We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn Guest House

The New Inn Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The New Inn Guest House to your Saves list
The New Inn Guest House
113 Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF31 3LN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Bridgend B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spotless and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Owner Robert is welcoming, very friendly and hard working, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless, and well maintained. The towels, bath mats and sheets are brilliant white and soft, attention to detail is spot on !!!!!!. I would recommended this guest house highly, far better than a travel lodge, premiere inn, days inn. great find , will be staying there again on my next trip to sunny Wales when visiting family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was just an overnight stop chosen because it was pet friendly. It was very good. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. Continental breakfast served in property across the road! Good selection of cereals, crossants, ham, cheese, fruit juice and all for a very reasonable price. The host was also very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Bridgend was really just a pit stop for me, a town with the closest accommodation to my tour the following day. Even though it turns out I could have just stayed overnight in Cardiff, I am happy I popped in here. I arrived late in the evening and gave the proprietor a call from the bus station as per his request, to ensure someone would be there to greet me. The guesthouse was short taxi ride from the bus station. I am accustomed to walking to my destinations from bus stations so that was an unexpected expense, but that is my own fault for not looking into that... and the taxi driver was also a friendly fellow anyhow!

I did not know that this guesthouse is actually in 2 parts - so when I was dropped off I wandered to the reception area only to find it locked and empty. I was about to call back when I saw the proprietor standing out on the sidewalk. I actually had a room in the small house across the road. I was given a quick rundown on the keys and breakfast, and then left to my own.The room was very clean, comfy and warm. It was also quite big! Perhaps with slow bookings, I believe I had been given a larger room than what I paid for, which, after coming from a crowded 18-person dorm in a Cardiff hostel the night before, was very welcome. The small quibble is that the place is located on the fringes of the town - again, my own problem for not looking this up - but not really any nearby options to go have a dinner or a pint. Also, no maps in the brochure rack at the guesthouse, so make sure, if you don't have a vehicle, that you stock up on evening snacks before heading over, and make sure you have your bearings! As it was, I picked a direction and hoped for the best to find a small convenience store to pick up some snacks and drinks before settling in for a super relaxing night in a fluffy bed in this lovely room.

Breakfast in the morning was also lovely with attentive service and a very nice selection of food. The proprietor is extremely friendly and seems very interested in everyone's travel stories. Check out was easy/non-existent, just leave your keys on the dresser in the room when you leave. Lovely stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Bridgend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My friend and I were having our Christmas party at a near by hotel, but the hotel was full so we chose the new inn because it was very close by. My only quibble is that we didn't actually stay in the new inn guest house itself, we were housed in an ordinary house opposite. The accommodation was warm, clean and spacious and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Robert the proprietor gave us a very warm welcome and was a very welcoming host and it was a pleasure to talk to him over breakfast. I just would have liked to stay at the inn or at least be told that I'd be accommodated else where. My overall experience was a good one.

Room Tip: Find out where you'll be staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

3 of us stayed for a couple of nights. En suite, nice clean bathroom & towels, Wi fi, tv, hairdryer, tea & coffee refilled next day even biscuits. Host very friendly & welcoming even accommodated our little dog which was fantastic. you have to cross the road to their breakfast building which is worth it for the excellent service you receive from Rob. Plenty of choice for a continental style breakfast but you do get table service. Our dog particularly enjoyed the ham and toast! £75 each for the 2 nights including breakfast makes this a top marks budget guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good, well run property. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Free wifi.Good Breakfast Good location and easy to find. Plenty of parking and easy to find. Godd Welsh warm welcome. Very good value for money overall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room exceeded expectations, clean bright well lit, user friendly shower, wi fi, and an empty fridge. The continental breakfast was generous with an excellent selection, fruit, yoghurt, a selection of tolls and cakes, ham and cheese, much more than most budget deals, and included in the price. plenty of parking. Its a main road location, very easy to find, but there is some traffic noise.

Room Tip: The easiest parking and the breakfast room are in the right hand converted house across the road fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Inn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn Guest House

Address: 113 Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF31 3LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The New Inn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Guest House Bridgend, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.