We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Wyndham Arms to your Saves list
The Wyndham Arms
Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel was so cheap to stay at I was amazed at how great it was! We had a family room, which was plenty big enough. Nice large TV for the kids and some extras such as a hair dryer and shower gel in the bathroom.
The hotel is in the middle of Bridgend and so there are a few shops and banks which is useful. The hotel has a separate entrance from the pub so you don't have to take the kids through the bar if you don't want to.
The pub itself is open from 7am so great for breakfast. Good value food as you always get in a Wetherspoons but really useful when travelling with a family.
Children have to be out of the bar at 8pm but they were happy for us to take drinks up to our room if we wanted to. The bar is actually open until 1am but we were not disturbed.
I could hear talking in the street below but being in the middle of a pedestrianised area you would expect this!
There is not a car park which would be the only negative point. However, there are other parking options that the hotel made us aware of.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and we all agreed that we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
33
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Quite small rooms, but ok for a nights stay. Right in the middle of Bridgend so good if you fancy a bit of a wander. The bar was open until 1am on the night we stayed but this didnt affect our sleeping, hardly any noise at all. Overall, a good clean hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Right in the middle if Bridgend town centre. It's in the pedestrianised zone, so you can't park near it, but you can bring your car into the zone (to unload and load) before 10am. The room was warm, clean and presentable. A little noisey on Saturday night, but you must expect this when the pub is right below you. The carpark that is recommended on the website is that of the local pub. If you're staying for 5 nights or over, don't park there. It's cheaper to get a weekly ticket in the local council car park across the road, which is actually closer to the hotel anyway. For the money, it was more than adequate. The Chicken Caesar Salad in the pub downstairs is to die for!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed in singled room, very small in need of a refurb aswell, had to ring hotel to get in as receptionist was at the bar! No wifi, but as i said in title only good if you need a bed for one night on business trip.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I booked through late rooms & got a great deal for a 1 night stay. The room was warm, clean & very comfortable. The bed was great. There was plenty of tea & coffee & even some lovely biscuits. The only issue was that the shower cubicle was small, we are not large people but it was impossible to have a shower without banging your elbows on the sides.
The receptionist was very firendly & efficient.
We arrived early so had a drink in the bar downstairs which has seen better days, I was very pleasantly surprised to find the rooms were a much higher standard.
Parking was not on site although that is fully explained on the website and very clear instruction is given as to where you can park & how to get there. The town centre itself was quiet, apart from workment taking down some scaffolding acroos the road at 8am on a Sunday morning but that is nothing to do with the hotel.
Very good value, it even would have been at the full weatherspoons price, & I will definately look to see which other towns Weatherspoons have hotels in next time I travel.

Room Tip: we had room 24 which was lovely apart from the tiny shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I booked for 7 nights through Laterooms.com and got pretty much half price which was amazing value - it's room only. This hotel is centrally located in Bridgend, but it's in a pedestrian zone so I had a bit of difficulty in finding the place. Basically, park in the carpark across the main road from Tesco (Brewery Lane) and then just walk across the footbridge into the square and you're there!

Like others, I had to go into the bar to get ito the hotel - the bar staff didn't inspire confidence, but once I got hold of the hotel staff things improved.

I had a twin room (No 22) which was comfortable, clean and warm. I had no problems whilst staying and found the staff very helpful.

As it's in the town centre, there was occasional drunken shouting outside, but it didn't last long.

The bus station and railway stations are each only a few minutes walk away. During shopping hours, plenty of shops in the shopping centre. There are a number of restaurants in the vicinity, all OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Rated poor value for money based on their normal rate. We booked through late rooms and paid half price so if looked at that rate then acceptable

Had to go to a very rowdy bar mid afternoon to find someone to let us in the hotel, then she tried to charge me full price rather than my booking price! Good job I had a copy of my booking email (another couple Queing had pre paid and she tried to charge them too and a little battle went on until she eventually realised that was the case)

Room small basic but clean. Awkward to get to the wardrobe area as bed table blocks part of it
Bathroom clean but cold
Heating for the room is a dimplex wall heater which only works if you leave the room key in the slot, so a good tip is to ensure you get two room keys

The hotel is across from the postoffice in the pedestrianised shopping area so conveniently located for our needs

Would not want to stay for more than one night and based on price would rather stay in a travel lodge as same feel!

Dissappointed especially as stayed in a fab wetherspoons in Birmingham last month

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyndham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Arms

Address: Dunraven Place, Bridgend CF31 1JE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED IN 2014 - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment. Come along and take a look at our new luxurious bedrooms, modern en-suits and homely pub! About Us - The Wyndham Arms Hotel has 26 individual bedrooms, all en-suite. All of our rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. Irons and travel cots available upon request. Laundry service for guests available, fees apply. Free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms and public areas. Location - We're ideally located in Bridgend which is perfect for both leisure and business. With easy access to both Cardiff and Swansea we're ideal for those attending events at The Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Motorpoint Arena or Swansea Liberty Stadium. Local Attractions - Famous for its Bridgend Designer Outlet, Glamorgan Heritage Coast and two nearby beaches. The hotel is a short drive from Porthcawl beach, a favourite with our guests, why not take the family for a day out or visit the famous Elvis Festival hosted in September annually. Transport - Cardiff and Swansea are easily accessible by public transport or by road. Just a 5 minute walk from the train station and bus station, both of which have regular direct transport to both cities. We're situated just a short drive from the M4 meaning both Cardiff and Swansea are within half hour's drive from the hotel. Car Parking - The Wyndham Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, however this does mean we have no onsite parking facilities. We recommend the Embassy Car Park which is just a short walk from the hotel. Please note that the Embassy Car Park is an attended car park. Rates can be found advertised at the pay point, and payment will be needed in advance. This car park has no height restrictions, perfect for vans. Directions can be given on request. Directions - Driving from the M4 junction 36, follow signs to Bridgend town centre on the A4061. Follow the A4061 to a large roundabout, continue straight towards the town centre. At the small roundabout turn left, first exit, and then immediately left into the Embassy car park. Walk across the foot bridge and continue straight, you will see The Wyndham Arms straight ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Wyndham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wyndham Arms Bridgend, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.