We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best indian in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jira - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jira
7-9 Church Street | Town Centre, Wrexham LL13 8LS, Wales
01978 366 564
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best indian in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Been here a few times now after a friend recommended it and had a couple of takeaways too. Lovely food, lovely staff, lovely place! It is normally quiet when i go there which is a shame because it is so nice, it is tucked away off the high street, maybe a sign or some advertisement just for more people to visit to see how good it is.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We ordered a delivery and after reading great reviews were pretty disappointed with our food. We had Rogan Josh and Chicken Tikka Massala. Rogan Josh was ok, but Chicken Tikka Massala was the worst one that I have ever had. The sauce was bright pink, very liquidy, it was not creamy. The color itself looked very artificial. It just didn't feel like it had enough of the flavorful Indian spices, not much substance to it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best Tikka Masala in Wrexham.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Simply the nicest food in wrexham...for take out. The restaurant lets it down... tip to owners....spend some money in the restaurant...build some booths and lower the lighting....play Indian music and create a warm inviting mood. The set meal for 2 is great value....recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good quality but no ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Went here when the Jamuna closed before Black Peppers opened.
The food was very good but it felt like sitting in a school canteen ( I know it was a long time since we have sat in one).

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Can only comment on takeaway but I can confidently say it was the best takeaway in Wrexham. Yum :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jira also viewed

Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 
Wrexham, Wrexham County
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.