We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay! Fab weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room

Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room to your Saves list
Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room
Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rhyd Ddu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely stay! Fab weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here the end of March - booked for a friday and saturday night quite short notice. Arrived late on the Friday - MUCH late in the night than planned - but nothing was too much trouble for Emma and Menno. We were treated to great breakfasts, comfy rooms, great hospitality and lots of walking advice for our hike on the saturday, including a packed lunch! This proved gold dust half way up Snowdon, particularly the hot tea in the snow! We really can not fault our stay! Really loved it. And our hike up Snowdon was incredible. Thank you Emma and Menno for such great friendly hospitality and lovely cakes! We will be back to this wonderful part of the world and a fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billinge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have stayed here a few times in the last 2 years which speaks for itslef. The hospitality and food is second to none and Emma and Menno ensure your stay is enjoyable, it is more than 'home from home'. We will certaainly be gong back very soon

Room Tip: Thre is only one ensuite but the other rooms are adjacent to the bathroom/shower. We have stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed over Christmas and Emma and Meno were great. Made us feel at home.the room was very clean, cousy and comfortable. The breakfast really nice, the tearoom lovely to be at and the location is perfect. The only downside is we couldn't stay longer!holidays are always short when you are having a great time.

Room Tip: The ensuite room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

As I live locally I have never stayed at the B & B but I would highly recommend this cosy tearoom. We call in regularly when cycling or walking for lunch or tea and have always had excellent food, served by the friendly owners Emma and Menno. Such is the attraction of the place that when we have visitors to stay they ask if we can go out to lunch at Ty Mawr. A wide range of delicious snacks and cakes are available - you should try the dutch pancakes, and the bara brith (welsh fruit loaf) is the best in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Emma and Menno were great hosts and were so attentive to detail. I stayed in ensuite one night and room two two nights. They were both very clean and tidy. They also have charactor too.
Some lovely touches like closing curtains and leaving a note saying to have a lay in as I had been out late at wedding. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After 5 or so hours of climbing the Rhyd Ddu path to the top of Snowdon and back again we were definitely ready to have a sit down, a hot drink and some food! Just as you get to Rhyd Ddu station you'll see a little sign post directing you to Ty Mawr B&B / Tea room and it's less than a five minute walk away.

You walk in and the tea room is in a little room to your left - feels like you are walking into someone's lounge :0) There's about four good sized tables (could probably fit 20 people or so in there).

The owners were very welcoming - we had coffee; good hot chocolate and excellent home made scones, jam and cream!! The menu was pretty extensive considering how tiny the place is but it was cheap and based on those scones alone it's all fabulous home cooked food.

I imagine if you're planning on doing lots of walking too that it would be a good base to stay at. But at minimum - definitely go there when you get back from your walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have now stayed here 3 times. The rooms are excellent, as is the food and attention to detail. Nothing is too much trouble and it's almost as if the owners anticipate your requirements before you do. Excellent value for money and so convenient for access to Snowdon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room

Address: Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhyd Ddu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyd Ddu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr B&B And Tea Room Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.