We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sgwd yr Eira

Sgwd yr Eira
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a lovely long walk, which our 10 year old son managed perfectly as well. We went with my late husband as he was very into his photography. This walk is a must for everyone, some of our most treasured photo's were taken on this walk. It holds fantastic memories for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great walk - great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a 5 hour walk around this area. Saw plenty of incredible waterfalls and enjoyed a greart day out with friends. We stopped at the Angel Inn at the end for a refreshing pint. Sadly the pub had stopped serving food by 4:45pm though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is not to be missed if coming to south wales on a decent trip or living in the area and have not ventured to these parts before. You will become hooked for sure! There are two different approaches or routes to get to the falls and together create an excellent circular route if you have the time. The paths are good and decent footwear is a must. I am led to believe this is where one of the scenes from 'Robin Hood Prince of Thieves' was filmed i.e. behind the waterfall itself. Do take a picnic and drinks to enable your trip to go smoothly.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely walk on good paths and the signs were nice and clear. The waterfalls in the area are really beautiful and it's great to get behind the falls

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were there with some friends just to the adventure! So we didn't have a clear plan. Although it was quite easy to find a good parking and start our ride.

Get ready to walk a lot!! Eventhough there's possible to park very close to the best falls, but we were very far.

Anyway it worth the ride, no doubts! It's easy to get lost, so mind your way to find your way back, afterwards.

It only started raining on the way back and we're not prepared for it.

The falls are beautiful!! An if you're in a good shape, you can enjoy going closer to it!! We definitely recommend it and would very likely go back to do another route!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sgwd yr Eira also viewed

Brecon Beacons National Park, Powys
Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon Beacons National Park, Powys
Pontneddfechan, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Sgwd yr Eira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sgwd yr Eira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.