We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAMPING HOW IT SHOULD BE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Priory Mill Farm Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priory Mill Farm Campsite
Hay Road, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7SR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty lodging in Brecon
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CAMPING HOW IT SHOULD BE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Great setting by the river & Friendly,helpful campsite owners,
Fire trays/Bbq's supplied free of charge & localy sourced welsh charcoal for sale £6 a bag, fire wood £5 a sack.10 mins walk from Brecon town center.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Things that we loved at Priory Mill
1-The fire pit. Camping isn't camping without a fire.
2-Small idealic site-beautiful.
3-The cleanest bathrooms!!!
4- The stars.
5- Moss (the dog) made my children smile.
Very chilled and relaxed small site. Great ethos not to over crowd. Well thought through with nice touches. We didn't want to leave.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from a great 3 night stay here. We were very impressed with the location, right next to the river. We loved the chickens that were free to roam! There was plenty of space to choose where to pitch our tent. A big bonus of this campsite is that they allow camp fires and you can help yourself to fire pits and log seats. The toilet block was always kept clean. There was sometimes a wait for the showers in the morning as there are only two, and you pay 50p for 4 minutes. One thing I would have liked- hand towels or a drier in the toilet block to dry hands on. Lights get turned off at 10:30pm, so take a torch! If visiting this area of Wales again we would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

just returned from brecon jazz festival , stayed here for 3 nights . lovely little campsite and not over crowded . showers and toilets were always clean . there's a freezer for you to put ice blocks in and only 5 min walk into brecon which was perfect . no complaints at all and would definetly return here , many thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Arrived on Sunday 3rd June for a 3 night stay with 3 friends - all keen to explore Brecon and the Beacons. Really friendly and warm greeting from Susie and Noel, who explained where everything we needed was, the local town and where to walk etc. Very cute dog (Moss!?) also there to welcome us!
Campsite is in idyllic relaxing surroundings - lovely river Honddu running alongside, which is all you can hear at night, and surrounded by tall trees keeping the wind at bay!
It's only a five-ten minute walk into Brecon, and we found the Geroge Hotel to do good beer and food which is probably the closest pub to the campsite. There is also a local Morrisons not more than 10 mins walk into town to buy all food stuff from - locally produced coal and firewood are supplied (for a small fee) on the campsite, along with the fire pits, which is an excellent idea - so many campsites do not allow fires, so it's lovely to see everyone cooking in an evening outside the tents! Showers worked perfectly, and all kept very clean, along with a small shed offering books (take one and leave one), and a very well organised re-cycling centre.
Perfectly based too for a short drive to the Beacon's, or a slightly longer walk.
Fantastic spot, all enjoyed thoroughly, and will be back soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Priory mill farm campsite is a really good place to stay if you are looking for a picturesque, simple, and relaxing stay in the brecon beacons. The only sound you can hear is the river flowing and the birds singing. Everything is thought of, from a proper camp fire to little tree stump stools to sit on. The shower and toilet facilities are lovely and clean and more than adequate. It is a very environmentally friendly place and recycling is encouraged. The owners are very friendly and helpful and even the little dog moss greeted us on arrival. I can't rate this camping experience highly enough. Loved the chickens roaming freely and the fact that my dogs were very welcome. Love this place did not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was a fantastic little campsite! Set on a little farm right next to a river. Stunning!
The site was large given the number of campers, and I think the owners limit the number of campers according to car parking - no cars allowed on the grass. So the site won't ever be over crowded.

We had plenty of space and the ground was easy to pitch upon. You can use their free fire pits, to keep the ground fresh and log seats if you don't have your own. Great little hut equipped with a freezer for everyone to freeze their ice packs.

The shower block was rustic and pristine. Only downside was the cold water for washing your dishes - hardly the end of the world.

I particularly loved the eco-friendly aspect of the site, with recycling facilities and solar power. They also sold their own eggs (from the free running chickens) and locally sourced charcoal.

Brecon town was a 10 minute walk along the river, with plenty of little pubs and cute shops.

Had such a fantastic bank holiday! Highly recommended.

*The bad review below is unfair. The owners were sooooo friendly and the site is not directly on a busy road. It's hidden down a little hill off a road that isn't even a B road.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in advance as it is not a massive campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Priory Mill Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Mill Farm Campsite

Address: Hay Road, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty lodging in Brecon
Also Known As:
Priory Mill Farm Campsite Brecon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priory Mill Farm Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Priory Mill Farm Campsite to your Saves list