We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, pretty view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Horseshoes Inn

The Three Horseshoes Inn
Groesfforrd, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7SN, Wales
+44 1874 665672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Brecon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located in a small village called 'Groesffordd' just off the A470 roughly 3 miles from Brecon (Abergavenny Road) in the heart of the Brecon Beacons. We provide a wide range of delicious homemade starters, mains and desserts all locally sourced. We have two beer gardens on the property with the rear beer garden secured by fencing so safe for little ones, also with a GIANT blackboard and Connect4 game.We are a dog friendly premises with our own entertaining dog 'Butler' who sings for sausages. Dogs are allowed in the front beer garden and bar area,but not in the restaurant.We have live music once a month and also a weekly steak nights (Thursday) and curry and quiz nights (Wednesday) fortnightly. We hope you would like to come and join us for a meal, drink or tea/coffee.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, pretty view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ate here last night during a quick visit to Wales, the food was absolutely beautiful. I normally don't finish meals in restaurants but I licked the plate clean! I had the chicken, rice and naan bread, followed by delicious sorbets. My friends chose the sausages and mash and agreed that the food was excellent. The view of the sunset from outside was very pretty and photo-worthy. Fairly busy for a weekday which is a good sign! Would visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    44
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Sunday lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have eaten here quite a few times including about 6-7 years ago when a large group of us had possibly one of the best Sunday lunches ever, however on this visit in the summer it was sadly nowhere near that standard which is a real shame as I love the local pub feel and the great staff and overall atmosphere. It was purely an issue with food quality. The meat for some of our party had a lot of gristle and was inedible in places. two small roast potatoes and very uninspiring veg. I did raise the issue re the meat with staff who were very helpful as always and I didn't pay the full amount however it is not a cheap place to eat and I had expected more for my money sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashley h, Owner at The Three Horseshoes Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we note your disappointment over Sunday lunch.
We remember the details of your visit to the pub and once again can only apologise that you were served a meal that was not up to our usual standards.
We do hope you come and dine with us again and assure you the food will be of the highest quality as you have experienced in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Decided to have Sun lunch here with friends . Very busy restaurant which speaks highly of the food quality . We found the veg. portions a little on the small side but more was forthcoming on asking . A little disappointed that all the veg was not "fresh" as this is the middle of the season for it ! We all enjoyed our meals , some with two courses others with three . Not the cheapest or the best but good and would return . If you're an ale drinker there are a few choices at the bar at normal prices . This pub must have the cleanest toilets in Wales , you could easily dine in them :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited The Three Horseshoes while visting family on their recommendation. Although it doesnt look much from the outside the welcome was wonderful, service great and food exceptional. If we lived local we would definately become regulars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booked in to The Three Horse Shoes on the strength of Trip Advisor.We were staying in Pencelli (a few miles down the road)
We had a wonderful Sunday Lunch(thanks to the reviews)We would never have found this jewel if we had not done our research.We half expected an ordinary Sunday Lunch,were we in for a lovely surprise.We started with the best Bouillabaise ever for me and my wife had a crab and prawn salad.We had lamb for out main course,which is all locally sourced.The veg were all fresh.We were too full for a desert,but the choice was really interesting.I suggest if anyone is in the area,call in you will not be disappointed.Zoe brought us areally nice bottle of wine which completed a lovely lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes Inn also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Horseshoes Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.