We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience....dogs was a bit scared though!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pontcysyllte Aqueduct

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct
Station Rd, Trevor Basin | Llangollen, Wrexham LL20 7RH, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Attractions in Wrexham
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Liverpool
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
“Great Experience....dogs was a bit scared though!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This experience involved a lovely walk from the car park just off the A5 along the banks of the canal towards Trevor. Part of the walk takes you directly over the aquaduct...the views are spectacular and I was amazed by the fact that this was constructed many many years ago without all the modern technology we take for granted nowadays.

It is a little scary if you do not have a good head for heights but there is a railing to hold onto if you are a little nervous. Our usually lively dog was a little frightened but she managed to get over after come coaxing!!!

Great experience and it's all free ....you can enjoy a nice beer or a glass of lemonade in the pub at the marina in Trevor just on the other side of the viaduct. There is also a coffee shop there too!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    61
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous engineering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I agree that the narrow walkway along the aqueduct is reeeally scary. I assume there used to be railings along the other side which would help! Walks also below the aqueduct along the rivers edge makes a lovely day out!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Amazing construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Have to admit, the walk along the path is quite scary. It isn't very wide, and people cross you from the opposite direction. To one side is the narrow canal, and the other a very, very high drop! Didn't get the whole way across as felt a bit wobbly when the barges went by. It is incredible though, and so high up the views are spectacular. I think a boat ride across it would be really amazing. Maybe next time.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The walk across the aqueduct is exciting but to really appreciate it do walk alongg the towpath until you can see the aqueduct from the riverside to fully appreciate this engineering marvel.
If you want to ride over in a canal boat you will need to book up.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived by boat out of Chirk Marina and as expected crossing the aqueduct was simply stunning. To think this used to be work! Owing to a really silly accident one of our party had to be taken to hospital and the people at the Marina were most kind and helpful allowing us to moor up at a private mooring as long as we needed. We had hours to explore and take photographs. If you arrive by car I imagine there is a charge for parking but beyond that it's a great free treat. Photos of the aqueduct don't tell you much about the sheer awe of the place. Engineers are busy working out how it was built; photographers are trying to get the very best picture ever; teenagers are scampering down to the river below.......it's quite a haul back up; you can get a cuppa and watch the boaters negotiate the Marina......this can be quite fun as there is no control over who takes their boat onto the aqueduct and it is definately single file; walkers can walk for miles along the canal. There is a small museum and day trips are run from here as well. We had a great day despite the almost continual rain. One warning...............the youths who jump the canal have been doing it for years, don't be tempted to try.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontcysyllte Aqueduct also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Chirk, Wrexham County
 

Been to Pontcysyllte Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.