We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next best place to home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge Cafe B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brecon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridge Cafe B & B
Save
You added Bridge Cafe B & B to your Saves list
7 Bridge Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 8AH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Brecon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prestatyn
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Next best place to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I only spent two nights there but I'm looking forward to next time. Clean, comfortable and run by friendly, helpful people. Freshly laid eggs, tasty toast and muesli - I have simple tastes. It really is the next best place to home.

Room Tip: The front room, facing the road, is large and has a spacious en-suite. The double glazing keeps it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Otley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great home cooked food in nice surroundings and attentive owner. We did not stay but wished we had done so. Home made ice cream was delicious. Menu limited but enough for most tastes and reflects thoughtful home cooking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a really lovely B&B owners are very friendly. We had 2 rooms and a bath room to share. Beds were really cosy and warm. It was very cold summer evenings. Breakfast was delicious we all chose different I had tomatoes and mushrooms on toast another had scrambled egg, sausage bacon and egg. Muesli and raspberries. Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Unfortunately we couldnt stay in this B&B as it was already full when we tried to book it months before our arrival - so you need to book early! We did however go to the Bistro in the evening. Again you need to book as it was full on both nights that we were in Brecon. There is not a huge choice on the menu but what there is - is very good. Great atmosphere. Very relaxed. Good wines, ciders and beers and the cheese board was very yummy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardigan, wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Bridge Cafe is one of the most elegantly designed guest houses you could wish to visit - fudge coloured walls, wooden floors stained a deep molasses, gorgeous artefacts no doubt picked up on the owners' trekking holidays across Europe, and a menu to die for. Great attention has been given to detail with the result that everyone staying here is guaranteed excellent value for money. Eggs are sourced daily from the hens at the bottom of the garden while the fruit and vegetables are picked either from the afore-mentioned garden or a walled garden the owners share with a friend. This is a truly wonderful discovery just a three-minute walk from the town centre and a property we shall definitely return to in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband, mother and I stayed at the Bridge Cafe for one night at the end of March on our way home from North Wales. We had the two bedrooms at the front and shared a bathroom. We had a great meal in the cafe in the evening. We were lucky to get a table, as they are understandably very popular. Jon was warm and welcoming and incredibly helpful.

What struck us most was how generous Jon and Carole are. They have very exacting and high standards when it comes to food quality for themselves, and they use the same principles when shopping for their guests. For example, they offer a great range of hot drinks including excellent quality R&G coffee in the rooms. A lot of thought goes into all of the ingredients of the food they serve and they try to buy Fairtrade and organic, where possible. Carole is a great cook and Jon a fantastic host. It was refreshing to stay in a place clearly much more motivated by passion, than profit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a fantastic 3 nights at the Bridge Cafe. We stayed in room two and, contrary to our initial concerns, sharing a bathroom with one other couple proved to be absolutely fine. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, and the food - in the bistro, at breakfast and in our packed lunches - was locally sourced, home cooked and delicious. Jon and Carole's attention to detail in every respect made it a truly wonderful stay. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridge Cafe B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Cafe B & B

Address: 7 Bridge Street, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park LD3 8AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Brecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bridge Cafe B & B Brecon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge Cafe B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.