We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a cultural visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caerphilly Castle

Caerphilly Castle
A469 from Cardiff, Caerphilly CF83 1JD, Wales
+44 0 2920 880011
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Caerphilly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a cultural visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went to Caerphilly Castle earlier this year to photograph its cascading towers and curving staircases. I found the castle as most peaceful, and whilst photographing what was needed I found that since my last visit the castle was evermore expanding by adding educational videos and small animations, which makes the visit far more interesting and exciting. I would definitely promote this attraction, for all tourists as the castle is a mere 2 minute walk from the town and there is a helpful tourist information centre opposite. Would visit again with haste!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    180
    37
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

it's a really nice place, with very nice views, we went for a walk around the castle, loved it and recommend it definetely

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“caerphilly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

beautiful and in town centre. there is a nearby gallery Y Galeri in St Fagan's Street. Also Tourist information is opposite castle

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun for any castle lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The castles of southeast Wales are tremendous. Caerphilly is the second largest in Britain. This first truly concentric British castle was built in the 13th century and, due to its short lived strategic value, has changed little since. Vast water defenses are testament to the defensive military genius of its builders and evidence of the range of long bows and siege weapons. Caerphilly Castle is a huge, grey, unromantic, solid edifice and loads of fun for any castle lover.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

this is a great attraction for the children. My daughetr is doing all about castles so apart from being able to feed the ducks and geese there is a history not to be missed

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caerphilly Castle also viewed

 
Raglan, Monmouthshire
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Caerphilly Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caerphilly Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.