We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Idyllic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Newydd B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Newydd B & B
Save
You added Ty Newydd B & B to your Saves list
Llanfrynach, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7LJ , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Idyllic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to the mountains of South Wales, near Brecon, for a five day break, last week, having made our reservation without much prior knowledge of the location. When we reached the B&B, it was immediately obvious we had been extremely lucky in our relatively blind choice. The location was idyllic, in the middle of the wide valley of the river Usk, with the Brecon canal just ouside the property, and the possibility of hiring craft from the local marina. The room was very comfortable, and exceptionally clean. The breakfast on offer prepared to your specifications from the wide choice available. The B&B also has excellent internet access. Suggested walks are availble in diagram form, with instructions on how to find the initial path, and OS maps are also available. All in all, avery good choice!

Room Tip: All of them excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I’m reluctant to submit the glowing review that this B&B deserves, because I fear I’ll be unable to secure a room next year if everybody else discovers this wonderful rustic retreat. My fourth trip to Ty Newydd in two years was met with a warm welcome as always. The rooms are bright, spacious, and well proportioned, and the full Welsh breakfast worthy of the most discerning gourmet. Overlooking the canal, and a short walk from two superb pubs – by winding road or leafy towpath – the location cannot be faulted. My thanks to Sid and Rachel for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Having stayed in three of the four rooms, I don't think any of them will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I particularly liked the design and style of the place - large white rooms, large windows that let the countryside, large comfortable beds. No fuss or chintz that sometimes characterises British B&Bs. The Welsh breakfast was excellent, the range of options at breakfast was excellent. I felt very welcome here and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

we stayed 10 nights at Ty Newydd. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom has a bathtube with a shower. The breakfast was superb: a welsh cooked breakfast with nearly everthing you can wish, a wide choice of cereals, grapefruits and other fruits like apples, bananas etc. and sometimes fresh baked muffins.

For rainy days they have a conservatory to relaxe and a drying room for wet shoes and wet clothings.

Although Ty Newydd lies directly at a marina for narrowboats it is realy quiet. There is direct access to the towpath along the canal for wonderful walks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Extremely enjoyable stay after a few problems on the country lanes.Thank you Ruth for your hospitality, the B&B was in great hands. The room was comfortable and the location beautiful, amazing views from the room. Thank you from Australia, we will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a real find, a fabulous B&B! The beds are amazingly comfortable, the rooms beautifully decorated and the host Rachael is extremely welcoming. The breakfast was gorgeous, using excellent quality local meat. We would love to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

WOW. Ty Newydd is definitely an excellent B&B that I would recommend within a heartbeat to anyone visiting Brecon.

Location: What can I say. Wales is beautiful wherever you look, but Ty Newydd was situated in a very idyllic area where you could see the mountains from your room and the canal right in front. As most traveling to Brecon would be visiting by car, Ty Newydd is also very closely situated to the motorway which makes it very convenient to travel to other parts of Wales. Brecon Town centre is also only a 5-10 min drive away.

Hosts: Rachel and Sid are EXCELLENT hosts! They were extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival Rachel showed us to our room and also gave us a brief introduction to the area around. She had a portfolio ready of pamphlets for sightseeing, outdoor activities and restaurants closeby. A truly attentive host!

Rooms: The rooms are extremely well maintained. Everything from the sheets, linens and towels were fresh and the newly renovated bathroom was immaculate. You could tell that Rachel put in alot of effort to keep the rooms spotless. I have traveled alot and slept in numerous hotels including top rated 5star hotels and resorts, but I must say that I have never slept more comfortably than my 3 nights at Ty Newydd. HEAVEN! The beds are very comfortable and just everything about the B&B made you feel right at home.

Dining: The Welsh breakfast that Rachel cooked up for us in the morning was wonderful. Toast, cereals, sausages, bacon, eggs and tea/coffee. She made sure to keep the food hot and it was delicious. Rachel recommended a nice restaurant, The White Swan, about 5 mins away from Ty Newydd that served great food(they have an award winning chef and the food is absolutely amazing). We dined there for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed because we loved it so much.

My conclusion: You cannot go wrong with Ty Newydd. I would recommend this B&B to anyone regardless of their travel purpose. It is a beautiful B&B that has taken alot of effort in preserving the true feeling of a Welsh farm house while maintaining immaculate cleanliness and comfort. Whether you're a couple looking for a romantic retreat, or a family looking for fun in the outdoors I would say that you cannot go wrong with this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Newydd B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd B & B

Address: Llanfrynach, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7LJ , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored traditional Welsh Farmhouse. Ty Newydd is set in a unique location on the canal by a traditional canal boat Marina. Unspoilt views of the Welsh Countryside from your bedroom window and locally sourced cooked breakfast. Good local pubs, private parking, but still convenient for Brecon town. Great base for exploring the Brecon Beacons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd B & B Brecon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Newydd B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.