We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and First Class Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Wyndham Arms to your Saves list
The Wyndham Arms
Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Central and First Class Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a very warm welcome from the reception lady, who was chatty and friendly and escorted us to the room with a suitcase in each hand. Nothing was too much trouble it was like meeting an old friend.
we used the bar and restaurant , the meals were really good value and they have themed meals , we were fortunate to enjoy the Tuesday Steak club and the start of the Cider festival where they went to great lengths to create a good atmosphere with staff scarecrows and country bumpkins!
We enjoyed the convenience of being central and was pleasantly surprised that there was no noise whatsoever .
The room had everything we needed, the fan was an added bonus, clean , spacious and comfy chair and they even supplied a hospitality tray (not usually found when they sell food and drink in a hotel)
we were made to feel very welcome and i hope they realise what a treasure the lady is on reception who allowed us to leave our cases there as we were catching a late train.
we had 2 breakfasts large coffee and large fresh orange for less than £8..
we will be back!!! and thank you .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
What a kind and honest review, thank you very much. It is always wonderful to hear when our customers have enjoyed their stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that not only did the clean and comfortable accommodation makes your stay worth while, but also that our friendly staff added to your experience. Here at the Wyndham Arms we like to think of our guests as part of the family, and having such a small amount of staff within the hotel allows a truly homely experience for all our guests. Thank you also for your comments regarding cleanliness and the overall room quality, the housekeepers are often never seen and it is always a good boost for them to receive compliments about cleanliness.
We are glad that you enjoyed our Cider Festival antics, we like to make the most of any occasion, we are also pleased that you enjoyed your meals. We like to think of our food much like our rooms; high quality and low cost to the customers.
The noise is also a key issue which I am so pleased you commented on, being in the town centre and above a pub many people may assume that the hotel will be very noisy, although in fact it is not, and it is so reassuring to hear this from one of our guests! From all of us here at the Wyndham Arms, many thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    35
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
32
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We popped in for dinner one evening, found it was curry night so thought we'd take advantage of that. I had the lamb rogan josh - quite spicy but flavourless and it tasted as though the lamb had been cooked for a week. My partner had the chickpea and spinach curry which he did enjoy. Naan bread was not very nice at all. We ordered a starter to share and for some reason the starter and mains came together but I did think about it quick enough to say that we obviously wanted the starter before the mains. Certainly wouldn't return there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are sorry that you found aspects of your meals were not to the standards you would expect on this occassion, although I feel I must point out that we very rarely recieve complaints regarding our food and can only assume that this was a once off. All our meals are prepared fresh to order and our kitchen staff are highly trained, and again we can only assume that the problems with your meal were isolated and will not happen again. We understand that as with anything food is primarily down to an individuals taste and any negative experience can be off putting for future meals etc, although we would be very gratefull if you would consider giving us a second chance, in order that we can prove to you that our meals generally are of very high quality and that we rarely recieve complaints.
Once again may I appologise on behalf of myself and the staff for your negative experience and we really do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

july 6th called in 12.25 hrs for a snack when in bridgend,took a few mins to be served,ordered 2 ham eggs an chips,
on offer 2 for £6.25,was charged £8.38, didnt realise i had been over charged until i had left the pub, i will be very wary of their staff in future,apart from this episode the food was good,nice atmosphere,nicely decorated,bright rooms,there are not a lot of decent places to eat in bridgend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit. We try hard to provide good service and standards although we do sometimes make mistakes. I am sorry that you feel we have let you down on this occasion and I would like to personally apologise for any disappointment during your visit. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the appearance of the pub. I hope you will return in future and that this response has helped regain your faith in our business. Once again thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for giving us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Wyndham Arms the staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious and clean, well the whole hotel was clean. I will definitely be going back to stay at the hotel and have already recommended it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay, we are very happy to hear that you found the customer service and cleanliness were of high standards. It is always nice to hear when a customer has not only enjoyed their time with us, but that we as staff have helped towards making it a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I don't know why we didn't book here in the first place. Next time we will definately.
We stayed in a family room booked literally 20mins before check-in (see review of green acre if you want to know why). There were two adults, a 4 year old & a baby. The parking was only £2 overnight and a short easy walk over a bridge. The receptionist was very welcoming & friendly. He took us to our room & couldn't do enough to help us. The room was very spacious & comfortable with heating & a fan so you were ok in either extreme temperature. The bath/shower were nice and hot with good pressure & lovely smelling toiletries.
Everything in the room worked & was clean.
The bar underneath didn't disturb any of us.
Breakfast was downstairs and very reasonably priced with equally pleasant service to check in. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit. Here at the Wyndham Arms we pride ourselves on customer service, cleanliness and room quality, and we are pleased to find that you could not fault us on any of these aspects. Thank you also for commenting on how easy and convenient the parking arrangments were, we understand that not having an onsite car park can be daunting to some but it is good to hear that you did not have any problems and hopefully this can encourage any guests who may be worried about this. Again thank you so much for taking the time out to review your stay, we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Attended a family party and booked The Wyndham Arms for convenience and price. Room was a good size and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Stayed on a Saturday night so there was some noise from the street but not enough to bother us. Breakfast was excellent value for money. Downside, there was no where to park the car.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It is always good to hear when a customer has enjoyed their stay with us, and we appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review this. We are once again thrilled to hear that our room quality and staff were of good standard and made you feel welcomed. With regards to the noise we understand these can be off putting for some guests but we are very happy to hear that your stay was not disturbed by any noise. We understand that being a town centre location and being situed above a pub is daunting for some but it is always a huge bonus for us to know that these factors are not affecting our customers sleep quality and overall stay. Much like the issue with slight noise is our issue with parking, unfortunately we do not offer on site parking, although the nearest car park is very reasonably priced, secure and within easy reach of the hotel we understand that there is a slight inconvenience with this and would like to thank yourselves and all our guests for their understanding with this matter. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Another excellent stay in Bridgend. Lisa and her reception team never disappoint. Better service than many top class hotels. Brilliant value for money. Rooms always very clean. How refreshing to see staff that actually do want to go that extra mile and make a difference. Good town centre location with plenty of restaurants close by. However, you do not need to leave the hotel to enjoy a breakfast, lunch, dinner, or just a drink. Looking forward to our next stay. Allan & Margaret - Swansea

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa d, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind words. Myself and all the staff are very pleased to hear that we are living up to, and exceeding customer expectations, to hear that we may be on par with top class hotels is always a huge encouragement for us, and goes to show that all our hard work does pay off. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our room cleanliness, the housekeeping staff are often never seen but really do play a vital part in all our customers experiences and it is always good to see them recognised. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyndham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms

Address: Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN 2014 - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub! About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we're ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium. Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually. Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel. Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request. Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Wyndham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Bridgend, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.