrew beer you will ever get , the chocolate biscuity flavour of The Black Lager is amazing

Service was super , polite and spot on timing , they are doing an amazing food deal at present for early diners 2 courses for £10 3 for £12

We were just going to have a pizza but both had the chilli squid to start - squid rings perfectly cooked , sitting on a super well dressed salad with a large slice of cucumber in a nice server - a very good portion - we recently ate squid in a Japanese restaurant in London - was twice the price , half the portion and this knocked the spots off it !

Pizza's are cooked in full view and were super - a very good meal , excellent ales and a total bargain for tasty food in a great venue

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great microbrewery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Always enjoy having a drink here; even though the space is so big it can sometimes lack atmosphere, the beers are interesting and excellent. Pizza toppings are great too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zero Degrees also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Zero Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zero Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.