We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our purpose but wouldn't rush back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff to your Saves list
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   M4 Junction 36 Motorway | Sarn Park, Welcome Break Service Area, Bridgend CF32 9SY, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
northumberland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suited our purpose but wouldn't rush back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently stayed here for 1 night prior to competing in the wiggle dragon ride cycling event at the nearby margham country park. We were late booking accommodation and found everywhere unsurprisingly filling up quick, so it was a case of take what we could get. The hotel itself is what you would expect from a motorway services, a run of the mill clone of a 1000 other motorway hotels, which is fine, we weren't expecting the ritz! It was clean enough, the pull out bed, which my brother delighted in telling me half the night, was lumpy and uncomfortable, there was plenty of piping hot water blasting out off the shower which would have been tremendous had the shower head not been fixed at my eye level ( and I'm only 5'10") and the shower gel dispenser was empty! All of which I can happily laugh off but in a hotel which charged £80 for 2 people to stay 1 night I personally expect a bit better! ( I'm not certain but the price may have been hiked up a little due to the increased demand caused by nearly 5000 cyclists descending on the area)! On the plus side the room was large enough for us both to keep our bikes safe in overnight and the staff were happy for us to bring them in! And the location was ideal for our early start at margham park.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    23
    4
    11
See reviews for
28
31
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have never stayed at a Days Inn before, but if they're all the same I will definitely do so again. I had booked a 'twin' room through "Laterooms.com" but on arrival was given a double. This was great for me, as I was on my own, but could have been a problem for, say, two friends sharing. There was a pull-out sofa-bed though. The room was very spacious, with tv, hair-dryer and trouser press (does anyone actually use them?!). I went straight to the bathroom after our long journey, flushed the toilet and then realised I was paddling! Went to reception and the lovely receptionist didn't hesitate, just gave me the key to another room and offered to help move my bags. Haven't had better service in a 5* hotel. Didn't hear any traffic noise, but did keep the window shut. Crisp, clean white linen on the very comfortable bed. All in all, very impressed and only £35 for the night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The girl on the reception desk was very pleasant and helpful giving a good first impression. The room was a good size and quite well equipped - tea and coffee making facility, biscuits, hairdryer, flat screen television, good bedside lights, good size ensuite and great shower. There was no restaurant at the hotel but a continental breakfast could be ordered. There was a nice view from the window - a large lawn and woods beyond. However, the hotel is situated between a motorway and a dual carriageway and there is a lot of traffic noise. Also, it was not easy to find. I was looking for a sign saying 'Days Inn' but it only said 'Welcome Break' and I didn't realise this was the Days Inn. I thought at first the room was very clean but when I put my glasses on I saw that the bathroom was not very clean at all - dirt on the floor, especially behind the door, and the grout round the tiles was a bit mouldy. The rest was clean though. Unfortunately, I did not get a very good night's sleep due to the traffic noise, I live a quiet place so am unused to traffic noise at night. I also like to sleep with my bedroom window open but couldn't do at Days Inn because of the loud traffic noise.

Room Tip: The further away from the motorway the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed twice in the space of a month, once for a week then for one night. Both times rooms were very clean, breakfasts ok. Close enough to walk to the Mcarthur Glen outlet.

Nice and quiet hotel, not much noise from the adjacent motorway or service area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed early Feb 2013 for 2 nights with 2 rooms. All rooms were warm and clean, the beds comfortable and the staff very pleasant. (Quite a few light bulbs not working tho!). Does have one slight disadvantage, in that, other than continental breakfast, does not do food or drinks, but we knew that beforehand. Problem was that no one told the Sarn motorway services and they were limited and closed early and again don't do cooked breakfast, so we were informed. Would we stop there again, yes, but would also compare the rates for estabishments that could provide a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly welcome and room very clean and quiet with comfortable bed. You could walk over footbridge from back of hotel to outlet shopping, restaurants and cinema. Although it was right by the motorway there was no traffic noise at all in the room. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone wanting a good value decent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

my partner and i have stayed here a few times and will be booking again for the end of febuary.
we live about an hour and a half away and love to use the days inn bridgend for a few days getaway.The staff are always polite and so helpfull .The rooms are a great size and have everything you need and are always spotless.Very quiet location ensures a good nights sleep in the most comfy beds.We look forward to seeing you all again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff

Address: M4 Junction 36 Motorway | Sarn Park, Welcome Break Service Area, Bridgend CF32 9SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the M4 motorway, on the edge of Bridgend, the hotel offers free parking and free Wi-Fi. Bedrooms have deluxe Hypnos beds and 22-inch LCD flat-screen TVs with up to 100 channels. The Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff makes a great stop-off point whether you are visiting Cardiff or Swansea, or travelling to anywhere in the South Wales area or even Ireland. The hotel offers spacious and comfortable over-size rooms at great-value rates. All rooms have en suite bath and shower facilities. Next to the hotel are Burger King and a Coffee Primo lounge, along with cash machines and a Game Zone. The McArthur Glen designer shopping outlet is also adjacent to the hotel. The hotel offers free parking and is AA 'Approved and AA Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff Hotel Bridgend
Bridgend Days Inn
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.