We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brecon
|
Rental Home – 
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osteogolf
1 review
“What a fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

11 of us stayed at Happy Horse for my brother's stag weekend. The barn conversion has been completed to a very high standard and the property is set within a stunning location. The welcome from the hosts and Patrick (Jack Russell) was very warm and the chocolate cake was fantastic! Most of us weren't able to get a phone signal which made our stay feel like a retreat. The surrounding countryside is stunning with plenty of activities to wear you out! For a group of friends or a family group, it's a fantastic place to stay.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RichardO4...
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottages in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic long weekend at Happy Horse Cottages - three families, with children ranging in age from 9 to 15. We left planning our next visit.
The cottages are excellent - warm (there was still snow on the hills); well equipped; good, solid, comfy chairs for collapsing into at the end of a day in the hills; spotlessly clean and a great table in the largest cottage for everyone to sit down together, with views over the valley.
The location is beautiful - a stream (so not suitable for very small children), very quiet and very dark - the best night skies we had seen in a long while.
The children loved the horses (Beau being the favourite) and the table tennis.
The owners are lovely - provided an enormous chocolate cake when we arrived and there at the right time to share local advice, provide maps etc.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Adults - the location; Children - the horses
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Simon P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottages for a large group to relax, walk and party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Booked it for our combined stag and hen weekend with friends and family, and it was fabulous. Facilities are first rate, country side beautiful and the lack of phone signal made it all the more lovely to be cut off from the world.
Very friendly welcome from the hosts, and the chocolate cake was to die for.
Already thinking about returning - just need another good excuse!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Setting next to stream with stunning views
Liked least: Squeeky floorboards made getting up in the night noisey!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jan_Craig...
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for group get together!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Happy Horse from the 6th to the 8th of July for our annual mini uni reunion, There were 10 adults in our group and six children. We have been gathering every year in a rural location for the last 8 years and this was one of the best venues.

We all arrived late on Friday from different parts of the country. We had arranged for a big pot of chilli to be waiting for us on arrival which was spot on - simple delicious food which we could just reheat when we got there. In addition to the chilli we were welcomed by delicious cakes which were a complete surprise.

The cottages are lovely - well equiped, clean and very comfortable. The biggest cottage has a lovely dining area with a huge table around which we fitted 16. The setting is stunning too and there is no traffic or noise.
We hardly saw the kids (aged 3-11) they were outside, petting the horses, playing with the dogs or playing hide and seek - the only word of warning is there is a stream which runs next to the house so we had to be vigilent with the toddlers.

In the evenings the kids could go to bed in the two smaller cottages while the adults caught up in the main cottage drank a bit too much wine, played scrabble, put the world to rights and generally realised we have become middle aged.

Our hosts Ray and Nicky were very friendly and helpful, there when we needed them but otherwise stayed out of our way. They gave us a map and recommended walks straight from the door.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nicktheve...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Four years running - best weekend of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Family reunion for 4 years running - great weekend.
Good Points:
- Home made chocolate cake supplied on arrival
- Great for short walks\runs around reservoir
- Stream bubbling can be heard from bed
- Great welcome \ friendly accommodating hosts
- underfloor heating, comfy sofa
- Great views
- Well kitted out
- Fabulous large table
- Very peaceful

Plus \ Minus depending on your point of view:
- Virtually no mobile reception
- Wireless internet - available but limited

Negatives:
- Very creaky upstairs floors
- Couple of the bathrooms are quite cosy
- Not on the Sat Nav - can be tricky to find

5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Ability to go for long walks to and from cottage
Liked least: Squeaky floors - hard to sneak around early in the morning\late at night
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mrs_Whitc...
Caerleon, South Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely country property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I stayed at this cottage with a group of girlfriends for a hen weekend during November and as the 'matron of honour' was responsible for booking it so was feeling every ounce of responsibility on my shoulders! I can happily report that it was absolutely perfect for our group of 'just over 40's' and from the moment I arrived I felt completely relaxed about the choice. The bride to be was equally happy with it as were all the hens. The cottages are snug and pretty and the biggest one provides the perfect place to all hang out together either on the comfy sofas or around the great big table. Its peaceful, pretty and very welcoming. Everything is in top notch condition and very clean and comfortable. The only advice I would give to anyone staying is perhaps take your own towels as the ones provided are not particularily big. Also, we had to go buy some hand soap (although if we had asked the owners I'm sure they would have provided some for us). Apart from that the cottages have everything that you could possibly need including a great big chocolate cake courtesy of the owners. Yum!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The big sitting and dining room in the largest cottage
Liked least: the small towels.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jayne9966
Usk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottages and Happy Horses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottages, in a very quiet location. Enjoyed having the horses and animals close by especially Patrick and Toby. Stayed for the weekend with some girl friends on a pre wedding party and it was perfect, with three seperate cottages for accomodation , but one large enough for all to gather in. Warm, comfortable and clean, highly recommended

4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$681
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Raymond V
44 1874636754
Speaks English, Dutch
Listed since : Jan 2011
Response Rate: 55 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing