We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic B & B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watergate Mill B&B

Watergate Mill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watergate Mill B&B
Watergate, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 9AN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Brecon B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic B & B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is the best B & B we have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean. Bowl of fruit and bottled water, chocolates by the bed. Every utensil you need in a kitchen. The self contained flat is beautiful, opening out into a walled garden with a view of Brecon Castle which is illuminated at night.. You have your own private entrance round the back of the mill. Jean the owner is a lovely lady, very helpful too. There is a flat screened TV/DVD with lots of films there ready to watch. It is a home from home, right in the center of a lovely historic town. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: everything is provided that you need,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Booked this place last minute as decided to go walking in the Brecon Beacons. I can't understand, though, why it wasn't already booked, as this was an excellent B&B where we had a very enjoyable stay. Room was comfortable and clean, with TV, kettle, tea/coffee, fresh milk in a fridge, and fruit bowl; bathroom was well stocked with various toiletries and was well fitted. Jean, the owner, was friendly and helpful, especially with suggestions for local places to visit and restaurants/pubs to head to, and breakfast was hearty. A definite hidden gem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a bank holiday weekend break in the Brecon Beacons. We had the self contained studio room with it's own entrance leading to the garden. The room had a small kitchen area which included a hob and fridge. The kitchen was well stocked with the usual kitchen utensils. The en-suite shower room also came with plenty of towels, soap/shampoo/conditioner. There was even a washing machine complete with detergent which we didn't use, but would be very useful for cleaning dirty clothes after hiking in the Beacons.
There is a small table in the corner of the room where you can eat the fantastic cooked breakfasts - you fill in the breakfast form for what you want (e.g eggs, bacon, beans toast etc) and post that through the letterbox before 7:30pm the previous evening.
There was a flatscreen TV/DVD, and a selection of local guides / maps and a very useful Brecons pocket hiking book.
The room was spotlessly cleaned every day, and I have to mention the delicious breakfasts again! The landlady Jean was very friendly and helped out with lots of useful local information. I would definately stay here again and recommend this place to others.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visiting breconian
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Stunning bed and breakfast, lovely self contained flatlet with beautiful decor.

Breakfast was awesome, filled you up for the day plenty of it.

Jean the landlady is a little tiny welsh woman with the personality and character of a giant.

Fantastic find will return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Lovely cosy B&B, own entrance to double room on ground floor with small sun-trap court yard. Only stayed 2 nights as we were on a motorbike visiting Brecon Beacons for the first time and the weather wasn't brilliant, except on our first evening, but the accomodation was delightful. Will definitely be going back....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watergate Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Mill B&B

Address: Watergate, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 9AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Also Known As:
Watergate Mill B&B Brecon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watergate Mill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Watergate Mill B&B to your Saves list