We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Markets Tavern Hotel

Markets Tavern Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Markets Tavern Hotel
Save
You added Markets Tavern Hotel to your Saves list
36-37 Free Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7BL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 47 Brecon B&B and Inns
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great value, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here night before climbing Pen y fan. Chose this place as travelling with the dog. Great welcome and great food. Room was not modern but was clean and comfortable.For only £60 for 2 people , a dog and a fantastic breakfast we will return again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We didn't stay here, but after a day of walking we needed something to eat. The food was very good and excellent value, and the lady that served us was very attentive and helpful. If you want a bit of cheap and good pub grub then this is the place. Curry Night especially recommended !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you don't mind roughing it a bit then the Market Tavern should be fine for you-you can't really complain at £25 a night. Landlord is nice and friendly (if not the most organised of people). The rooms were clean, however the bathroom was not so great. Good value food and drinks at the pub downstairs, although breakfast was a bit pricey at £5 a head no matter how little you wanted. Overall a fine stay, not luxurious, bit certainly not the worst place I've stayed, and good value for money!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here in december. Yes the rooms are basic but it was warm and the staff were lovely. They do an awesome breakfast. A band called Risky shift phenomenon played when we were down who were surprisingly good. Its in the centre of town opposite the bus station. We had a family room so we could be close to the kids and 25 pounds per person and 10 pounds for kids is a bargain!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night the rooms are very basic but the staff were friendly and the food was ok it's placed right in the middle of Brecon so it's handy if you are visiting the local area and the bar in the hotel is very lively if your looking for a cheap place to stay it's ok for one or two nightsq

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markets Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markets Tavern Hotel

Address: 36-37 Free Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7BL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF 18/09/2014. Traditional 19th Century Inn B&B Accommodation. We pride ourselves in serving traditional real ales as well as modern brands. We also serve food 12-4pm + 6-8.30Pm. We do great food deals lunchtimes and also in the evenings, keep up to date with them all on our facebook page. We are based in Centre Of Brecon Near the tourist centre, pubs, restaurants, Cinema Etc. We have a Log Fire, Beer Garden, Car Park (Very Rare in this area) and most importantly a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Markets Tavern Hotel Brecon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markets Tavern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.