We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Inn

Star Inn
Treoes, Bridgend CF35 5DL, Wales
+44 1656 658458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 141 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We would like to wish you a warm welcome to The Star Inn..Now Voted as one of the Top Ten Pubs In Wales..We pride ourselves on delivering a great pub experience with good quality delicious food. Our menu is created to offer you a variety of options, also ask us about our specials of the day. Always advisable to book a table to avoid disappointment, Please ask about our Buffets, Christenings, Weddings, Funerals and any special occasion catered for. Also if we are fully booked why not try our new sister Pub , The Ivor Arms Brynsadler.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The food was lovely. The portions were a good size and very good value. The staff were helpful and friendly and our meals and drinks were very quick to arrive. The restaurant has been refurbished since I was here last and it is lovely and light and airy but still retaining that lovely country pub feel. I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    51
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Returned after a number of years to a pub/ restaurant now of excellent quality. All starters, main meals & desserts were superb & we all vowed to return soon. Mine host was excellent & despite being full, he took the time to greet us & explain in detail the content of the "specials". The young staff were equally polite & attentive. Prices were a little more than some establishments, but the value & experience could not be faulted. Diolch. www.thestartreoes.com T.01656 658458

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We absolutely love the recent refurbishment of the Star Inn. It feels fresh and spacious but still homely and most welcoming. I had heard that Sunday lunch was impressive and we were not disappointed today. Excellent value, friendly atmosphere, efficient staff and high quality delicious food. Make sure you are hungry, though because the portions are very generous! Thank you Mark for a gorgeous lunch; we will definitely return soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm Welcome- very good night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The whole experience from booking, to the welcome on arrival to the departure were all very personal and made the evening memorable
The feel of the inn/restaurant was cosy and relaxing but the attentive service of the staff set it apart from other establishments of the same ilk.
The food itself was very enjoyable and provided a marked variation to the norm
If you decide to plump for the pork scratchings with salad and apple chutney (as a starter) ensure your partner doesn't have anything interesting to say for those several minutes as the sound of the crispy crunch leaves conversation nigh on impossible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I had originally booked to go to an alternative restaurant for our anniversary meal, we were advised to go to the Star Inn and boy are we glad we took the advice!. The welcome was warm, friendly and professional. The food was gorgeous with exceptional attention to detail. I was very impressed by the locally sourced, high quality produce that had been cooked to perfection. We felt the service was great and food was very reasonably priced. We were so impressed that we booked to go back with friends the following Saturday. Thank you Mark, Pauline and the team at the Star Inn for a beautiful anniversary meal......see you Saturday!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Inn also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.