We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LITTLE GEM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's Italian Restaurant

Roberto's Italian Restaurant
St. Mary's St | The Old Post Office, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 7AA, Wales
44 1874 611880
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Brecon
Cuisines: Italian, Noodle Shop, Jiangsu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LITTLE GEM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked with friends as we had a double birthday to celebrate. We have been a good few times now, both when Roberto was there and now with new owner. Lovely lady owner was very helpful and took time to talk about food but not in a pushy way. I enjoyed ravioli with Gorgonzola cheese and walnuts pasta was cooked perfectly. Pesto dip and breadsticks were tasty. We shared a seafood plank which worked well. A little niggle we all agreed was a bit mean only serving half a roll per person with the plank. More bread please. Menu is well thought out allowing choice of either small or large plates and priced accordingly. I thought the prices were reasonable food was expertly cooked. The atmosphere is relaxed so if you want fast food perhaps it is not the place to go. Our waitress worked hard managing a lot of tables on her own. I like it very much here and will continue to return and each time I eat it here it has been a memorable occasion. Last time we took some friends from Texas and they enjoyed it very much too. Brecon is a richer place for having this little gem of an italian.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    57
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The lovely lady who owns this place doesn't make up for very expensive food and drink and probably the most miserable waitress I have ever encountered. A shame as I was really looking forward to it.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gem of Sicilian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

This is a quirky little restaurant in an unusual building in the centre of Brecon. The chef has spent some time in Sicily (her mother is Sicilian) and has brought back some wonderful ideas and dishes. Everything is prepared from fresh ingredients (eg their pesto, salsa verde and chili sauce are all made on the premises). The staff are friendly (but not the sort of in-your-face interruptions you get in some places) and there is a good atmosphere. Do book or you might be disappointed!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Brilliant Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We made a late booking for a Saturday evening and they managed to squeeze us in. Both the waitresses were very attentive. Most of us had, what they call a plank, which was wonderful. Good value and served fairly promptly. A good location in the centre of town. I would recommend Roberto's to anyone looking for good, simple and relaxing meal.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Takeaway Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

It was difficult to find something simple on the menu and also quite pricey for the area. I guess I assumed the takeaway menu would be as good as the sit in.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Roberto's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.