We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“v. good location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grove Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grove Guest House to your Saves list
Grove Guest House
36 Chester Road South, Wrexham LL11 2SD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Wrexham B&B and Inns
UK
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“v. good location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Grove Guest House is a little away from Wrexham's main street in a leafy road. It's a relatively easy walk into Wrexham, yet it's peaceful and manages to avoid all the clubbing brouhaha of what has become quite a noisy town centre by night. My room had a sloping roof, but it was spacious enough for my needs, very clean and well-appointed.
I opted for the full English for breakfast, and it was great.
There was ample parking within the Grove, and it is an easy drive to all of the immediate area's attractions, so it has it all really and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    29
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
21
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

stayed here for two nights in a twin room,the room was clean and tidy loads of parking it was,convenient for a walk into the center of wrexham the breakfast was ample ,we spoke to both the owners who were very helpful and friendly,a few little petty things ,when the room was cleaned the tea bags were not restocked and you also had to pick up the complimentary soap and shower jels from reception but it was available if you asked,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a handy guest house, no more than ten minutes’ walk Wrexham town centre, with plenty of parking. The surrounding area is residential and I felt safe walking about. The staff were friendly and helpful. I chose to stay in one of the smaller single rooms. It was great value and had all the facilities I needed. The room was spotless. It looks as if they’ve had a refurbishment recently and everything looked clean and immaculate. The bathroom was superb. Great breakfast, in a lovely dining room in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

we where is have room 13 but the lock did not work we had n0 4 instead the owner is a very attentive guy the rooms lack sound proofing and have no shampoo so take your own clean rooms very clean the guest house is in a great position for wrexham and chester breakfast was okay no black pudding or mushrooms but very good
easy access to the centre of wrexham and you get 10% off meals we had an indian with a discount

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review
The team take great care in assuring the rooms are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness.

We did have a little problem with the lock at the time of your check-in but it was found to be operator error – we had put the key in the wrong way.

For future reference we do supply toiletries and these are available from the Reception Guest Tray to help your self or on request they can be placed in your room. (This is also mentioned in the guest book located in each room). We apologise if this was not made clear at the time of check -in.

Regards
The Team at Grove Guest House
Wrexham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hi There!

We just returned from a weekend at the Grove Guest House in Wrexham.
It was a great place to stay!
We had 13 people staying here for a mountain biking event in Llandegla.

Great organisation via email and phone prior to arrival.
Very Friendly welcome!
Rooms were very clean and modern.
Breakfast was fantastic, made to order and plenty of it. They also offer a take away bacon sandwhich breakfast for those in a rush. All served up in a stunning conservatory!
FREE Storeage area for mountain bikes
FREE WiFi!
Few minutes walk to the town centre

Will stay here again when im in the area.

Room Tip: Be organised! Book early and if you see any bad reports about this place then its more likely its do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you and hope lots of you come back with your bikes as well
Kindest regards
The Team @ Grove Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here with my sister and Mum on a girl's weekend - it was a lovely guest house with wonderful hosts and comfortable accommodation. We were very pleasantly surprised by how clean the room and the en suite was and the location was ideal for our needs - central but not noisy. I would recommend this every time.

Room Tip: Room 2 at the front of the bungalow was beautiful and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you
The Team at Grove Guest House
Wrexham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Staff were very friendly here and made the visit very enjoyable! Clean rooms, prompt service at breakfast. I was very much impressed with the personal touch guests receive here. Thank you for your fantastic service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groveggh36, Manager at Grove Guest House, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review we are pleased to make all guests who visit us and Wrexham welcome at all times.
Kindest regards
Grove Guest House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Guest House

Address: 36 Chester Road South, Wrexham LL11 2SD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wrexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star private and established accommodation provider located only 5 minute walk to Wrexham Town Centre. Grove Guest House is a charming 1930's Dormer Bungalow set in a leafy and very desirable residential area of Wrexham Town. Our Hotel style service is managed to high standard. Our single, Twin, Double, (QUEEN size) and Triple rooms are en-suite and have been re-furbished tastefully along with a re-furbished Dining Room, newly built conservatory to relax and drink your coffee and a garden area with seating in the sunny times. Local attractions and services,Our Food Hygiene rating has been awarded at the top grade of 5. Our LARGE Car Park is offered free of charge with very easy access. FREE wi-fi. Only a short walk to Yale College, Glyndwr University, Wrexham General Railway station and Bus Station. A short car ride to Llangollen, (home to the Eisteddfod) and the historic walled City of Chester are located only a short car ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Guest House Wrexham, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grove Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.