We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Felin Glais

Felin Glais
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Felin Glais
Save
You added Felin Glais to your Saves list
Aberyscir, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 9NP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful little B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Felin Glais during a trip to Wales for my birthday. We were greeted by Chris and Dave, who are fantastic hosts and ensured that were were comfortable and well looked after throughout our stay. We stayed in the larger room complete with enormous bed, jacuzzi bath and beautiful views of the Beacons, which we found to be well stocked and spotlessly clean; the perfect place to retire to after a long walk in the local area and a hearty evening meal! We both agreed that the locally-sourced breakfast the following morning was the best fry-up either of us had ever had, and we didn't bother with lunch that day as we were still full! Overall I would highly recommend Felin Glais for anyone looking for a pretty, quiet hideaway in the Welsh countryside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed there with my family and we had such an amazing time! Chris and Dave are just lovely. The B&B was wonderful, it was very clean and comfortable. The garden is so beautiful! I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Wales.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west london
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Felines Glais is a bit off the beaten track but well worth it. Chris and Dave are wonderful hosts and will do anything to ensure your comfort. We stayed here for three nights. The room was massive with TV, radio, three piece suite, a massive bed, loads of luxurious pillows and a beautiful quilt. We had a wonderful bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi and two sinks, one each! Plenty of towels are supplied, Shower gel, bath gel, soap,shampoo and conditioner all supplied. We had Tea making equipment with very nice quality China, which makes a difference. As we were taken into the room and shown this I asked if they could supply decaffeinated tea, we had a box within about 30 seconds! Out of both our windows there were birdfeeders on which we saw countless blue tits, robins, Long tailed tits and a pheasant hen removing the fallen seed from the ground. We had a marvellous view of Pen Y Fen from our window. The room was lovely and warm. Lighting very good. A lot of planning has gone into this place.
Now, breakfast. We ate in the enormous kitchen at a Large wooden table. Behind me was a glass doored fridge in which there was a large variety of fruits, melon, pineapple, blueberries, strawberries, fruit juice, grapefruit halves. We were able to help ourselves to as much of this as we wanted. We were then given a beautiful fried Breakfast set up on a large platter so that we could help ourselves onto our own warm plates. This consisted of bacon, eggs, black pudding, white pudding, fried tomatoes and mushrooms, hash brown and fried potatoes. A side dish of baked beans was provided. Along with this we had an enormous Pot of tea which could be refilled as much as we wanted and We were given toast at the end. We have stayed in many bed-and-breakfast up and down the country and this is undoubtedly the best breakfast We have ever had including quality and quantity. This is the first time we have been able to have all five portions of our daily fruit and veg at one meal!
Chris and Dave nearly fell over Themselves trying to give us help and advice on the surrounding area. We were given maps and plenty of information.
I've tried hard to think of something negative to say but cannot think of anything!
Thanks to Chris, Dave and Mahler the dog for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had the room with the jacuzzi. It's massive, great views, extremely reasonable, worth the (ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wonderful warm reception from Chris and Dave. Beautiful location, room very comfortable and lots of nice extra and thoughtful touches. Very clean and peaceful. Cooked breakfast fantastic. Would definitely recommend and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Wonderful warm reception from Chris and Dave. Beautiful location, room very comfortable and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Felm Glais for the first time for 2 nights in Oct 2013. We had a very welcoming and warm reception, the hosts Chris and Dave are lovely people. Our room had a excellent view, we have stayed at B&B’s before but this one was the best we have ever stayed in, we would recommend staying here, a little out the way, but worth the extra journey. The house has a warm and relaxing atmosphere and the hosts are always happy to help, the breakfast is better than some 5* hotels we have stayed in. We would 100% becoming again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at Felin Glais and would echo comments about the friendly welcome received.
The bedrooms are spacious with comfortable seating areas in the bedrooms. The rooms come equipped with bathrobes as well.
Breakfasts are served in the kitchen with a self-service buffet including a wide variety of home made jam and marmalade and a full cooked breakfast which certainly sets you up for the day if you are going off walking.
We were lent local maps and information about possible walks and activities.
Felin Glais is a few miles outside Brecon so convenient for facilities and restaurants in Brecon and within easy reach of the Brecon Beacons for walks there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our dog and were made extremely welcome by David and Chris. The house was in a great position to explore the nearby mountains. David lent us maps and recommended a great walk up Corn Du and Pen y Fan along with a selection of dog friendly eateries. Breakfasts are something out of this world with lots of choice of excellent jams and home baked bread, yogurts and a full Welsh cooked breakfast. Our room was really big and comfortable with a large seating area, and was very clean. I didn't really rate the jacuzzi bath but there was also a separate shower. We would definitely stay here again if we holiday in Brecon again. Booking was very straight forward and stress free with only an e mail needed to secure the booking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Felin Glais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felin Glais

Address: Aberyscir, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 9NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Felin Glais Brecon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Felin Glais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.