We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Great House Hotel to your Saves list
The Great House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Laleston, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bridgend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
811 helpful votes 811 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We went to our grandsons christening at the great house, and had their afternoon tea. What a wonderful spread, the price was good around £12.00 but was certainly good value.
The occasion was wonderful and the staff couldn't have been better.
Thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Manager at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We serve afternoon tea every day of the week if you would like to come back again with a friend. hope to see you at the Great House again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    28
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
28
49
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic lunch at the Great House. The standard of food and service was excellent. Highly recommend the piri piri scallops as a starter and the great house burger and fish with triple cooked chips for mains. This is no 'ordinary' burger or fish and chips; this is lunch great house style and it's fantastic! 10/10, we'll be back again soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks! We are glad you had such an enjoyable afternoon with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The Sunday lunch was fantastic. Starters, mains and desert which were all home cooked.The service was first class. The staff couldn't do enough for you. I will defiantly be returning and recommending.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband had stayed here several times when visiting family and likes it hugely, but this was my first visit - and I was extremely impressed. It is a truly beautiful 15th Century stone building with a glorious garden and outside seating area and the interior more than lives up to the first impression. Beautiful ancient features have been preserved and combined with elegant decor and comfortable furnishings. The restaurant is wonderful - superb colour scheme, lovely furnishings and delicious locally sourced food. Rather too generous portions for me, but great for the very hungry. Our bedroom was delightful (apparently it has also been occupied by Prince Charles!) and I had the best night's sleep I've had for months. All the staff were brilliant - efficient and very friendly. A marvellous find in South Wales and thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Wow! What a great review. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We hosted our daughter's wedding at The Great House this week and we could not have been more pleased with every aspect of the venue. It has a great reputation for food and from the delicious and plentiful canapes through to the beautifully presented evening buffet it lived up to that reputation. Every member of staff in reception, the restaurant and housekeeping was extremely courteous, efficient and helpful but never intrusive. They seemed genuinely pleased to be part of the occasion and are a huge asset. The transformation of the great hall from civil-ceremony venue to dining room to evening disco was all undertaken seamlessly and every attention to detail was paid in its immaculate presentation in each role. All the rooms were beautifully decorated and well equipped: ancient windows and beams give rooms in the older part of the house a particular charm. I would thoroughly recommend this venue and already want to book an anniversary cream tea for next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for the review! See you for the anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My niece was married at the above venue yesterday and 14 of us arrived the night before the wedding for a family meal. From the offset the occasion felt like a very well organised party at a private country house, our room was luxurious even though it was one of their smaller rooms. The staff are friendly, fun and very efficient. The food was excellent, interesting, well presented and beautifully cooked. We couldn't have enjoyed a better time and we will definitely visit The Great House again. Worth noting it is only 10 minutes drive from the M4 on a quiet exit a good place to lunch and relax mid journey.

Room Tip: They are different and all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for the review. It was a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This may seem a long review but if you want an honest opinion you'll read

The welcome was second to none the young lady who served us all last night was polite Courteous and brought over our drinks and menus took my coat and lit the fire the atmosphere was just perfect decor was fab too

We got seated in the restaurant and hubby and I were amazed how beautifully set out and clean it was
The food itself was well worth it venison was fresh and the red lentil/tomato soup very tasty
Rib eye was cooked perfectly and the pork tenderloin was so juicy and full of flavour garlic mash was perfect.lemon tart dessert looked beautiful as did all the food
After our dinner we went back into the pub side,pub actually sounds common so lounge is more appropriate I think very homely feel just to relax and have a drink

My hubby is from the north and not fond of bridgend but we've found a very rare diamond on our doorstep and will definitely be returning and are considering having our wedding there too

Can't wait to go back beautiful place fantastic staff and service
Keep it local and go to the great house you will not be disappointed

Thank you the Duffs

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse, Owner at The Great House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for thaking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great House Hotel

Address: Laleston, Bridgend CF32 0HP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
#3 Business Hotel in Bridgend
#4 Family Hotel in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great House Hotel is a beautiful grade II* listed building originating from around 1550 and is believed to have been a gift from HRH Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester who used it as a hunting lodge. Located in the pretty conservation village of Laleston, it is just 10 minutes from the seaside town of Porthcawl and 25 minutes equidistant between Cardiff and Swansea.A unique blend of historic original features contribute to The Great House's mature, dignified character - the flagstone floors, oak beams, inglenook fireplaces, mullioned windows, stone archways and dovecote in the south wall combine with modern excellent facilities, services and friendliness. Our aim is to make your stay with us relaxing and enjoyable. We want you to unwind and to feel at home here, whether you choose to read a book or dine in at Leicester's our 2 AA rosette restaurant, The Great House offers the perfect location to enjoy a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Great House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Hotel
The Great House Hotel Bridgend, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.