We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honey Cafe

Honey Cafe
Bronllys | LD3 0LH, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD30LH, Wales
01874 711904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 56 Restaurants in Brecon
Cuisines: Mexican, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Worth stopping by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Extensive menu but we only wanted a sandwich. Very well filled toasted sandwiches on excellent granary bread with salad garnish and crisps. Good coffee. Nice service. Clean modern loos. Desserts in cabinet looked very tempting but couldn't be justified unfortunately! Would certainly call in again if in the area. Plenty of easy parking.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Food consistently good, service consistently slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We ate at the Honey Cafe on a Saturday evening and booked a late table to hopefully avoid it being busy. When we arrived it was fairly busy but not crazy. We still had to wait almost 20 minutes to order any drinks or food. Do they not realise that if service is so slow, this means that fewer drinks are bought by each table, hence affecting their potential profit? The Ribs were good and the Prawn Fajitas were also good., just wish they would sort out the snail pace service overall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to eat. Anytime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have visited The Honey Cafe on a number of occasions and just today took a fortyfive mile drive there for lunch. As ever the staff, all young girls, were helpful and pleasant. Today was particularly busy but the service and the food were both very good. I would say that if you're ever passing, or in the area, stop off and treat yourself. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We love this place - amazing location, delicious food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I visit the Honey Cafe about 6 times a year, normally for breakfast or dinner. The cooked breakfast really is the best in the area and such good value, we went back this half term taking our daughter and her friend.

Both my daughter and I only like certain items on the cooked breakfast but swapping things around is never an issue, when we ask for 2 eggs instead of having baked beans it is no problem at all (in fact, this time we went the waitress remembered that my daughter likes her eggs with no wobbly white bits - even though we do not know the waitress at all, only to say hello to when we visit), when we have been the staff have always been polite and courteous and do their job well. My husband drinks coffee, I drink tea and we are always served with fresh milk in a jug, we have certainly never been offered UHT. I once spoke with the owners who confirmed that wherever possible they use produce sourced locally, which is one of the reasons we like to go there, because they support the local community which is so important these days.

On our recent visit we noticed they have changed and updated the menu with new additions as well as offering more child meals, this is just perfect for us because we are paying less when we go there. The food is so delicious we were happy to pay for an adult breakfast for our daughter and her friends, but now we can pay for child portions which is an added bonus.

They must be doing something right at the Honey Cafe because whenever we do go it is packed out. Unlike the previous reviewer our food has always arrived in a timely manner and is piping hot (good job, because my husband is one of those who cannot eat a meal if it is luke warm). All I can say is that the previous reviewer must have been having a bad day! because like most of the other reviewers on Trip Advisor, we rate this establishment very highly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location - disappointing service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here several times, usually with the family. Friendliness of the staff certainly depends on who is working! I have always found them polite, but usually lacking warmth and friendliness - feels like they've learned their lines rather than genuine concern for your comfort and enjoyment.
The food is usually good, and the portions appear generous. However, when you eat with children, and realise that your food is crammed on to a plate the same size as theirs, you realise they're not actually that generous at all! The plates are smaller than an average family dinner plate, and just slightly larger than a side plate.
Service can take a long time..whether busy or not, and food is not always hot. Hot drinks other than latte/cappuccino style drinks are served with those very annoying little pots of UHT milk, and there's a lot of huffing and puffing if you ask for fresh.
It can be very nice if you get the right staff and can forgive the small plates and UHT milk, but it's very hit and miss!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Cafe also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.