We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Court Colman Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Court Colman Manor to your Saves list
Court Colman Manor
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend CF31 4NG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Bridgend B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Blast from the past.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on a deal. Second time we have been so it must be good. Country house set in great rural location. Signage has been improved since previous visit. Olde worlde feel to the place. Lots of oak panelling and stately public rooms. Friendly staff. Great restaurant attached - indian bias to menu but all sorts available. And good food and value! Rooms themed to various countries. Some more succesfully than others but comfortable and modern bathrooms. We will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    122
    62
    38
    31
See reviews for
43
222
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I took advantage of a weekend web promotion and was impressed by the hotel's position in open countryside. It was difficult to find from the M4 because my sat nav took me to the postal code, a large area west of Bridgend. Instead, I recommend following the hotel's verbal/website instructions. The staff were very polite and considerate, explaining that a wedding party would be underway at the time of staying and were happy to exchange the room for a quieter position for the first night and to move me to a larger room for the second night. Bedrooms are well furnished and spacious with evidence of tasteful refurbishment to a high standard. The dinner menu in the themed restaurant had a wide selection of Asian and western cuisine. Breakfast was served in a main reception room and again the menu included the usual selection of cold and hot fare.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are facing south and some are very spacious with foreign themed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and i'm glad you found us eventually. I am also glad we managed to give you a quieter room when we could. If we can, we will always try and make our guests stay a better one. We hope we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As a mature couple, we had a very pleasant 2 night stay with a Living Social deal, which made it extremely good value for money. The hotel is in a superb setting near Bridgend and wandering around the hotel and country lanes was very relaxing. The accommodation generally was good with an imposing entrance and attractive restaurant, ballroom and lounges. Our room 113 was large and cleverly decorated with expensive tiling and wallpaper and it had a superb ensuite shower with a digital multimedia mirror ! Although basically clean, the windows left a lot to be desired, but replacing them which is well overdue may be difficult in a listed building. Unusually for such a quintessentially English building, there is an Indian restaurant on site, Bokhara, which provided us with an excellent meal and a free bottle of wine on one evening. You can even see your meal being cooked in the open kitchen. All the staff we came across were friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble, and while the hotel may have seen better days, the owner has the opportunity to make this a really successful venture and we wish him all the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and thank you for your well wishes. After a well rounded review like yours, it makes us feel that all the work that we do is worthwhile but like yourselves we understand that is still work to do and we will carry on and i am sure next time you visit you will see that more changes will have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding for one night in August

Our room was lovely and spacious but with a very small television
Bathroom was stunning newly refurbished and to a very high standard

Bed comfortable and very big

Perfect setting for the wedding however not enough seats for ceromany which was a bit disappointing

Breakfast next day was served under a hot plate with food being brought out to top up supplies! Disappointing layout to breakfast and not very nice unfortunately

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your actual stay with us. Unfortunately we don't decide how many chairs we put out. We put the amount of chairs that the bride said she has invited. If this is a major problem it is probably best to take it up with the decision maker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed as part of a deal while in the area for one night. The rooms are a decent size and interestingly themed - Indian, Moroccan etc. - with reasonable fittings. However, the rooms looked in need of a little more care and attention - plugs not working, a bit dusty in places and so on. The worse aspect was the lack of air - no air con, and the broken sash windows couldn't be opened, which meant that after a warm night, we struggled to breathe and the window was completely steamed up in the morning.
Breakfast was fine, although the service seemed a bit erratic around the room - but we did get what we ordered in the end.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening, which was different. Although we had been led to believe there would be a Mediterranean menu as well as their standard Indian one, that didn't seem to exist, and we took the Indian buffet. What a delight !! Although the choice was limited, the standard was superb - one of the best curries any of us had ever had. The wine list however didn't match it - it needs a bit more attention if it wants to be seen as a restaurant - and the service was not very good, almost as though the staff weren't really sure what they were doing.

Would definitely go back for a curry - might opt to stay somewhere else without a deal, as full price would not have given good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. It seemed like you had a mixed stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again and we might be able to rectify the problems you had with us this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn bay
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I recently had the misfortune to stay at this hotel for two nights and as a person who has spent most of my working life in hotels, I can honestly say my first impression was that the location was super but the hotel had seen better days many moons ago.
Just few points that I observed ( by no way exhaustive, If I had the time I could say more) .
When we checked into the hotel, the card key system was not working and if we wanted to go back to our rooms later, we had to be escorted by the receptionist to let us in . The hotel was full and only one receptionist on duty, bordering on Fawlty Towers. ( No lift or porter) so we had to carry all of our bags up two floors. We got to the room along dark dirty corridor (some lights not working), dirty cutlery on the side of the stairs which stayed there for two days. In the room there was a pile of dirty towels. The wardrobe door only opened a quarter of the way, because the set of draws blocked any further opening. Layers of dust on the window frames, etc. However, the most shocking issue was that electrical extension leads had been fixed to the skirting board as fixed installation. This is what not such leads are designed for. I would think the local fire service would have something to say about such practices. Fire safety signage was poor in the hotel in general.
Outside at the front of the hotel there was a range of debris ranging from general litter to broken glass in the public areas. Taking that both weddings going on at that weekend had children running around this was less than good. None of this was cleared away during the time we were there. Staff cleared away empty glasses from the area so they would have seen the litter and glass.
At the foot of the main stairs somebody had spilt some drinks. I alerted the receptionist she said she knew about it, but carried on about her work. The spillage gradually soaked into the wooden floor.
The wedding function food was dire. The starter was poor but the main course was very poor the chicken breast was small and dried up and served up with out of the packet gravy. The vegetables was (badly)over cooked and roasted potatoes looked old and dried up.
The overall customer care was very poor and disappointing.
I could go on, but I think you have the a fairly clear picture of a hotel that has rested on the success of the past with no eye for the present or the future.
DP Wales

Room Tip: Think hard !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the hotel didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. One thing i can tell you is that the hotel and all the staff do not rest on the success of the past. On the contrary, the hotel is more successful than it has ever been and we are continuously improving the hotel to make it more succesful in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A lot of work and love needs to be put into not only this property but the business as well.

Staff

The staff are nice and friendly, don't get me wrong, but perhaps a little training wouldn't go astray. It may only seem to be the small things, but they add up. When we arrived the key cards weren't working, not the receptionist fault but somebody could have helped her show people to their rooms and help carry the bags up to the room, as there was a few elderly people in the party. This meant a wait to find out where and which room we were in.

One of the party didn't manage to get a room till an hour after check-in. Then their bed was broken! The hotel's response was to put a wardrobe door across the frame....laughable! The lady at the desk was asking us not to complain because she was getting upset and saying 'To be honest the man is busy', 'To be honest we are short staffed' and cutting me off mid sentence. Training on conflict resolution would be a good idea. e.g. 'How can I make it better for you? or what can I do to rectify this situation? or I'm sorry you feel that way' Simple answer would be to pay to put them up in another hotel if you are fully booked. Never let a customer go out of the door unhappy.

I came down to get some toothpaste, nobody at the desk. I believe they only have one night duty manager on. Asked him for some toothpaste, he was carrying a vacuum cleaner between rooms and from his body language I could tell he wanted to get on. I asked him if they had any, he hesitated for a split second said ummmmm and then no. I could tell that it was a lie and he just couldn't be bothered to look after a guest and go and get some. I came down in the morning and the lady on the desk was more than happy to get some....go figure.

During the serving of the wedding dinner, it seemed like a massive effort for them to smile! And they cleared away the hog roast without telling anyone.

All credit to the bar staff as they were nice and friendly

I would advise training on conflict resolution, courtesy, perhaps seeing if your staff are engaged with the business, never let a member of your team blame anything on being short staffed and have a look at the headcount of the business.

Room

Once in side the room (211), it smelt of cigarettes and the smell lingered all weekend even with the window open. The size of the room was OK, suitcase had to be unpacked on the bed as the floor space was not big enough. TV I would say is between 20-16" hung up on the way 3ft away from the bed, not really good for viewing. I will say that the pressure in the shower was great and really hot. A touch like coffee or tea in the room would have been nice for the morning.

Food

Breakfast, for £10 is really not worth it. Really cheap and horrible quality, the kind of breakfast you get on an aeroplane in economy class. If you can, get yourself to a local greasy spoon. The Indian restaurant however was nice, if the love, care and attention that has been shown into that was put into the hotel, then you might have a winner.

Grounds

The grounds are really nice, lovely and again have a lot of potential. But unkept, glasses on the table from the night before, smashed glass by the fountain not cleared (Health and Safety), it doesn't take one person 20 mins to do a sweep in the morning of the area. Rose arch, is just poles in the ground.

Come on man, take as much pride in the hotel as you do the restaurant!

Shame really as it has a lot of potential, but has just been left to almost degrade (not charm or character), would not be surprised to see this property on the hotel inspector soon, as it needs help before it losses a good reputations.

You were not available during the weekend to chat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanj b, Owner at Court Colman Manor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. You don't need to worry "man". We do take as much pride in the hotel as we do in the restaurant. We love both of them and so do most of our guests. We will continue to make improvements and hopefully if we are lucky we will avoid the hotel inspector.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Court Colman Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Colman Manor

Address: Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend CF31 4NG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Court Colman Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Court Colman Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Court Colman Manor Bridgend, Wales
Court Colman Manor Hotel Bridgend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Court Colman Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.