We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery Poor Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel

Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel
The Castle Square, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 9DB, Wales
+44 1874 624611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Our Head Chef produces a menu which represents the best of seasonal cooking. Modern and traditional dishes sit comfortably alongside each other, all freshly prepared, using the best of locally sourced meat, fish and Welsh cheeses.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery Poor Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took my family for a meal at the Sunday carvery and have to say that the experience was not good. On arrival at the hotel there was no one to meet us so we wandered around the restaurant until I saw a member of staff and confirmed my booking. After having a drink at the bar we moved into the restaurant and again looked for a member of staff to confirm where we would be sitting. Why are the staff never there!!!!!! The carvery meal was best described as average. The chef must have paid for the meat himself because the portions were tiny. I asked for more and could tell he was not happy. He did manage to give me a tiny piece more but I felt uncomfortable having to ask. The vegetables were ok, however the roast potatoes were under cooked. The head waiter in the restaurant on 2 occasions went up to the carvery and helped himself to some beef that the chef had sliced. He just stood at the hotplate stuffing his face, I do not think the staff should be allowed to do this. The organisation in the restaurant was poor. The problem was that the staff were not allocated tables to wait on. It seemed to be a free for all and that just does not work. Overall it was a poor meal with poor service. I would not reccomend going to this restaurant for a meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    44
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A great place to eat out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great place to eat in Brecon, there is a good selection on the menu, and the mixed grills are excellent and very filling.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for diners..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

the food was of good quality and well served. My partner remarked his pork chops the best he had tasted.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Only wish we had stayed here too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is lovely and I cannot say how wonderfully helpful the staff are.

We visited this hotel for lunch during our stay in Brecon as there is very little in Brecon dining wise for lunch and we are so glad that we did.
They seated all of us (2 adults and a 6 yo and a 3 yo) within minutes of asking for a table, they did everything they could to make lunch special and when we asked if dinner was an option they actively moved a few tables around to welcome us back in the evening.

We had already booked into our accommodation as these were showing as full on the site but again they had said that if we had asked then they could have done some 'juggling'!!!

The food is lovely, cannot recommend the restaurant enough, the views and location are great and if the staff through out the remainder of the hotel are as good as the ones in the restaurant then I should imagine a stay here would be great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding September 1st - Amazing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I feel I have to write this after reading some of the not so favourable reviews on the Castle.
After careful deliberation we decided to have the Castle as the venue for our wedding reception and we couldn’t have been happier !!!. Sam the wedding co-ordinator is amazing. We were pretty useless at deciding on a menu but Sam guided us in the direction of what was a different and delicious wedding breakfast which all of our guests complimented us on. Her attention to detail is fantastic, any issues that occurred on the day she took full ownership of, enabling me to be kept as calm as possible. Our cake looked a little unloved on the day and she used her artistic talents to make it look stunning. The weather on the day was probably the only sunny day we have had in Wales for some time and the beautiful gardens were used to their full potential creating a gorgeous back drop to our wedding piccies.
The castle easily accommodated our 150 day time guests and what seemed like the hundreds that arrived for the evening party. Sam co-ordinated the Hog Roast, the band and the Photo booth (which due to all the excitement I had completely forgotten were coming) without me even realising. We had a THE BEST evening party, lots of food – too much drink and some of my guests were a little worse for wear towards but the patience and the professionalism that the bar staff showed to them was fantastic. Sam and the Castle staff took all of the stress out of our day and turned it into the most magical wedding that both me and my husband will never forget, Thanks so much guys xxx

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at The Castle of Brecon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.