We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good atmoshere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill - Harvester

The Old Mill - Harvester
Felindre | Pencoed, Bridgend CF35 5HU, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 141 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: $25 - $33
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
bridgend
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmoshere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Haven't been to the Harvester for a while, however each time I have been I have enjoyed the visit. The food is excellent and friendly staff. I do tend to overfill my plate from the salad cart, before the main meal! Parking is good

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    36
    25
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
llantrisant
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“don,t expect too much from here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Last visit was not up to their usual standard, service,food and general atmosphere has been better in the past.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llantrisant
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Give it a big miss on Sunday evenings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We often eat at The Old Mill twice a month on average for a fish & chip meal,we have always found the staff pleasant and helpfull,the meals hot and the salad bar always kept replenished.
It was decided to eat here as a family birthday treat but as they do not take bookings we had to take our chances,however one of our party uses a wheelchair so we required a little more space.
Having waited 1/2 hour to called to our table we were placed next to the salad bar with constant traffic(including ill behaved unescorted children) past our table.Then things really went downhill.
1) The salad bar held only nearly empty trays and badly needed replenishing as did the bread baskets.This was eventually done with much banging of trays by a most disinterested looking staff member.
2) We had to wait a little while for our food (which was of an indifferant standard) but the 5 remaining used salad dishes were left on the table although they had been stacked by us for removal.
3) It was only after finishing our meals that the table was cleared completely.
4) Not once were we asked if our meals were satisfactory or was everything "OK"
5) Staff however were prompt in tendering our bill,and to be honest I consisered not leaving a gratuity for the first time ever.
I was very very disappointed with this visit and it will be quite a while before we will be returning again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencoed
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We regularly dine here as a family, the meals are always lovely, nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the salad bar is fresh and delicious ...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Do Not be fooled by the Major Brand Name - Harvesters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

For those of you who have eaten at some Harvester venues before and like me found them more of a fast food --- factory environement. Then I would encourage you to visit the Old Meal. True it has the brand name, true it has the same menu, but that is where it stops, the food is cokked to perfection. The staff are friendly and helpful I never felt that I needed to rush my food as there were lots of other people waitin for the tabl e you were sat at.
Having eaten at quite a few Harvesters in South Wales I have found this one to be the best... Whatever the maangement are doing they are doing it right.. Thanks
Do not just take my word for it ... try it yourself.
One small complaint, the approach road has a number of large pot holes in it which really need to be avoided especially when driving on it in wet weather. Hopefully someone somewhere will read this and get them filled in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill - Harvester also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Old Mill - Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill - Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.