We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle of Brecon

Save Saved
You added Castle of Brecon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Castle of Brecon
The Castle Square, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 9DB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Brecon
Newbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked a room through laterooms £80 for the night..room was nice room 27 bit small...went to the bar in the evening..could do with a few more seats ...we had a good night sleep..stayed the next day for Sunday lunch..£16 for a two course dinner which my partner said was the best Sunday lunch he'd ever had .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    70
    20
    14
    13
See reviews for
36
90
1
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good value accommadation, excellent footd. We went for the four poster room which was excellent. The room has views to the mountains.The only down point that not all the windows opened so it was a little stuffy at night. This is just my personal opinion and should not reflect badly on the hotel as it was the hottest weekend of the year so far, 20c+!!!

Room Tip: Go for the four poster room, Lots of space and excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel in Brecon and it created a comfortable stay with beautiful views from our bedroom and the dining areas. The food was very good and the staff efficient and friendly. There was quite an unpleasant smell of fried foods in the corridors outside our upstairs bedroom which we often experience in these older hotels. Otherwise we would recommend this happily to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W.A.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a good hotel for an overnight stay - we were en route to Mid Wales. We had a standard room at the front of the hotel - it was plenty large enough for us and cases, a large double bed, large en suite, and quiet. The location is good , just a two minute walk into town and to the river and the view across the river Usk is good. The food for dinner and breakfast is ok. There is adequate free parking out the front of the hotel and free WiFi, which is good. This is value for money , and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good hotel. The room was a bit dated but very clean and the food was lovely. Free wi-fi which is always good when away with work. Brilliant views from the hotel. Easy free parking outside the hotel. I have stayed here previously and would again if staying away with work

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Arrived in Brecon very late in the night, to find a wonderful hotel with possibly the best ever staff working there we have ever come across. Thank you to all of you, especially Chris at the Bar. Lovely room, such a comfortable bed - and the full English breakfast is amazing!!! Booked again for the Jazz Festival and this one is definitely the best ever hotel. Just can't praise it enough!!!

Room Tip: Just book a room - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent an enjoyable weekend at the Castle Hotel, Brecon on 2nd March to celebrate our daughter's 'Special Birthday' and Wedding.

This delightful old hotel is in a lovely setting on the edge of Brecon town, overlooking the river and Brecon Beacons.

Our daughter married on her birthday on 26th February. The party for both events was held the following weekend at The Castle of Brecon.

The organisation of the event was faultless and the food excellent. The staff were friendly and quietly helpful, and nothing too much trouble. The catering was spot-on in serving the hot buffet for 180 guests. - We had our doubts about how this would work, but it all went very well.

The main entertainment was 'Elvis from Merthyr' - he was very good and would have been even better if the backing music had been tuned properly and not so loud. The other live entertainment planned was to be a popular local band, but unfortunately they had to cancel as they were minus two of their group. We therefore had the inevitable 'disco' - which of course was too loud for us old-uns who evaccuated to the bar to get away from it so that we could talk and enjoy one anothers company..

Breakfast the following morning, also excellent.

The only 'downsides' of the stay were small issues, and nothing to spoil the event itself: -They were such as:

*Our 'upgraded' room was disappointing as it was very small with rickety flooring. - The only place we have stayed where a glass of water slides off the bedside cabinet!
There were no long mirrors in the room.

*The bath was slippery - Why oh why do hotels install such hazardous baths when they 'upgrade' their rooms? .What is wrong with having baths like those on cruise ships with a level none-slip base and not very high sides to them?

*The frosty 'events organiser' told us that "we were getting a v ery good deal for this event" - I would say that they had a very good deal by the amount that we saw being spent over the bar and as the hotel was filled with guests stopping over (and at the beginning of March when it was still very wintery). I doubt it would be full usually at that time of year. I also feel that as parents of the bride, we should have been offered a better room. After all, we did bring good business to the hotel that evening. But as I said, the hotel was fully booked.

* The disco went on for longer than arranged and annoyed some of our guests.

Nevertheless, a good time was had by all and we were given a night to remember - a great party.

I think that when we visit Brecon in future, we will enjoy having a meal at the Castle. It will be lovely in summer when we can sit outside and admire the view.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over the main function room on a Saturday night. I don't know what other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle of Brecon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle of Brecon

Also Known As:
Castle Of Brecon Hotel Brecon
Castle Of Brecon Hotel
Castle Hotel Brecon
Castle Of Brecon Wales
Address: The Castle Square, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 9DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castle of Brecon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle of Brecon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.