We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodhey Guest House

Woodhey Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrexham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodhey Guest House
Save
You added Woodhey Guest House to your Saves list
9 Sontley Road, Wrexham LL13 7EN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Wrexham B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a one night stay and were very impressed with the house and the garden. It's in an excellent position for a visit to the National Trust place at Erddig (well worth a visit) which is why we selected it after reading Tripadvisor.
The room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. It faced the road but the traffic noise wasn't too bad. We had to sleep with the window open because it was so hot and it was the sound of the wood pigeons that kept us awake!
Breakfast the next morning was excellent by B&B standards and well cooked by the owner. It was good start to our holidays.

Room Tip: A room at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
9
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
channel isles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Over the past couple of years I've stayed in various hotels and B&B's in Wrexham and none of them seem to get it quite right. All I want is a warm welcome, a good nights sleep in a clean and comfortable room and a good breakfast. The Woodhey is the only establishment that ticks all the boxes for me. I stayed here for the first time for 5 nights at Easter and the hosts went out of their way to make me welcome. I'm returning to Wrexham at the end of August and for the first time I didn't have to ponder about where to stay and I'm now looking forward to my next stay at the Woodhey

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The nicest guesthouse I have ever visited! When you are a family of 6 it can sometimes be difficult to get enough rooms at an affordable price. But at Woodhey it was no problem at all. From the moment we entered the front door, we were met with a comfortable and "homey" feeling. Every day when we came back from our trips to nearby cities, we came home. It felt just like home. Every morning we woke up to a lovely breakfast, and already the first morning we started a friendly bickering and bargaining about who should continue to make breakfast once we got home again. Staying with Vanessa and Nasos was worth every penny and we would definately come from Denmark to visit them again,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Yet another brilliant stay. Rooms lovely and warm as is the welcome. The owners can't do enough to make your stay more comfortable. Breakfasts are out of this world. A rare question posed beforeyou order "What would you like in your full English Breakfast and what quantities" You just can't fail with this piping hot freshly made food, literally to your order.

I'm comimg back for sure.

Room Tip: They have various types of rooms, ask for the ones that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for a weekend and could not have wished for a better place to stay. Both Vanessa and Nassos were extremely friendly and helpful with instructions of how to get around. Our room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely, with poach eggs were to die for. Will always stay here when visiting Wrexham in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly throughout, helpful with directions and suggestions for places to go. We brought bikes and they were very accommodating with these. We were up at the crack of dawn one morning and there was even a delicious cooked breakfast provided at that hour. The room was a bit on the small side though we saw others that were a bit bigger, so could be worth asking if you're planning to spend time in the room. The whole B+B was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, with a well-equipped lounge and a lovely garden for nicer days!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with Vanessa and Asos whilst working in Wrexham. They are both lovely!! Excellent breakfasts, welcoming and extremely accommodating. Just as a b and b should be. Highly recommend staying here. Rooms ample size for a couple, immaculately clean and well furnished. Had a lovely stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodhey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodhey Guest House

Address: 9 Sontley Road, Wrexham LL13 7EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Wrexham County > Wrexham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wrexham
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Woodhey Guest House Wrexham, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodhey Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.