We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - dont be put off by weekend revellers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Wyndham Arms to your Saves list
The Wyndham Arms
Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good value - dont be put off by weekend revellers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrived at around 10pm Saturday night to find the streets around the hotel full of 'revellers'. Overcoming my first inclination to keep the windows wound up and drive on I made it through the throng and up to the shuttered reception.desk.
The polite young guy there looked surprised when I asked for a quite room and told me that they rarely have complaints about noise.
Wow! Big surprise! My single room was just right!
Equal or better to a Premier Inn - but smaller. Nice firmish matress, a lovely feather duvet and big fluffy pillows. Nice furnishings. The bathroom was as expected with gallons of steaming hot water delivered at full blast.
I got a undisturbed nights sleep and if you dont mind the weekend partying nearby I can recommend the Wyndham Arms - which is a Weatherspoons pub.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and that you were not put off by our town centre location. Here at the Wyndham Arms we pride ourselves on the quality of our rooms and our excellent value for money, and it is always great to hear that our customers feel that we are providing them with affordable and comfortable accommodation.
Many thanks from all of us here at the Wyndham Arms, Bridgend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
32
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

As with most Weatherspoons, you get what you pay for, good value and no frills. Staff friendly and helpful, food good without being gourmet and rooms basic but clean and comfortable.

No problem with checking in, friendly. Room a decent size, bathroom clean, and bed comfy.
Had lunch, again good value, an added bonus for me was that there was a beer festival on, so enjoyed trying a few different beers at excellent prices.
Only problem with the bathroom was that the "flusher" on the toilet needed pumping vigorously to work. Then on Sunday morning, the kettle didn't work so we had to go without a cuppa.

Mentioned at checkout, and the receptionist was full of apologies.Unlikely we'll need to stay in Bridgend again,but if we do, then would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, please accept our apologise for the problems with the toilet and the kettle during your stay. Although our rooms are of high standards we understand that occasionally there are faults and we are pleased that overall your opinion was affected and that you would stay here again.
Here at the Wyndham Arms we like to think that our customer service, value for money and the excellent quality of our rooms provides for a good nights stay, and we are pleased that you felt the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was apprehensive about stopping at a wetherspoons expecting it to be noisy and possibly at a low standard. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and eventually warm once the wall heater got going. The bed was comfortable. I had to book a family room as it was the only room available and was asked if I wanted to have the 3rd bed taken out. I didn't think it was necessary and the room was large enough to take 3 beds. I was given 2 key cards so I could leave the heating on and had electricity, very useful for charging my iPad when out! On the day of departure I didn't have to start work until 2 and was able to keep the room on at no extra charge so I didn't have to 'walk the streets' from 11am.
Even if you are not a fan of wetherspoons the accommodation and staff are faultless.
I travel a lot with my job and stay in all sorts of hotels. This is as good as any other budget hotel if not better as the staff go beyond the call of duty.
My only criticism is completely out of the hotel's control and that is the road sweepers clean about 6.30 in the morning so for me no alarm needed! But considering the accommodation is above the pub you can't not hear the cliental at all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night last minute for just under £30. It was a Sunday so ate here as most restaurants seemed closed. The food was quick and of good quality. The staff were polite and check in was easy. The room was spotless. The ensuite was a little old looking but functional. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business.
Single room was terrific value.
Clean, tidy and well decorated.
My en suite was very small but functional.
Staff were excellent.
I ate downstairs in the pub and the food was good value although my medium steak was cremated.
Quickly sorted though.
I stayed with a room, evening meal with a drink, cooked breakfast and a pot of tea for under £40 which in this day and age is top value.
One thing to note is that Bridgend town centre is one of those bollard end off pedestrian precincts which means you can't get you car near, and I found a car park opposite the shopping centre a few hundred yards away.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Manager at The Wyndham Arms, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel. Here at the Wyndham Arms we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service skills, and our unbeatable value for money. We are happy to read that you have also picked up on these attributes and that you had a welcoming and enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for one night for valentines day .Fantastic price for under £30 .staff were very polite and helpful .food was fantastic and very reasonable .room was clean and pleasant .all in all will definately be back soon as the stay was great only let down by on arrival had to wait for a while to be let in and then had to go to the bar to find someone to check us in ,have noticed this in a few reviews so hopefully theyll correct this problem and it will be perfect .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went there for business and frankly was disappointed. My room was pretty small and the bathroom was tiny. The bed was ok, but a bit too firm for my taste. The pub downstairs is nice, the Eggs Benedict for breakfast was very good. The Ales are excellent. However, a big problem is that the rooms don't have wifi. That's a huge problem for me, being overseas and trying to work or Skype family.

I also had a problem with housekeeping that was pretty bad. But, I do have to say, the management was very responsive and apologetic and handled the situation very well. Having said that, it should NEVER have happened in the first place.

The location is ideal for me, being within walking distance to the office. Maybe it was just a bad first experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out about the room. From what I understand, each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyndham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms

Address: Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN 2014 - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub! About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we're ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium. Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually. Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel. Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request. Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Wyndham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Bridgend, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.